We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montpellier - this is THE place to stay!”
Review of Les 4 Etoiles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les 4 Etoiles
Ranked #1 of 45 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

From the moment Pierre welcomes you into his beautifully styled home you feel part of something special. His generous and considerate approach, the stunning bedrooms, the fresh and thoughtful breakfasts, the lovely location all make this an IDEAL place to stay in Montpellier.

Can't recommend this place highly enough - superb.

Room Tip: All four are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLittleOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

My partner and I recently spent 3 nights at this guest house and were not disappointed with the contemporary feel of the place. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was big and had lots of hot water coming from the shower head. The breakfast was simple but fine (fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed juice and the usual french pastries). The biggest disappointment was the lack of effective air conditioning, despite emailing the owner prior to coming to check on the air conditioning as France was experiencing some very hot weather at the time. The owner assured me that the guest house was air conditioned but when we arrived he stated that the room was always set at 25 Celcius which we thought was still uncomfortable. To the owners credit he did provide us with a fan on request although it was not very effective and so we had a couple of uncomfortable nights where it felt like the air conditioning had been turned off and we had to open our window to get some air. One other minor issue was when we wanted to open a bottle of champagne one night we could not find any wine glasses to drink from so we gave the idea a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussiechickMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierreDeMontpellier, Owner at Les 4 Etoiles, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Australian friends,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of ‘Les 4 Étoiles’, and thank you also for the compliments you made. Concerning the air conditioning, I am a little surprised by your feelings as I do not remember any complaints when I asked you after your first night whether or not you had slept well. If you had voiced your concerns then of course I would have lowered the temperature for you. We generally keep the rooms at 25° in summer as this seems a reasonable temperature considering the Mediterranean heat outside; we do try to be as eco-friendly as possible, as well as considering the health of our guests.

As for the wine glasses, if you had only asked then I would gladly have been able to offer them, as I do usually.

I do hope however that these two points did not negatively affect your stay too much.

Cordially, Pierre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were excited about visiting Montpellier and this lovely hotel and we were not disappointed. The property is in a residential neighbourhood of mainly terraced houses and this one stands out as being detached on a corner with a lovely front garden. Finding it using our Satellite Navigation however was rather a 'cauchemar'! due to all of the one way streets. We did in the end have to make an illegal turn to finally get there. Once there however we parked on the street for €2 per day.

The room we had was the Mira and is furnished in a modern style with good quality Shower and sanitary fittings. The airconditioning is quiet and effective and the bed is large and comfortable. The room is well equipped and there is L'Occitane soap products. Our only slight disappointment with the room was the towels which were very 'scratchy' - good for use as an exfoliant!

There is a shared modern Kitchen where breakfast is a 'help yourself' affair. Very nice crockery and equipment (in line with all other fittings), but if you're British like us, you will need a lesson in operating a stove top coffee percolator, and there is no Kettle. The usual continental breakfast was provided by the charming proprietor.

Montpellier Old Town is only a 15 minutes stroll and is very easy to find. We only stayed 2 nights, and we think that you could easily spend 4 days here exploring.

Room Tip: Make sure you're prepared to drive around narrow one way streets in search of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markieggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July. Everything about the place is perfect: the decor, the comfort, the hospitality, the breakfast, the weather. Dreamy. If I were being fussy, a hook for the shower head in Naos would be nice, but hardly a deal-breaker. Heartily recommended and hope to go back one day.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LCUK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Original plans were to stay in Montpellier and drive to Carcassonne - Marie easily convinced us that staying in town to during our one day (2 night visit) would be better spent. We recommend that if you are driving it is probably best to have a gps to find this location - we did not and our google map directions sent us down a few one way streets. Once we arrived we were warmly greeted by Marie who brought us to a very comfortable space where we'd spend the next few days. The location is great - walking distance to the old town, train station, and steps to the aqueduct. A stylish mix of old and modern design but most importantly there was a very comfortable bed and croissants in the morning. The only downside would be that it as very hot so we had the windows open both nights so we were more aware of the sounds of the street than we would have been if there had been a/c. Hindsight we should have asked for a fan. All in all - Montpellier had some tasty meals, free concerts and interesting architecture and was a highlight of our 3 week tour of France. We recommend to add a day or two to your itinerary to explore!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA_Bransby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

After I had emailed with Marie from Les 4 etoiles and she had let me know that they had 2 rooms available for my requested nights in October, I decided after finishing my itinerary that I could stay only 1 night.
I let Marie know which night we would like to come.
I got the weirdest mail ever back.
Marie found it not appropriate for guests to come only 1 night,because they would miss too much, or something along those lines and that therefor guests could only stay on a 2-day basis!!
By the way this is not stated in their info.
But then again .on the bright side ,it is good to know that the worldwide economic recession has no effect on Les 4 Etoiles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierreDeMontpellier, Owner at Les 4 Etoiles, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear friend,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, however I must say I was surprised by your somewhat vitriolic comments and saddened to receive my first and only negative review in response to a simple exchange of courteous emails. We do not take money for reservations, like many hotels do, but instead we work on trust; when people reserve a room for so many nights we do not expect them to change this with little notice, especially at the height of the holiday season.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A stay in Montpellier was never on our travel radar until I went looking for a city along the way to break our train travel from Barcelona to Lyon, and it is because of Les 4 Etoiles that we came to Montpellier, there was nothing of this standard of accommodation to compare to.

From the station we actually walked 1.4km to the B&B, we have backpacks, you can catch a bus or taxi to the B&B. Pierre is the owner of the B&B and a fabulous host, on arrival Pierre showed us everything that the B&B has to offer us: communal meals area with great cooking facilities, wine glasses, tea/coffee, large refrigerator. There are plenty of guide books and flashy magazines to read in your room, on the communal lounge, or if the weather is right, on the patio. We stayed in the room called 'Mira', the bed and pillows were very comfortable, nice white linen, funky lighting and furnishings, good block-out shutters, excellent free WIFI, and the best part for me, L'Occitane toiletries. Listen to Pierre's restaurant recommendations as they are fantastic.

The location was perfect, tucked away in a residential street,it makes for a quiet nights sleep, close to the historical centre of the city. At the end of the street is the impressive Roman Aqueduct, try to get to the market under the aqueduct one morning as we did. We bought some produce and made our lunch and dinner one day.
It is a 15 minutes walk into the centre via the aqueduct, Chateau D'Eau, through the gardens passed Loius the 14th on his horse, and under the Arc de Triomphe. We found the shopping in Montpellier fabulous,a great selection, some of the best shopping we encountered in our travels through France this holiday.

We stayed 2 nights at the B&B and enjoyed the company of a few other guests each morning, Pierre has the breakfast table all set up for your arrival to breakfast, and will greet you and get you started, making sure all of your needs are met. Breakfast consists on a bowl each of chopped fruit salad, juice, french sticks, jams and butter, and a tray of plain and chocolate croissants, tea or espresso coffee.

Montpellier is a lovely city, there was plenty for us to do for our 2 night stay, we are very pleased to have made the decision to come to Montpellier based on the quality of Les 4 Etoiles reviews. Most enjoyable :)

Room Tip: Pierre has great restaurant tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 93 in Montpellier
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 4 Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 4 Etoiles

Address: 3 rue Delmas, 34000, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range: $108 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you in warm comfortable environment offering 4 charming bedrooms, ideally situated on the historic axis of Montpelier's city center. This heirloom family property is the current home of its fifth generation. It allies vintage charm and contemporary design while respecting the environment. Our interior designer Jacques de Milleville created a contemporary and welcoming space while preserving the spirit of this 1930's house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les 4 Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing