We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property”
Review of Baudon de Mauny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baudon de Mauny
Ranked #3 of 44 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Property”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A truly incredible townhouse restored beautifully in the very heart of Montpellier. A warm welcome and helpful hosts added to the experience. Very stylishly decorated the noise levels were a little high in the early hours but it did not extract from the experience and is a very small price to pay for the great experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rjm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
132
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Baudon de Mauny for 2 nights and had a wonderful time.

First of all, the architecture is wonderful. The building was originally built in the 13th century, and has been wonderfully and tastefully restored resulting in a chic ancient / modern blend. The rooms are large, the ceilings are very tall (17' perhaps?), and the whole place just has a wonderful feel.

Second, the staff is terrific. Alain and his help are very very nice and very helpful in making reservations at the great local restaurants and providing tips on day trips to surrounding beaches, etc

Third, the location is great. The hotel is right in the middle of the pedestrian area, and feels right out of a James Bond movie.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here in early July. The difference is in the detail - Alain had offered to organise a car to fetch us from the airport owing to the Tour de France being in town. This was much appreciated. The atmosphere starts as you arrive at the unprepossessing large green doors, which open into a cobbled courtyard and a wide, old staircase. Alain was at the top of the stairs to greet us in his gentle way and guide us to our beautiful and unusual bedroom. We met his wife - the architect of the transformation from 18th century mansion to cool and contemporary luxury. She explained to us that her concept was inspired by two islands - Japan and Iceland - and that she wanted to create a cocoon-like space of cool beauty, for guests to enjoy. She succeeded! We have never stayed in such a large room or slept in a larger or more comfortable bed. We have never experienced such a calm and gentle vibe in such a luxurious setting. Breakfasts were good and fresh and we felt cared for and looked after. The situation in the old town is great and surprisingly silent at night. This place doesn't fall into a particular category - so if you are independently minded, stay and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Neige is like a floating iceberg!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didiManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

From the moment the enormous wooden doors of Baudon de Mauny open onto a cobblestone courtyard where horse once entered, you step into a house that looks every inch of its 500 year history. Except - once you walk up the wide, sweeping stone staircase, you enter a delightful space - brought into the modern era, but done so sympathetically. Rooms have original flag-stoned floors and high ceilings, but modern beds, lighting and the best bathrooms. The salon was a favourite and Alain, whose family live upstairs, was a courteous host. He happily organised cars to collect me each day and drive to Aimargues for work, no easy feat as this hotel is situated in the heart of the old part of Montpellier, with narrow streets that provide so many hours of discovery just wandering towards Place de la Comedie, or the Musee Fabre, or one of the many seriously good restaurants like Les Bains de Montpellier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Daring_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Baudon de Mauny for 3 nights in June 2013, and the exceptional reviews of this property are well-deserved. The location in the heart of the pedestrian old town is ideal for visiting the Musee Fabre and numerous cafes and restaurants (though slightly challenging to access if you have a car). Our room, Gypseries, was stunning--high ceilings, extraordinary architectural details, and (importantly) powerful air conditioning. It felt like we were guests staying at a stylish, private mansion, not simply customers of a hotel. Alain and Laure made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avocatquivoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this gorgeous, charming, history filled mansion built in the 1500s or Alain and his staff. My wife and I stayed here in late May 2013 for three nights and had a very memorable stay. The property is in a great location and set back from the charming little street through massive old doors giving it complete privacy, security and is whisper quiet at night. If in Montpellier this is a must stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodluva09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I cannot express just how fantastic Baudon de Mauny is as an experience. Atmospheric, sophisticated, and just an absolute pleasure. Alain the owner is a marvellous, relaxed, considerate and wonderfully cultured host, the staff all lovely and friendly, and the design - an excellent balance between 18th century and contemporary, achieved by Alain's obviously very talented wife - just works superbly. Altogether a fabulously relaxed and wonderfully romantic weekend. It's pricey but if you actually have the cash splash out on one of the best rooms. For various reasons our room was upgraded and we ended up in the ballroom sized white room, with two pairs of French windows, space to dance and breathe. The giant centipede of a street cleaner (well that's what we imagined) that cuts a swathe through the street below at 6am is a bit noisy but hey, who wants to sleep in a room like that? Recommended to all romantic lovers, but make sure you get one of the suites. It's worth it!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms and suites are the best, and although on the expensive side are worth it for the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimcasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
256 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,221 reviews
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
343 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baudon de Mauny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baudon de Mauny

Property: Baudon de Mauny
Address: 1 rue de la Carbonnerie, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baudon de Mauny 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baudon de Mauny: where top class bed and breakfast meets boutique hotel. We offer eight outstanding rooms in a unique "period house" listed building in the pedestrianized historic centre of Montpellier. This 18th-century townhouse has been brought up to date through a graceful marriage of tradition and innovation, acclaimed for its brilliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baudon de Mauny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baudon De Mauny Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing