We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect end to our trip in the Languedoc region”
Review of Baudon de Mauny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baudon de Mauny
Ranked #3 of 44 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A perfect end to our trip in the Languedoc region”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked Baudon De Mauny through Mr and Mrs Smith for the last 2 nights of our holiday. We had stayed in a different place every night up till this point so were looking forward to two nights in one place and just relaxing for the last night - and how perfect this place was! A very welcoming greeting from Rebecca when we arrived who duly sorted us out with a glass of cold water whilst she explained all the local details and recommended restaurants etc and where best to go for shopping.

Our room (Papillon) was great - very airy and bright, good air conditioning, a little kitchennette outside the room for chilling some wine(!) and a great bathroom with big fluffy towels and lovely toiletries. You can slightly hear the street below (and those insanely annoying scooters!) but we slept with the windows closed and the air con was fine for that.

We didn't take up the option to have breakfast - preferring instead to grab a coffee and croissant in a square, however Rebecca was not pushy on this at all and recommended where to head to for breakfast. The lounge area was beautifully done though.

Both restaurant recommendations were great - Chez Boris and Le Grillardin and Rebecca arranged a cab for us very easily to get us to the airport on our last morning.

A wonderful end to the holiday.

Room Tip: We were in Papillon - beautiful bright room with very high ceilings, bright and airy, with a small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
136
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
france
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A great address right in the middle of the historic centre of Montpellier, the mansion house is a perfect mixture of ancient and contemporary, the host is charming and keen to help you get the best out of your stay in the city and the area.The room was stylish and tastefully decorated and the breakfast room has the feel of a very grand old house, you want to linger over breakfast to enjoy the refined atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alunthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stepped into a fairytale and left our footprints on stairs that have obviously seen so many. When the door opened we wondered if we had come to the right place but once inside we discovered facilities that were not only contemporary but beautifully executed, from the modern lighting, the rainshower, the flat screen television and the heating that worked to perfection. This is a gem in the heart of Montpellier. Here old meets new but there is no clash. We breakfasted in the drawing room and chatted to the owner Alain who was discreet but helpful about all things to do with Montpellier and the surrounding area.

We found this to be a grown up hotel but there is a well equipped appartment which would really suit a family for a weekend or even longer. We were not overlooking the street which can be noisy so ask for a quiet room because ours really was quiet. This was a great find and we would definitely return.

The boutique next door is also worth mentioning. Here you can sit and enjoy a delicious lunch or a welcome cup of tea (with one of their homemade cakes) or simply browse and the number of good restaurants within walking distance is another plus.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Jean d'aulps
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I chose this hotel for our wedding aniversary and it didn't disapoint. It's a wonderful old building with lots of the original plaster work still in place. Where ever it has been restored it has been completed to a high standard and where new additions have been added they have contrasted new and old without anything feeling out of place. It is evident that a lot of thought has been put into each room. This is not another identikit hotel. The hotel has a very sedate, relaxed and calm feel as does Alain (the owner). We will definately be back for another weekend. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the old town and parking at Le Corum is only a 4 minute walk away. Try hiring bikes while you're there, this is a brilliant way to explore further afield and we can definately recommend Restaurant DUO only 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The small wine shop opposite the hotel has a great selection and very freindly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here in late August 2011 and it was an excellent place to rest, relax and from which to explore Montpelier. The host has some excellent restaurant recommendations. We stayed in the family friendly apartments linked with a kitchenette that also had washing facilities. The rooms were well appointed and wonderful cool relaxing places to unwind at the end of the day before venturing out for an evening meal. Montpelier is an excellent place to stop a few days and this hotel located in the old part of the city is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look on mr and mrs smith web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a beautiful venue in a good location in the heart of the city. Alain is a welcoming host with excellent suggestions for local must-see sites and restaurants. We liked the mix of modern decor you see with the history you feel in every room. I'd suggest arriving during the daylight hours--the place is hard to find at first. The breakfast is good and the presentation is quite decadent, but it's a tad overpriced. It's worth having it at least one morning for the convenience and for the experience of dining in the lovely living room. We didn't see any other guests while we were there, and Alain isn't always around, so don't expect this to feel like a hotel---it's definitely a more independent travel experience. The room was clean, bedding was very comfortable, bottled water was provided every day, and there are nice toiletries in the bathroom.
Montpellier is full of students, so be prepared for rowdy Friday/Saturday nights. I was kept awake both nights by the noise of drunk kids out on the streets, and one night we witnessed a girl getting knocked over and kicked in the head by a young guy outside of a club. People ran to help her right away, but it was upsetting. We were also almost hit by a car full of kids driving and spinning around the main square, which is closed to cars. It seemed like every street was full of drunk students those two nights. But other than that, Montpellier is a charming place to visit and a nice change of pace from Paris. Be sure to check out Spa de Beaulieu if you're looking for a great spa during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaLynnCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I would echo many of the comments made elsewhere about this hotel. Superb location in the heart of one of the most charming areas of the city. The house is incredible and you can feel its history oozing from every stone. It has been tastefully renovated to provide a modern stay. Our room had beautiful stone flagstones but despite staying in December we were warm and cosy. It's very quiet apart from the odd noise of a creaky wooden door opening or footsteps on stone floors - all adds to the atmosphere anyway! The sitting room/breakfast room is beautiful. We didn't have breakfast as we felt it was rather expensive and there are plenty of good cafes in the area where you can get a good breakfast for half the price.

It's very much a chambre d'hote rather than a hotel, so just be aware of this when you book. We booked online through an agency and didn't receive any instructions re check in times, but Alain the owner was out when we arrived. He turned up within 5 mins and was charming, helpful and informative. We then didn't see him again until we left. So it's very much a low profile, laid back approach, which suited us fine, but might not suit everyone.

Re getting to the hotel, you can get there by public transport from the airport which is very simple - shuttle bus to the city, then a tram to Place de la Comedie which is less than 10 mins walk to the hotel. In fact we walked from the bus stop and that only took about 20 mins.

Re eating options, we too ate at Maison de la Lozere - good but not exceptional and it is expensive. We also took afternoon tea at the place next door to the hotel. At the front it's a lovely vintage dress shop, but go inside and there's a beautiful cosy salon du the. We had a gorgeous lemon meringue tart there and the lunch menu also looked great.

And don't forget to check out the toy shop at the end of the street where the hotel is located. It's a real Aladdin's cave!

We had a superb stay in Montpellier and would come back anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
266 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,235 reviews
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baudon de Mauny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baudon de Mauny

Property: Baudon de Mauny
Address: 1 rue de la Carbonnerie, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baudon de Mauny 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baudon de Mauny: where top class bed and breakfast meets boutique hotel. We offer eight outstanding rooms in a unique "period house" listed building in the pedestrianized historic centre of Montpellier. This 18th-century townhouse has been brought up to date through a graceful marriage of tradition and innovation, acclaimed for its brilliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Baudon de Mauny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baudon De Mauny Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing