We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Baudon de Mauny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baudon de Mauny
Ranked #3 of 45 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have just returned home after spending 6 nights at Baudon de Mauny in Montpellier. My daughter and I were studying French at a local college for a week and Baudon was the perfect location as it is in the heart of the charming old city.
Baudon is a wonderful 18th century building with wonderful proportions and beautiful original details. The owners have refurbished the spaces beautifully with contemporary pieces which work very well together.
The standard of our room and bathroom was excellent, very comfortable beds, stone floors, great soft lighting. Excellent shower and bath. Very good and quiet air conditioning in all the rooms.
I spent many hours in the very comfortable communal lounge and breakfast space trying to learn my french verbs.
Breakfast served with linen napkins and silver teapots with charming service
The standard of the housekeeping is very high, our rooms were always very well serviced every day.
Alain the owner could not have been more helpful with advice about restaurant reservations or any other requests we had.
Baudon provided a very special and unique bolt hole from the hustle and bustle of Montpellier

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in The Gypseries. If you like taking baths this is the only room with a bath an...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Baudon de Mauny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

We spent four nights at Baudon de Mauny and what a find!

Alain and his wife have lovingly renovated their beautiful historic family home and now invite others to enjoy it. The sense of history is palpable and the sympathetic but contemporary design is stunning.

Our room 'les Flamandes Roses' was beautifully designed, very comfortable and the shower room was excellent, as were the lovely organic toiletries provided.

Breakfast was a delight, delicious and immaculately presented with such a sense of style and elegance.

Alain was so helpful and happily recommended places to visit and restaurants to enjoy.
'Chez Boris' was very good and 'Maison de Lozere' which he booked for us, is a treat not to be missed, an absolute joy.

A truly wonderful experience and one which we will look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 wonderful nights. Our room was delightful - designed and furnished for comfort, style and rest after days out in Montpellier and surrounding area. A haven, a gem - has to be seen to appreciate. The building is amazing - have never stayed anywhere quite like it and so close to the beautiful city, slap bang in the old quarter - not far from anywhere but in it's own very special world. Breakfast - pricey - but very glad we experienced it - all part of the package of being spoilt. The only thing missing was a facility to make drinks in the early morning but this is so minor it did not affect our enjoyment. Very special thanks to our host for going out of his way to make us feel comfortable and for his kindness in making a special trip to the airport to collect my coat which had got lost on the plane. Would love to stay here again....

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms - all beautiful
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneandPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

as soon as you arrive and are greeted by your quiet and humble host Alain you have the sixth sense you have made the perfect choice which is confirmed every minute or your stay........i only wish i could find this accomodation everywhere i travel........the ultra large room which was perfectly appointed and wonderfully fresh is in the absolute heart of the town......Alain was extremely helpfull....he booked a car for us to take us to the Med. Sea, airport, etc.....the driver spoke wonderful english and was always right on time....everytime i went out for a walk i seemed to look forward to returning to relax and enjoy our room.........i rarely right reviews but because this is such a truly special place i found myself wanting to share my experience......the is a true GEM

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed at Baudon de Mauny for three nights as part of a birthday celebration in March 2011. It is a lovely mansion house, built in 1777, in the heart of the old town of Montpellier. We stayed in the room Gypseries, so named because of a type of plasterwork reliefs; three such reliefs, depicting scenes of savage nature, adorn the walls, their imagery becoming more pronounced as the light changes. The bedroom is vast; the ceiling being at least 18 feet; the walls are painted a cool cream, which heightens the sense of calm serenity; full-height curtains of similar colour almost disappear when closed. I loved the feel of the bare flagstone floor underfoot (five off-white mats, like giant lily pads, could be moved around to provide stepping stones to the bathroom or dressing room if that was your wish – slippers are also provided). The room is complemented by a nice mix of period and contemporary furniture; the lighting, all supplied by lamps and discreet dimmable spotlights changes the mood dramatically after dark. It’s simply the best “hotel” room in which either of us had ever stayed. The whole effect is one of calm, stillness and quiet, which was quite extraordinary and refreshing.

The magnificent bedroom is completed by a dressing room and a big bathroom with a generous-sized bath.

Breakfast, which is an optional extra, was served in the reception room directly adjoining the Gypseries room. Again, there is evidence of great taste in the selection of furniture, lighting and artwork.

The building looks out on to one of the quiet narrow streets of the old town. The only sound that penetrates the building is occasional passing street-cleaning truck (the municipality seemingly very serious about keeping the streets swept, like most of France). Other than that, most of the old town is car-free.

The house has been the home of the owner’s family since the early nineteenth century. Alain himself is very helpful and friendly. He was happy to arrange reservations at the very good local restaurants, for example at la Maison de la Lozere, being one of several a few minutes away.

With only five guest rooms, Baudon de Mauny is never going to feel like a hotel; rather it does feel like being invited to stay in a family home for the weekend, but one that has a grand setting, a palpable sense of history and one that is infused by its owner’s personality and taste. It made for a very memorable visit to Montpellier.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank number51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Truly spectacular - a not-to-miss experience if you are interested in staying in a treasure of Montpellier's past that has been lovingly brought into our wifi-enabled, waterfall shower present. The building itself is an artifact of a grand past: sweeping entry staircase, 16-foot ceilings, original stone floors and paintings. It is easy to imagine women in silk gowns mingling with men in evening attire under elaborate chandeliers. But far from feeling like a period piece, the hotel has been updated with a mix of old meets new: a gold rimmed tea service is paired with contemporary furniture, ipod docking stations, and a luxurious bath.

Alain has exquisite taste and a definite point of view on where to eat and what to do. We followed his recommendations and were not disappointed.

What to know:
- all rooms are different, so a chat with Alain before booking re: a specific room and its vibe may be of use, if you are particular (some have baths, some don't, some have TVs, some don't)
- wifi was free and fast - a plus for business travelers
- our room, gypseries, is off the main dining room where you take breakfast. we were at first concerned that it wouldn't be private enough for us, but once we closed the 8 feet tall door, we were in our own private world
- the hotel is in the pedestrian zone of Montpellier - absolutely convenient to everything - but taxis don't all like to drive through the narrow streets to reach it, so work with Alain to set up a taxi pick up with one of the services that are familiar with his hotel
- the place is grand yet intimate - only a few rooms, and no services normally provided by a hotel (there is no staff, per se, other than Alain and his wife, it seems), so if you need a 24h front desk, hotel bar, porters, elevators, or a big lively lobby, this is not the place for you

It was, however, the absolutely perfect place for us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0penroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Baudon de Mauny is an antique house in the very center of Montpellier (literally, a stone's throw of anything you'd want to vist in the city). The chateau has been smartly restored by the owners without adding anything superfluous. All the personal touches and details serve only one aim: to enhance the solemn beauty of the building. It's incredibly high ceilings and the unique décor in each bedroom -all different- will make you stay in the room longer than you'd expect...

Just one tip: if you meet Alain, the owner, be sure to follow his wise advise on dining&sightseeing!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank bbcn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,276 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baudon de Mauny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baudon de Mauny

Address: 1 rue de la Carbonnerie, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range: $166 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baudon de Mauny 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baudon de Mauny: where top class bed and breakfast meets boutique hotel. We offer eight outstanding rooms in a unique "period house" listed building in the pedestrianized historic centre of Montpellier. This 18th-century townhouse has been brought up to date through a graceful marriage of tradition and innovation, acclaimed for its brilliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Baudon de Mauny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baudon De Mauny Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing