We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in fab place”
Review of Hotel Madeloc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Madeloc
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Such a great hotel, room 7 was really nice - very good terrace. Brilliant service, really good location just a few minutes walk out of busy part of town. Very nice pool and very good breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discerningdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for your fab comment! The rooms n°7 is one of our rooms having a terrace facing the hotel garden. The direct access to the swimmingpool from this room, crossing our garden with the scents of lavender...make it very special...Delighted that you apprediated your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 599 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was a wee bit of a trick to find firstly, as the town put on a one-way system on the road where the hotel is situated. Getting parking could be an issue, but we managed to get a space right outside.

One of the points that you'll hear about this hotel is that it doesn't have a lift, and there are several flights of stairs. Even if you moderately unfit, you shouldn't be put off by this. The hotel appears to be in great condition, and the room that we had with a terrace was spot on. The terrace could have been more open to the views, however I guess the flip side to that is that others might appreciate the privacy this give.

The staff were attentive and very knowledgeable. I'll be keen to go back.

Room Tip: Ask about the terraces and their outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. We are sure that the informations you gave will be hellpfull for many persons. We'll be happy to see you another time! best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Its easy to see why this town is so popular, rich in history and culture. The walk up the hill from attractions was fine, glad we had a room on the first floor with heavy bags and no lift. Car parking is a premium in this historic township, but the fees should be either included or more obvious, getting additional charges when checking in was a bit of a shock. Day trippers visiting have to park miles away and walk in, so was grateful to be so close to the beach and restaurants. Hotel is clean and well run. Would return,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comment. We take note of your suggestions, but please note that our secured parking is just 9 euros per day while the public non-secured parkings are more than 15eur/day...but it is true that parking is essential when you come to Collioure. Whe would be happy to welcome you again! best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found this hotel very nice. We had a room with a balcony that was nicely and simply furnished. The breakfast at the hotel was either served indoor or at the terrace outside. It was no problem to bring a car as we could park at the other side of the road. In the afternoon we walked down to Collioure in about ten minutes.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SAC_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

thank you very much for having taking time to wrote this comment. your opinion is important for us and for sure for our future guests! best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First of all i would to say that the staff and the management at the hotel madeloc were charming and extremely helpful. We booked a room with a 'terrace', and the hotel certainly has rooms with good terraces that you can see from the swimming pool. Our room which was reached by 3 flights of stairs (which can be tiring after the uphill climb from the little town centre) had something different. Our 'terrace' was a space about 2.5m x 1.5m which was enclosed by a wooden fence about 1.5m high which obviously did not have any views. In future I think I will have to ask for a definition of the term terrace. The small swimming pool has an adjoining area with sunbeds and a few large parasols, this area is not adequate when several guests want to use these facilities. Apart from these comments the hotel is extremely clean and attractive but would benefit from views of the town or the sea.

Room Tip: Ask about description of terrace or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaleBazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guests,
It is true that some superior rooms have larger terraces facing the mountains, but the standard double room you've booked is usually well appriciated by our guests because it's quiet and have an open outlook on the hotel Garden...
It is always hard for us to guess which room will the best for our guest when they reserve through an on-line booking website, as all our rooms is unique and different...
nevertheless we are happy to read that the whole staff answered all your expectations.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

There is no lift in the hotel and this is tough if you want to have views (to the mountain) and terrace in the third floor; no handicapped access and difficult for elderly people.
Breakfast is scarce for the 11Eur, and parking is a must, no room in the street, but get ready to pay 10Eur/night.
Stay fee/quality rate is unfair.

Room Tip: Book in advance, in summer hotel is almost full and no room choice if you are late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Sir,
As we told you when you arrived, it is always better to contact directly the hotel to book a room. You would have been able to ask the questions which you wanted...And so, know that your room was situated on the 3rd floor without lift...Then we would have been able on our side, to do what's necessary to give you a room on a lower floor...thing that we were not able to do when you arrive, because the hotel was effectivelly fully booked and you were the last guest to arrrive...For sure, find a parking in Collioure is complicated, and we appriciate that you see our secured parking as a must (9 euros/day against more than 15 euros/day for non-secured public car park!) thanks for your visit and best regards, the whole team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located 5 minutes from the train station. We stayed for 10 nights - 6 in a twin room and 4 in a triple room. Both rooms were very well appointed with a beautiful terrace with the twin room that had view of the gardens with wonderfuld plants all around - really loved the smell of the lavender in the evening. Beds were very comfortable. In triple room we had a very spacious balcony which was very private. Pool area was very peaceful with a wonderful view of the mountains. the staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was the best we have experienced in this part of France with a wonderful selection. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: For twin room I would recommend room 15 that we were in as it was a terrace with an open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your comment! We are delighted to have participated in the good progress of your stay in Collioure. We would be delighted to see you again. The whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collioure
0.6 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
0.3 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Bon Port
Le Bon Port
#9 of 16 in Collioure
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Mas des Citronniers
0.3 mi away
Hotel Princes de Catalogne
Hotel Princes de Catalogne
#6 of 16 in Collioure
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeloc

Address: 24 rue Romain Rolland, 66190 Collioure, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Price Range: $98 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeloc 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madeloc, our charming hotel welcomes you to Collioure, jewel of the Pyrenees Orientales. Near beaches and the center of Collioure, while remaining peaceful, the Madeloc offers you 26 bedrooms with balconies combining comfort and elegant decoration; and 4 appartments. For your relaxation, bask beside our heated swimming pool and jacuzzi enjoy the sun of the Languedoc Roussillon region at its best. For more relax, hammam and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Madeloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing