We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Caranques

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Collioure
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Caranques
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We love Collioure and were on our second visit last year, early September. We expected cool weather but were very pleasantly surprised to find wonderful warm sunny days perfect for swimming and sunbathing almost to the 15th.
On our previous visit we stayed with our adult children at the Hotel le Bon Port and felt it was OK but not exciting,)he other choices, either less interesting or much more expensive). I was ready to return there largely on the hope we could use the pool in spite of it being September but this time my wife wanted to try the Caranques and promised me I would not miss the pool.
Of course I did miss the pool but...Hotel le Caranques clings to the side of a rocky cliff and the entire experience is deeply influenced by the cliff location. The parking is all that is visible of the hotel at the top and one seems to be climbing stairs a lot so those with mobility challenges might prefer another choice.
We lugged our own bag to our rooms, service of that sort is not offered and enjoyed lunch at the bar which has a seating area with an extraordinary view out over the Mediterranean, a quality that le Caranques has in virtually every room and space.
Our room was small but adequate, clean and I would say characteristic of the rooms to be found in Collioure. It was exceptional in that we had a tiny balcony with two chairs and a small table into which we could squeeze for a glass of wine and a breath taking view.
To sunbathe or swim one climbs down past the bar through rocky terraces with perfect sunbathing areas to a small swimming area, I hesitate to call it a beach, where one navigates a small phalanx of sharp rocks before settling into the water. It turned out to be a little piece of heaven with good swimming and lovely water and in spite of the climb preferable I felt to the rather small pool at Le Bon Port.
Breakfast in the dining room was lovely with a fine view of the harbor bathed in the brilliant sunlight of morning.
As to Collioure it is simply one of our favorite French beach towns. Lots of restaurant choices, a great marketplace with hundreds of interesting stalls to explore, a fort, and a beach with restaurant service and much more. We have been twice and will definitely return both to Collioure and to Hotel le Caranques.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    75
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
135
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a really fantastic place to stay. Yes it has some disadvantages but where else could you lie in bed and look straight out to sea just like a cabin are on an ocean liner. The rooms are small but the incredible views from them overrides this. There's no other hotel in Collioure that has the opportunity to see the panorama of the whole beautiful village and harbour. All the balconies, the breakfast room, bar and all the little terraces set into the cliff have this most amazing picturesque view ...it's quite breathtaking!

The breakfast is excellent too, everything we could wish for was provided even though we were mid week off season and there were few guests. The staff are lovely.

There's no air conditioning but it has been 25 degrees this late October week and we've had the balcony door open and listened to the waves below, rocking us to sleep. There's absolutely no road noise, you could be on a desert island.

My only reservation is that there are very few places to sit inside, only the bar which could a problem if there was bad weather.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boppsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As promised, excellent views from the room and terrace, though both were smaller than expected and always in the shade as the hotel faces North, with hills behind. During our four night stay, we very rarely saw any other guests or staff, for that matter, though these last were pleasant and helpful. Views from the small terraces dotted around the hotel were lovely, though unfortunately the weather in mid September was rarely warm enough to spend much time there. The powerful smell of sewage around the bar probably explains why no-one used it or spent any time in the lounge area. (Also a reason why we took breakfast elsewhere). Rather a Marie Celeste in that regard. We liked Collioure very much, but doubt we’d come back to Les Caranques

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller10071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrasse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

More a Motel than Hotel. Built on rocks above Coullier but facing out to sea more than the Harbour. Best views from the rock terraces but these of limited access and only in sunlight from afternoon. Occasional sewage smells encountered from our tiny balcony that bordered the cocktail terrace where some guests gathered post drinks ( ie all night ) to babble. Access to rooms via purple-decorated Bar that smelled of musky carpet but certainly an improvement on the eau de poo from the balcony! Poor access for older guests and very cramped car park.On the plus side, very friendly staff and excellent fruit for breakfast.

Room Tip: Request rooms on upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights Sep 2013. Standard rooms are basic (though more than adequate) - but the view and situation far far outweighs this. Clean, good bathrooms, comfortable beds and staff very friendly and helpful despite my poor French. Terraces looking out over the bay are wonderful. For lunch we opted to go back to the hotel and have a salad looking out at the views - cheaper and much better than eating in the port, very good food. Tapas not quite so great but ok I guess. Breakfast very good for french buffet style. For a mid price hotel would think this is easily the best in Collioure and would happily return / recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acumbrianlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've made five trips to Collioure over the last 10 years, always staying at Les Caranques, but I haven't written a review since the renovations and new ownership a few years ago.
We love Collioure and we love Les Caranques still.
The website does an accurate job of showing viewers what the hotel and location are like, but nothing can really capture how special it is. The view is, simply, breathtaking.
From the balcony of each room, from the breakfast room, but most of all from all of the different terraces with their cushioned lounges, chairs, and sunbeds.
It is always possible to find a private terrace for sunbathing, reading under an umbrella, or a glass of wine before walking down to the village for dinner, with the sea and the village spreading out before you.
And then, when you want to swim, the Mediterranean is right at the bottom of the cliff. Nothing in all our travels can compete as a place to collapse.
The ordinary rooms are just fine, with lovely new bathrooms and excellent beds. But the balcony is all that really matters. We always have at least one market lunch that we bring back from the village and eat there, but we also found ourselves having tapas lunches this time down on the sun terrace.
We did notice the lack of air conditioning when we were there this time during a 100 degree heat wave, but we still happily traded that off for everything else about the hotel at its terrific price point. And most of the time, the sea breeze would be enough to make the rooms comfortable.
We were delighted with the bar-- the service, the prices, and the tapas and wine (which is why we started a new tradition of lunch on the terrace)-- and the service in general was consistently friendly, respectful, and helpful. Breakfast was also well done, although I hope they will add a less expensive coffee and bread alternative to the full buffet. Maybe they will before our next visit.
Combining the private location of the hotel with its 10 minute walk to the village restaurants, market, shops, excursions, and other beaches, Les Caranques is just pure heaven.

Room Tip: Do request a room on the main level as close to reception as possible. Because of the angle of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60811Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel makes the most of its amazing position set on to the rocks across the bay from Collioure and overlooking the famous tower. For the price it is amazing value, and the service way above expectations for a 2 or 3 star hotel.
You have your choice of views from a series of terraces, including one with loungers and a bar terrace where you can feast on tapas as you watch the sun set over Collioure. There is direct access to the sea for swimming, which we really appreciated, but it is a bit of a scramble over the rocks, not for very small kids perhaps, and if you want beach its a walk. The room we had was a small twin, booked last minute, which was clean and comfortable, with a small private balcony with stunning views. The bathroom was basic but more than OK, with a large shower.the rooms aren't air conditioned, but the bar area is. The hotel can provide a fan and most of the time the breeze from the sea crashing onto rocks beneath the window is enough to keep you cool.
We found the staff very helpful and breakfast more than adequate for the price. If you have a car definitely take the parking as in busy times Collioure is a zoo traffic wise.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the middle floor numbered 100s for best view and position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiNOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Collioure hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bon Port
Le Bon Port
#6 of 16 in Collioure
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Templiers
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#15 of 16 in Collioure
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Caranques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Caranques

Property: Les Caranques
Address: Rte. de Port-Vendres, 66190 Collioure, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Collioure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Les Caranques Collioure
Les Caranques Hotel Collioure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing