We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The freshest fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caucoliberi - CLOSED

Caucoliberi
Price range: $19 - $25
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Chico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The freshest fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking to sample the local catch, this Place is it. Nice location by the ocean, mostly tables outdoor.
We order the mixed grill, and it had at least five different fish, clams, calamari, prawns. It was cooked simply but perfectly. The fish comes in in the morning from the fishing boats.
The service was very pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elencastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unacceptably unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I write this as someone who has NOT eaten here. My wife and I were part of a wedding party, the groom of which had booked for dinner with 28 friends at this recommended fish restaurant on the shores of Collioure. In order to be sure of hitting the right restaurant that evening we asked a waitress laying up tables outside if this was indeed the restaurant for the party (supplying the name). There was no reservation in that name we were told. So we swiftly alerted the best man who made his enquiries and was told that they had "lost their chef" so could not honour the booking. The groom arrived later to remonstrate and was told to go elsewhere and was given his Euro deposit back. He speedily managed to arrange - in peak season - tables at the Triton Restaurant along the shore, but not for 19.30 but 22.00. Hats off to the Triton for a good meal. The Cocoliberis meanwhile next door were running full with tourists; evidently their chef had been found again.
This sort of insouciant lack of professionalism is just what you need to avoid on such occasions. The wedding party took it in their stride (and were impressed with the Triton's efforts). But I cannot endorse this callously unprofessional deceit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoalfaceFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I ate at Cocoliberis at the recommendation of a friend who has been to Collioure several times. It is a lovely location overlooking the ocean, but needs good weather as the vast majority of the tables are outside (two days after we went it became very windy and it would not have been pleasent to sit outside). The fish was exceedingly fresh - having arrived from the market only two hours before we ate. My wife had cod and I had dabs. The style was simple, the fish delicious and the vegetables well cooked and plentiful. In fact, too plentiful for my wife who does not have a large appitite. The local wine was very drinkable. The staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Annaland/Zeeland/Holland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Specialised in fish and salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This small restaurant next to the beach (and next to hotel Boramar) is a good adress for enjoying fresh fish. The wines ard resonable prices en the waitresses are efficient, friendly but sometimes not in a hurry.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I looked forward to this visit and was sorry to say dissatisfied. Arrogance and not the best service and food much more expensive than expected.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Radiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caucoliberi also viewed

Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing