We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A luxury central rental, with every mod con...”
other travelers have booked this property
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Extremely comfortable Kingsized bed with 400 thread count luxurious bedding Wake up & smell the coffee... Nespresso machine & milk aerator
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Extremely comfortable Kingsized bed with 400 thread count luxurious bedding
Wake up & smell the coffee... Nespresso machine & milk aerator
Beautiful high ceilings with original plasterwork, enhanced by cool soothing heritage colour scheme
Original features with modern conveniences
Play your IOS devices on the 42' Sony Bravia smart TV via the Apple TV fitted
Bosch combination convection oven/microwave & fridge with integrated icebox
Discreet 'hidden' kitchen, with dishwasher, induction hob, extractor fan, kettle & toaster
Attention to detail throughout
Old & new together in perfect harmony
Peel away those stresses & enjoy this beautiful space
Carefully considered furnisher/furnishings to compliment the wonderful space
Beautiful craftsmanship of stunning fireplace
Fantastic wet room with huge power shower, demisting LED mirror and Villeroy & Bosch bathware
After an invigorating shower dry off with 650 gsm towels heated on the Chrome towel rail
Pamper yourself with Molton Brown Soap, Shampoo & shower gel
Snuggle up warm after a wonderful shower
Dressing area off the bathroom, with lit magnifying mirror, full length dressing mirror & hairdryer
Courtyard garden, an Oasis in the centre of town
Why not forget about everything & enjoy an apéritif in the private enclosed courtyard?
So many fine features retained in this immaculate, characterful ground floor apartment
Private, secure street access into this marble mosaic & leaded stained glass oasis
Every care & attention to detail was considered in conserving this listed & protected building
Explore one of the many locks along the Canal du Midi
Enjoying an apéritif, on a stroll along the Canal du Midi
The fountain at Place Carnot evening time, enjoy the atmosphere in one of the many cafés/bars
Carcassonne Plage, only 5 kms. from the apartment, open late spring until end of September
The truly spectacular fireworks over 'la cité', Bastille day, 14 July, not to be missed!
Rennes le Château, well worth a visit, follow the mysteries of the Da Vinci code & Labyrinth!
The Devil at the church in Rennes le Château, only adds to the mysteries of this wonderful place!
Beautiful Carcassonne, when are you coming?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tess H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A luxury central rental, with every mod con. Quiet and peaceful.”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

From the moment we booked with the host, we had 5 star service all the way.

The suite is luxurious, furnishing modern, stylish and comfortable. The pint of milk and bottled water provided was such a lovely touch. Centrally located, its really easy to use as a base. The local food market was minutes away, and should not be missed.

From providing local info, advising on local places to eat (one of the party is veggie) and some insider info, we were made to feel very welcome by the host.

Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Hello Tess,

It's great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire, yes we also love the convenience of the location, it was a pleasure to host you both.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuss1
Oshawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy retreat but close to everything!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Suite Voltaire was everything we wanted and needed for our 4 day stay in Carcassonne. We were a 20 minute walk from the gates of Le Cite (Narbonne Gate). The central shopping street was steps away (rue Coutejaire/Clemenceau) and Place Carnot ( market, boulangerie, fromagerie, Carrefour grocery store) was just a couple of minutes walk. John was an excellent host. He answered our email questions promptly and he provided excellent information about what to do and where to find things ( by email and in person when he met us upon arrival). The studio apartment is not massive but makes excellent use of space and was more than large enough to meet the needs of my wife and I. We enjoyed evening cocktails in the peaceful courtyard and "dined in" a couple of nights due to the proximity of good produce and the excellent kitchen facilities. The facilities in the apartment have all been updated. The bathroom, kitchen and living space ( complete with large screen tv equipped with Apple TV) were all fantastic. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations or our host. Suite Voltaire is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The dining room chairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Hello Howard & Elaine, thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much at Suite Voltaire.

It was my pleasure to host, I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around France!

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BredaHon
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment, Perfect Location, Great Host”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Apartment is beautifully decorated with all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay in Carcassone. John could not have been kinder to us, very patient with our much delayed arrival time! Lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed, whole apartment was spotlessly clean. Perfect location for walking to the Cité, Canal du Midi and adjacent to Place Carnot with lots of cafes and restaurants. Would definitely stay again if in the Carcassone area. Book this apartment, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere and decor
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Breda, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, it great to read how much John & yourself enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire, it was my pleasure to host you both & hopefully get the chance to do so again.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzyL76
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommend... ”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently visited Carcassonne and planned to be 'sight seeing' most of the day so ideally we were just looking for a clean and tidy base to sleep. In relation to the price that is exactly what we thought we had booked with John..... but it was so much more.

John has created a fantastic space with lots of generous little touches that you don't expect. Very central and exceptional value for money!

Although modern the apartment also has a huge feel for the part of France you are visiting. J'adore

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Hello Susan & Peter,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire and great to read how much you appreciated the design that went into creating the space and the extra touches to make the stay even more enjoyable.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I really do appreciate the feed back.

Hope see you again sometime soon in Carcassonne.

John, Suite Voltaire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterhamp...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having read such fantastic reviews on Suite Voltaire we booked a stay of 5 nights for our trip to Carcassonne. The suite is absolutely excellent and I endorse all the previous very positive reviews. The owner, John, was an absolute delight to deal with and as many others have said he goes out of his way to make you feel so welcome and give you helpful suggestions to make sure that you have the best possible time in Carcassonne.
The way John works is quite simply a masterclass in how to run such a business, from the very beginning with helpful emails, to meeting and greeting, and to ensure that you are comfortable and relaxed. The complimentary bottle of fizzy is a lovely gesture and we thoroughly enjoyed drinking it in the courtyard.
As for the apartment, it is as good as it is described on John's website and by previous guests. When we next return to Carcassonne this will be our first choice to stay at, just hope it's available!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Hi Peter & Katie, It's so great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I'm glad all the extra touches at the apartment were appreciated.

It would be my pleasure to extend the same welcome again, when you decide to return to Carcassonne.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,

John O'Hara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRISTINA...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most lovely place in Carcassone”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent two nights in Suite Voltarie, it was short time but probably 1 week will be short too because it's the most lovely place we have ever been. Every single detail has been thought to give you exclusivity, comfort and relaxation. When you enter in the apartment, you wish you could stay for ever.
Obviously if we come back to Carcassone we will book Suite Voltaire.
The best rate for John who help us from the beggining to make our stay confortable and easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this review Cristina, it was a pleasure to be able to accommodate Miguel & yourself, as you said, it was a pity it was so short.

I hope in the near future, should you return to Carcassonne I have the opportunity to welcome you for a longer stay at beautiful Suite Voltaire.

See you soon!

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda M
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality, comfort, style & position!”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This self contained studio apartment has it all. It's spacious and comfortable and well positioned close to restaurants, cafes, shops & only a short walk to the train station. We booked 10 nights and extended to 12. There is everything you need & John the host provides all those little extra's that make you smile. We will definitely return to Carcassonne & re-book Suite Voltaire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2015
Hello Rhonda, It was a pleasure to host you in Carcassonne.

I am so glad you enjoyed Suite Voltaire & are considering a return, it would be great to welcome you and Gary back.

Again thank you so much for staying with us.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing