We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big disappointment and very unwelcoming host” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison sans Frontiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison sans Frontiere
Ranked #33 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A big disappointment and very unwelcoming host”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A big disappointment from the start. Male host very unwelcoming on our arrival. Made to feel we were unexpected. No airport shuttle as advertised, just told to get a bus as it was cheap. Our room was the top floor and felt very old fashioned, cramped and dusty. Kept hitting my head as ceilings so low. I am sure this would suit a family on a budget but I would more than happily pay twice as much to stay elsewhere. After reading all the reviews on this B and B we were sold on the levels of customer service and the hosts charm. Well this was non existent. We didn't even see the female host. Breakfast was 1 croissant and a hard bit of bread and the previous guests unused milk. We did not try any of the jams as did not fancy a brown tomato paste on our croissants. On our departure there was no 'thank you for staying' or 'safe journey', just directions to the bus stop. Sadly the host alone tainted our stay in Carcassonne which was a great shame. We stayed out as long as possible so we didn't have to spend any longer in the rooms. For the price we paid, we wished we had spent another £50 to stay in a much better hotel with actual customer service. But instead were made to feel as unwelcome guests in a strangers house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed at this guest house for a night in June. It is in a great location (walkable from the train station) and the hosts were really nice and very helpful. The room was decorated with African art objects and very home-like. The bathroom was large. The room was comfortable and the breakfast good (homemade jams and jellies). We could walk to the medieval city and also explore the "newer" part of Carcassonne. The pedestrian street is very close for people who like to window shop or really shop. Our hostess drove us to the airport when we left and that was so nice - not having to struggle with making arrangements. I would highly recommend this to anyone on a budget as the price was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Since the first moment you'll feel like @ home. You will also feel they've put a piece of heart in the uniquely decorated room which was comfortable and clean. Every room has got a different ambiance and decoration. We were occupying the African one. The location is great, perfectly located, between the citadelle and the main train station... The way to the citadelle is really nice: The Art Museum with an interesting collection and the amazing citadelle and old bridge view from one of the bridges qare on the way. The brekfast is very good also (it included tasty assorted homemade jellies!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Murielle? and her husband were gracious hosts, they truly live the world without borders theme of their B&B, interesting to talk to. Rooms uniquely decoratated. Bathroom was much larger than average European. Good location within easy walking distance of walled city, do walk to the bridge and view it lit up at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wberg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Marlene and her daughter were both charming and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable with African themed memorabelia. Although in heart of the city the room was still spacious. Tea/coffee making facility. Good shower. Breakfast was good. Outsanding value for accommodation in the heart of Carcassonne. My daughter and I were easily able to walk up to the old town from here and equally good access to the Canal du Midi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire Welsh border
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Marlene picked us up from the airport on arrival and dropped us off on departure - its all part of the service they offer their guests. The rooms are themed. We stayed in the Africa room which was very nice, breakfast was great, our hosts were great and the room for two was excellent value for E60.00 per night. The location is on a back street about 200 yards from the canal locks and railway station and the main town square but a good 20 minute walk from the old city. A lovely couple who have extended their family of two girls by adopting a son a from Sri Lanka and a daughter from Senegal! Again - more home made jams for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
860 reviews
476 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

As previously mentioned, the hosts at this b&b are top-notch and very friendly. Their new location has big, comfortable rooms with good beds and bathrooms and interesting international theming. Breakfast was above average for France with good breads, homemade jams, fresh fruiit, OJ, coffee/tea and cereal.

Perhaps the only thing that could be improved is the location. While it's convenient for the heart of the new city (which hosts interesting market days a few times a week), it's a bit of a hike to the historic area (I'd guess about 25 minutes). Doable (we did it easily), but a bit time consuming and a bit inconvenient. But the plus side of this is free parking right outside the door of the b&b. So just be aware of the location before you book.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millett Guesthouse
Millett Guesthouse
#18 of 22 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison sans Frontiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison sans Frontiere

Property: Maison sans Frontiere
Address: 19 rue du Palais, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison sans Frontiere 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing