We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great hands in experience

A small but very lovely place. Parking available although very busy (they have an overflow car... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2018
MissCNW4
,
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Loved this park!

Spent a lovely few hours here today. We cycled up from central Carcassonne and although hilly it... read more

Reviewed November 3, 2017
MRB01
,
Carcassonne Center, France
Read all 414 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Carcassonne Center
from $34.80
More Info
from $191.40
More Info
from $160.10
More Info
from $10.40
More Info
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
153
160
47
26
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
160
47
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop kangaroos zoo playground park ostrich feeding doable picnic french tours carcassonne
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 414 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

For the children this was fun and a chance to see real animals from a different continent.
is a bit rough and ready but they try hard to make you welcome.
a pleasant couple of hours spent . pricing within reasonable
Can get quite busy .

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank MaisonLorchidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

We've come to Carcassonne a few times and not been bothered about going here, but decided to this time as run out of things to do with small kids. Sooo glad we came.

It's a small park, you won't need more than a couple of hours. But during that time someone guides you round (and he made a lovely effort of speaking in english to us) and you get to feed birds, wallabies (although ours didn't really want feeding, we did get to stroke them and see a baby in the pouch, which we loved as much as the kids!!), and Ostriches. After the tour you can go round again on your own, and there's a couple of picnic areas.

The gift shop sells icecreams (and we went on a super hot day, so this was appreciated!), and Australia themed items.

Very pleased we went. Not sure you'd love it if you weren't going with kids. But if you are in this area with kids, definitely go.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Joanna381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Visiting regularly each year, our kids just love it: looking on animals, playing around, digging some foul gold, and they keep asking to come back. Trying to visit not on very hot day, not very much shadows around.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Igal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

I read some other reviews of this place before going, so will try to be as accurate and objective as possible.

It is very helpful if you speak French but don't worry if you don't. I have GCSE French and coped!

My husband and I went and it cost €10.50 each to get in. There's a fairly extensive gift shop at the entrance which I bought a decent straw hat in for €15 (and was soooo glad I did as it was baking hot and all outside!). You're offered a tour as part of your entrance fee, but we didn't take part in it. There were about 40 people in the tour so it meant the rest of the park was nice and empty wherever we went. The tour is only given in French.

You can go in amongst little donkeys and you can get close to the kangaroos. The rest of the animals are in normal zoo-like enclosures. There are loads of activities for children (boomerang throwing, didgeridoo playing, rodeo riding, agility playground etc) and I suspect that if we'd had children with us we could have spent a lot longer there. One previous review moaned about the fences blocking the chance for photos. They're really not that bad, and no worse than anywhere else that has animals!

We started by having a picnic then saw the animals (no koalas though ), had a go on the rodeo and had an ice cream (me) and beer (husband), and we were there for about 90 minutes.

There's a small restaurant that serves food but a previous review said there was none, so we took a picnic just in case. The restaurant has seating and there are picnic benches around as well as normal benches and loads of bins. There are 2 places to buy drinks/ice creams and 2 sets of toilets. I was tempted by the Nutella panini too but resisted!

Overall, a good place to visit with a good number of animals to see and other activities to have a go at too.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank KathrynC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We had to pass some time in Carcassone before we headed to the airport. We did explore the city of Carassone (fab place) but knew the 10 year old would want something other than culture to pass the time we had. We found Le Parc Australien and passed a very pleasant 1.5 hours. If we had come at the right time we could have been part of a guided tour for no extra cost. However we turned up and only had limited time due to the timing of our flights. We went around and saw lots of Australian animals. There was lots of information on the different regions of Australia. There were also several picnic areas so you're free to bring your own food as they didn't sell food on site. There is a nice gift shop - the usual stuff and quite expensive but good if you want to pick up something. Over all a very enjoyable experience but I would recommend that they put up signs in languages other than French to help tourists who may not be familiar with the language.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Millie1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews