We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A very mixed collection in an interesting building

We were made to feel very welcome the moment we entered the Museum and were given a leaflet in... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ian C
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Interesting small museum that’s worth a short detour

We decided to call in here on a September day when the temperature was nudging 35C … and we were... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
PJandSJ
,
Matlock, United Kingdom
Read all 154 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Carcassonne Center
from $10.17
More Info
from $38.42
More Info
from $200.01
More Info
from $171.76
More Info
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
45
74
31
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
74
31
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting collection fine art temporary exhibition worth a visit free entry rainy day free art museum internal stairs reception desk beautiful building small museum couple of hours no charge few hours paintings portraiture galleries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 154 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Not much to do in Carcassonne besides visit the ramparts. This wonderful FREE museum was great for a few hours with our kids; afterwards they enjoyed the FREE splash park in the square in front of the museum.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank SFJourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

We happened of this Museum if Fine Arts without even looking for it. It’s at the end of a long square which is a park and the building is really unique. Best part was it was free! There is some really beautiful art inside and it’s all thanks to a group of folks who insisted on having an art museum in their town!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank BonnieNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

This is a lovely Museum , more of an art gallery but watch out for their visiting exhibitions. We were there during the Samurai Exhibition which was fabulous. Free to enter, even the visiting exhibition.
The Museum was founded by a like minded group of people in the 1800 and it is thanks to them that there is a Museum which is now funded by donations.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank prguru2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

When you are seeking art and culture in Carcassonne, you may enjoy a visit to the Museum of Fine Arts in the modern city, situated not far from its town center. There are some well known masters, with beautiful and sometimes revealing paintings you won't see anywhere else, like The last Merovingian, and the Franciscan protest against the brutal immuring of Cathars. It also has a Freemason's cabinet, easily recognizable by the broken pillar in the woodwork. Though not very big, I'm sure you will enjoy the visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank AnnekeK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Do not miss this wonderful museum of fine arts - free entry and art that is truly stunning. Majority of work is traditional art - but there are some modern pieces on the ground floor. However, the majority of the collection is on the first floor and you are bound to find a favourite piece amongst these masterpieces.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CJTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews