We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for shopping”

La Bastide Saint Louis
Ranked #20 of 71 things to do in Carcassonne
Attraction details
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
978 reviews
462 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“OK for shopping”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed near La Cite, ut went to La Bastide to have a look around. There a quite a few nice shops, but apart from that nothing special. If you don't have much time, don't bother - stay in the medival town. If you do go, be aware that the churches and a lot of the shops have siesta - which means they are closed most of the time between 1200 and 1500,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    59
    37
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
383 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend away!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in La Bastide and included trips to La Cite and a canal cruise on the Midi. Just lovely!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ianthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Step back in time when town centre were town centres”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday and visited the free Art exhibition in town and free entertainment in the towns Carnot square that has a market on Tues, Thurs and Saturday with local produce. Plenty of bakers/patisseries as well as 2 supermarkets but lots of little draper shops. The ancient church was extremely interesting and well worth a visit and we were made very welcome and it was free. The walled Bastide is a true gem with cafes restaurants and of course the obligatory Irish Pub (The Celt) if you need to keep up with the home sports.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the Bastide”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a great little city and there is a lot to see and do here. I have never seen so many shoe shops in a small area. Place Carnot is fabulous and really hums along on a hot night. The are huge churches and tiny churches and supermarkets and boutiques and Les Halles for great meat and cheese. The market has great atmosphere. We love the Bastide.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a morning”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Some nice cafes and bars, but slightly overshadowed by La Cite. Walk along the River Aude though - beautiful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank countrygirlJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bastide Saint Louis also viewed

 

Been to La Bastide Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing