We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic French”
other travelers have booked this property
main king size bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
main king size bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
main king size bedroom.
Le Canal Cottage
The front door opposite the Canal
Le Canal du Midi
La Cité, Carcassonne 25 mins walk
The Bastide or Ville Basse, Carcassonne 5 mins walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cherieand...
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic French”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We recent.y stayed at the canal cottage for three nights and had a lovely stay. Eileen was very welcoming and ensured we knew all about the cottage as well as lots of recommendations about what to do. The cottage has a french rustic charm and is was well equipped and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the cottage quiet. We were fortunate enough to be invited downstairs into the villa for a dinner feast with Eileen and her daughter Jannika. Lovely home cooked food and great company. Eileen also made pancakes for our boys the next morning with chocolate butter - very yummy!! There are also a couple of excellent restaurants near by which we found to be very friendly and great value for money. The canal cottage is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect spot!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was as good as it looked, and the location even better. Less than10 minutes walk from the railway station, the stop for the airport shuttle ( 25 minutes, times to suit flights, E5 per person) and the gateway to the Black mountains ( E1 per person all the way to Quillan, if you want!).
Cottage super clean and comfy, balcony/patio really relaxing, beds HUGE. Canal truly a stone's throw from front door- with convenient bench just opposite for drinks after the traffic's gone.
Directions to a SUPERB local restaurant, as well as Eileen's personal tour! Easy walk to La Cite, through bustling centre. Also 10-15 minutes walk to Carrefoure Express for quality shopping. JUST GO!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality refurb- 'Frenchness' retained.
Liked least: Bread knife- but we should have asked!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek p
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this little gem. It was lovely and clean. It has been recently decorated with a very French feel which is partly why we chose it. It was great to be able to leave the windows and doors open in the hot weather.Eileen and Jannika were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble...they popped back to see if we needed anything several times. It was lovely sitting out on the balcony in the evening and we were lucky enough to hear Janni singing. If you wanted to stay without a car there is plenty to do within walking distance and the railway is nearby. You must go on the canal boats. We had a lovely ride down with a picnic lunch stop before returning. Restaurants in the square and the market are within a leisurely 15 minute walk. Carcassonne old cite was a fantastic day out and you can walk to it if you are fairly fit,we spent about five hours there. It is also only about 45 mins to the coast Eileen will advise you to the best beaches. Thank-you Eileen and Jannika we had a wonderful relaxing holiday and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and size, the outside space and the owners.
Liked least: It was on a road which was sometimes busy. Not noticeable once inside.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oonaghd1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical French house”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This cosy little cottage is filled with character! The facilities were extremely clean and each room was beautifully decorated! It is well located as all the main sites are within walking distance and it gives you a real insight to the French culture.
I would definitely stay in this house again as they host is extremely welcoming and made a great effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. When I return to carcasonne I will definitely be staying at the canal cottage!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Merveilleux”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had wonderful 2weeks in lovely newly renovated cottage. Eileen was a wonderful host .She was very accommodating amazingly picking us up at 5.30am in the morning from the railway station to take us to the cottage and dropping us off at 10pm on the day of our departure .
Eileen also provided a welcome pack of milk , cheese , jam , cereal coffee and tea and eggs .
Eileen also cooked us a lovely meal one evening and also provided us with fruit and salad from her garden
Cottage had Excellent facilities we made good use of the washing machine and the hob.
Location very convenient and we would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No need for car and very convenient location.Eileen exceptionally welcoming
Liked least: everything was exceptional
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPORTS
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Recently stayed for one week in this fabulous self contained and spacious apartment, the property has obviously been recently refurbished and has been fitted out to a very high standard in the French style, but with a comfortable English twist.

Canal Cottage is just a 5 mins walk from the town centre and sits on a quiet road overlooking the majestic Canal du Midi, my host was extremely welcoming and had provided lovely fresh linen and other great touches such as complimentary provisions in the kitchen and toiletries.

The weather was a balmy 29-34c and evenings could be spent on the balcony overlooking the charming garden below, and when the heat became too much it was great to chill out in the comfy air conditioned lounge.

Everything had been thought of and I didn't need to contact Eileen at all really, apart from to get some recommendations for local restaurants and bars.

I will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size & Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing