We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and better than expected!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Jardin de la Cite
Ranked #7 of 59 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great and better than expected!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This B&B is almost hotel standard. Ben and Dany are fabulous hosts. The room was great (the Corbiere), the decor tasteful and the bathroom clean and modern. We had a great welcome from Ben who talked us through the area and restaurant options. Only 5 minutes walk from the cite and the tour de France passed by at the end of the drive!
Breakfasts were outstanding, a great selection of cheese, meat, fresh bread, cereal, yoghurts, pastries and even apple tart! The view from the garden was even better than expected and the pool was a treat. We would go back tomorrow without hesitation. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
222
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at Daniele's and Ben's B&B the second week of our holiday for 2 nights in mid June 2011. Prior to arriving we had major mechanical problems with our hire car causing us to arrive late in the day. After speaking with Ben he helped us tremendously trying to contact the hire company. The situation was sorted at about mid day the next day after Ben and Daniele had spent at least 2 hours on the telephone. We thought that our room and bathroom were excellent and the breakfast equal to the best we had in our entire holiday.
When we were leaving Daniele drove us to the train station and arranged our tickets for the next part of our journey. We would stay with Daniele and Ben. If you are visiting
Carcassonne and looking for an ideal place to stay Le Jardin de la Cite in the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normthom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

If not ideal then it is pretty close. Comfortable beds, clean functional and attractive rooms, all the necessary facilities, good hosts and a central location without the problems of noise or traffic. What more do you need? Only minor gripe, but it gives you something to talk about over breakfast, is the address probably won't be recognised by your satnav/GPS, so a bit of fun finding the place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_of_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
197 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Le Jardin de la Cite, is, in fact, literally only about a 5 minute walk along a level, paved road to the old walled city, which is itself quite small. We easily walked in for sightseeing, and later, for dinner. It was particularly nice to be able to time our visit for late in the day so that we avoided the worst of the crowds.

Our room was fine, roomy enough and clean. Breakfast, as others have said, is quite good for a B&B in France with a nice selection of items including ham and cheese, but no eggs. Breakfast was not served until 9 AM, and, although there was a tea maker in the room, only instant coffee was available, with no opportunity to obtain anything better from the kitchen. I like to have some good coffee as soon as I wake up, so this was disappointing. I walked into la Cite to see if any coffee was available there, but I was only able to get something close to 8 AM when a couple of restaurants open for breakfast. (Walking around the old city this early was like being on a movie set, as it was virtually deserted.)

Wifi was not available in the room, but was available near the main house. The room did not have a refrigerator; however, we were able to have a bottle of wine chilled in a refrigerator outside our room.

We drove here, and in order to find the location, I had done a Google search, including Google Earth, from which I could see the exact location.

I would definitely recommend staying here if your object is to visit the old city, especially early or late in the day, and given the location, I believe it is an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Jardin de la Cite and were very glad we decided to stay here. Ben, his mother, and his staff are great, they were very helpful. The location is excellent, while not within the walls of Carcassonne, it is a relaxing 5 minute walk to the city, all on sidewalks. The view from the B&B is amazing looking back at the walls of Carcassonne, especially in the evening with the lights on the walls. Being somewhat in the country, the setting is very quiet and relaxing.

One comment on the location, we had some difficulty finding the B&B as it is almost right on one of the roundabouts leaving the city. Concentrating on driving I somehow missed the sign to the B&B. While I had my GPS with the France database, I had failed to enter the exact GPS coordinates, which Ben conveniently had on his web site. I mention this as I had some difficulty, but I don't want to overstate the issue, the location is on a major road and very convenient to Carcassonne. My lesson learned is to take advantage of exact GPS coordinates when they are provided, as Ben certainly did.

The B&B is very quiet and the peaceful setting was very relaxing. The breakfasts are terrific, Ben's mother does most of the major baking and her food is excellent, some of the best we had on our trip. Her lemon cake at breakfast was superb, as were several other selections on the morning breakfast selection.

While I didn't use the pool, it looked very inviting and would be a nice addition if one were visiting during hot weather.

I highly recommend the Jardin de la Cite, it is a very nice place to relax while visiting Carcassonne and the surrounding Cathar castles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
309 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed in two different parts of the Jardin de la Cite: first, we stayed in a suite, which is really family accommodation, with two adjoining bedrooms, so we had plenty of space, but nowhere comfortable to sit down. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue since there are lovely sitting areas outside, but the weather was very cold and very wet, so not suitable for sitting outside! Strangely enough, this accommodation was not as well equipped as the other room which we had, which was very nice, equipped with everything we needed, and was quieter, despite being cheaper!

Ben and Dany are very nice people, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast is excellent (and I'm sure will be even nicer when it can be eaten outdoors!) and very sociable compared to other places we have stayed. And the location is great - just a couple of minutes from the old city, and no hills to climb.

It wasn't terribly important to us, but we found the WiFi signal very weak.

Jardin de la Cite is very close to the terminus for the airport shuttle, so if you are going there straight from the airport, the service is OK to use, BUT the shuttle timetable is aligned to flight times, so the shuttle back to the airport may be much earlier than you need: the bus is (at time of writing) 5 Euros per person, and a taxi is a fixed fare of 15 Euros, so consider ordering a taxi and using the extra time to relax at the Jardin!

When we go back to Carcassonne, we hope we will be able to check back in to Jardin de la Cite.

Room Tip: If only 2 of you, don't go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Nothing is too much trouble for Ben(oit), from the moment you arrive. The rooms are extremely elegant and tasteful, and lack for nothing - even an electric kettle, coffee and teabags, etc.

As it was unseasonably hot (in the 80's), it was ideal to walk the short distance to the medieval city in the morning, have lunch, and then come back and take a very welcome dip in the swimming pool. A lovely garden with plenty of shade if required, and lots of chairs and loungers to relax in.

Breakfasts were as lovely as other travellers have commented upon, lots of homemade preserves and cakes.

Didn't use it, but WIFI there.

Not cheap accommodation, but well worth the cost. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbelly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin de la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin de la Cite

Property: Le Jardin de la Cite
Address: 1 Chemin de Montlegun, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Carcassonne in a secluded site seconds from the castle, come discover an authentic "languedocienne" villa located in a splendid planted garden of various Mediterranean species.With a beautiful swimming pool, the house offers a panoramic view of the stunning castle.You will have an access to a comfortable living room with a beautiful chimney along with many outdoor spaces including the garden and swimming pool, all with chairs to sit and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing