We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking views of the medieval city!”
Review of Les Florentines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Florentines
Ranked #17 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 32 days touring France, and this was our favorite place to stay! We stayed in the "Florentine" room on the top floor with two balconies. The unobstructed view of La Cite tempted us to sit on the balcony day and night. The owners, Brigitte and Henri-Jean, were delightful - so friendly and helpful. There is secured parking at a very reasonable fee, and it is within walking distance of La Cite and many wonderful restaurants. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated. We loved Les Florentine and hope to return! If you stay in the "Florentine" room (and I highly recommend it) be prepared to carry your luggage (no lift). I will try to attach some photos so you can see the view we had from the balcony.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the "Florentine" room. You'll pay a little extra, but it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snow1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

stayed here for 5 days.a good large room looking over roof tops.10 mins walk to old city and train station.good breskfast.very friendly poeple .stay in the top room if can it had brillant views

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I can't imagine that you would find a friendlier or more warm-hearted place to stay anywhere else in Carcassonne. The hosts could not be more helpful and are very patient with schoolboy/girl French!
The hotel is very conveient for the old city with super views. In the immediate locality there are good restaurants and bars. The rooms are individually and tastefully furnished.
Don't hesitate to book, you won't regret it. Je ne regrette rien!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Large room and clean with a wonderful view of the fortress. Easy walking distance to the old city. Breakfast was simple, but good. The hosts are friendly and helpful, but with limited English.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a car park saved for us on arrival to the B&B which was much appreciated. The room had character and was spacious enough for our family of 2 adults & 2 kids. Great location close to the old town. It was only a 10 min walk to the entrance of the old town. Although the hosts didnt speak English they were friendly and welcoming and were happy to have children there. The breakfasts were fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyGriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Upon arrival Mid October, the owner showed us where to park the car in the corner of a gated area behind the street. She then showed us to our room. We walked up to flights of stairs across broken tiles and were given the choice of the two rooms she had available The Mandarin room in the front 90 Euros with a view of the ramparts or a smaller room to the back 80 Euros we chose the larger room to the front, which was nice apart from the shower not working properly (but we did not find that out till the morning). After a great meal in the old city in a Restaurant we found “Le Jardin de la Tour”. We walked back to the B&B and went to bed looking forward to a good nights sleep after a very long day. At midnight the street was busy with traffic motorbikes and taxis hooting Our nights sleep disturbed we decided we could not face the planned second night, disappointed that our trip was to be shortened We looked forward to the stated “buffet breakfast “but were surprised that out table was set with no buffet in sight the setting consisted of an Kellogg verity pack of cereal each with no choice, a small amount of tinned fruit salad each, half a cup of coffee, cheap orange juice, a croissant ,four bits of bread two ramekins of jam two small packs of butter this was it we set on our table, no choice, no buffet. The owner spent the whole time during brealfast talking to the only other guest. After our breakfast we explained about the noise her comment was along the lines of well what do you expect the building is listed I can't but in double glazing. It was a well rehearsed line we obviously were not the first to make this comment. That being the case it is technically possible to install internal a acoustic shutters or at least least warn the guest that the front room is nosier than the back but that may have lost her the extra 10 Euros she charged us for it. She was far from pleasant. She does not accept bank cards so we had to walk back up the hill to the castle to get the cash for her and although we made it quite clear to herthat this was all we were doing and were comimng directly back to the address she insisted that we removed our belongings from the room to allow her to clean it, this meant leaving all our valuables down stairs and this well before the stated check out time and despite the fact that we had put them neatly & thoughtfully near the door to allow her access to clean the room if she wished. When we paid her she presented us with a bill of 11 Euros for parking My wife who speaks French then showed her the displayed price for parking 4 Euros she shrugged and relented but offered no apology ( I wonder how many folks have just paid up)
Frankly I thought the B&B offers much and grudgingly gave little it marred our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Roundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

As the title says excellent location and great hospitality. We were cycling the Canal du Midi and though the hotel is not right next to the canal, it is more than worth the trip across town as the hotel is right next to the spectacular medieval fortress.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weddingtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Florentines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Florentines

Address: 71 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $86 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's in the heart of the Languedocien vineyard, in a lovely street full of charm and history which curves around the medieval city of Carcassonne that our house is waiting for you. We propose to you 5 rooms of great standing and character arranged carefully and having all comfort (bathroom and private toilets, television, hifi and intercom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Florentines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing