We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wanted To See The Real South Of France...Found...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bedroom has a view towards the Canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom has a view towards the Canal
Canal side terraces - 50m from the cottage The cottage at Millepetit
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Bedroom has a view towards the Canal
Canal side terraces - 50m from the cottage
The cottage at Millepetit
The Cottage looking towards the 12C tower
The 'Cooks' kitchen...
The lounge leads onto the private courtyard
Millepetit Chateau and 12C tower
The bathroom with extra large shower
Private courtyard dining with gas BBQ
Our little bridge leads onto the canal path
Herb garden from across the canal
Canal side walks
Cité de Carcassonne - 12 kms away
Trèbes - 40 min walk away...
The triple lock at Trèbes
Produce from Millepetit's market gardener
Passing traffic!
On the cycle path towards Trèbes and Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Russell L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanted To See The Real South Of France...Found It...”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife booked the cottage after watching and re-watching Rick Steins French Odyssey, after agreeing that maybe staying on a boat for a while on the Canal Du Midi might not be for us...that a gite nearby might be more suitable.

Millepetit is a small run of cottages situated next to a quite stunning Chateau, with the world famous Canal peacefully running behind. Driving up to the property for the first time, down a tree-lined rural road cutting through olive groves and easy-flowing farm fields, the sound of Verdi fills your head (if you're familiar with Jean De Florette/Manon Des Sources, you'll know exactly what I mean here...). It is, as put by one of the lucky residents of the omaine, a 'little slice of paradise'. The Canal is beautiful, the trees (with the amazing sounds of Owls at night) just make you instantly feel you're where you signed up to be.

David and Heather are extremely warm and knowledgeable hosts - they introduced us to life in Millepetit by showing us what neighbour to buy wine from (the Rose was a special highlight). A little tip to any future guest - the 'little red book' of days out/guide to the area became a bible to us throughout our time. They've put together little 'tasters' for a day that really let you experience what you came to see - the wild swimming at Ribault was a particular highlight - take a picnic for extra bliss!!!

The cottage is a beautiful, peaceful property - the kitchen is any budding chef's dream, the courtyard is a place of utter peace to read, drink your local wine and just be.

I honestly could not recommend the Cottage any higher to anyone thinking of experiencing one of the most beautiful places Europe (and we've seen a lot of it!) has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The slightly removed location (yet still accessible to amenities)
Liked least: Only booked one week!!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at cottage by Canal du Midi. So much to do. Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the cottage for a few days in August......it wasn't long enough. It was perfect accommodation for us and our 9-year son. Located on "La Domaine", Millepetit has its own small community, a great plus for our son. Bikes are a must - we loved the cycle to Carcassone and exploring the nearby vineyards. Heather & Dave have great tips for exploring "off-the-beaten-track". Don't miss visiting Minerve and Lagrasse. In August we found numerous local swimming spots - in rivers etc.. No need to go to the Med (we did - and in August, Millepetit is a better option!).

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcvdk264
Trebes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One week is too short!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Every day has been a pleasure. The gite is well-appointed and comfortable, and the area is quiet. Owners are friendly and helpful in every way, sharing their knowledge of and enthusiasm for the area's attractions. Having the canal right by provides a great place to walk or bike, and many other beautiful pars of the countryside are a short drive away. We could easily stay another week.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic spot to rest and recooperate”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent 2 nights and David's and Heather's mooring at Millepetit. Having traveled up and down the Canal we decided to stop here as the location was so inviting. The mooring is set up to handle our 16.5 Meter barge with ease. We used the time to do some maintenance as well as to enjoy the area. The farm, the chateau and the just sitting on the bank that is set up with table and chairs made this stay very memorable We were also able to indulge in some of Heather's fine dining. Matched with the setting the meal was one of the best we have had in any restaurant this trip.Congratulations on putting together a great package
Thank you David & Heather. We hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hospitality and food in Millepetit”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great hospitality from Heather and David at the cottage, based on the working farm at Millepetit on the beautiful canal du midi - they made us a superb dinner accompanied by wine from the farm, and we sat out on the bank, listening to the owls and watching the fish rise to the surface, drinking in the atmosphere, feeling we had truly arrived in the midi. Great start to the holiday!

The cottage is of a very high quality and extremely comfortable, had a very good night’s sleep. It’s a rural spot, yet with a nice feeling of life going on around you, and the little port-town of Trebes very near. It took us just over half an hour to walk in, and we sat out at a quayside bar watching the canal boats and just enjoying the ambience. The area round about has stunning scenery, great opportunities for limestone gorge walking and wild swimming in crystal clear rock pools. Opened our eyes to the pleasures of the Languedoc countryside, will definitely return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry K
Atherton Tablelands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite, and relaxing. Great location, food and company.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

While camper vanning around the south of France and looking for a quiet out of the way place to overnight, we found David and Heather’s B&B and restaurant on the banks of the Canal du Midi. While we didn’t stay in the B&B (we camped outside in our camper) we did dine with them. Mmmmmm, Mmmmmmm and Mmmmmmm, Heather is an excellent cook. We sat in the afternoon on the banks of the canal sipping drinks and watching the world go by (well barges, boats, cyclists, joggers and people just out for a nice stroll). After drinks we had a lovely meal. We slept like logs and woke in the morning in time to go for a stroll along the canal banks before breakfasting on the side of the canal with our hosts. Great location, food and company, we’ll be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing