We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What all French B&B should be”
Review of Cote Cite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Cite
Ranked #11 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The host Simone is a delight, welcoming and helpful, she only speaks french so its a good opportunity to practice your language skills, supplying a map on arrival of the old cite and tips for the best restaurants - we visited one and were given free drinks for mentioning Cote Cite.
The room was beautiful, lovely decor, spotless with stunning furniture and a four poster bed. Plenty big enough for two.
The communal lounge and breakfast room is delightful, filled with antiques and French brocante, could have stayed there all night.
Cote Cite is right next to the impressive old cite and castle that carcassone is famed for and we walked into the main town to visit a few bars and catch the football (England game)
A glorious find and highly recommended
The Price also includes breakfast.
Superbe!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dweezil28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 207 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found Cote Cite on Tripadvisor.
The B&B is close to the old city and just across the bridge from the newer part of the city.
The owner does not open the doors until 4pm in the afternoon. We booked the Alaric room which overlooks the car parking area, very quiet and no street noise. The room was large and spacious and clean.
The service was good although the wi fi does not work in the rooms.
I would recommend Cote CIte if you want the convenience of being near the old fort area and for the service

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezdtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Of all the places we were staying during our trip to France, I had the least information about this place. I was also not very excited about Carcassonne generally, but my 11 year old daughter really wanted to go. In the end, I was in for an unexpected surprise - I loved the city and found this hotel to be an exceptionally pleasant - and beautiful - respite from the chaos of travel.
I highly recommend this hotel. The room we had was very beautiful and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast (included in our price) was good and our hostess was extremely helpful and kind. Note - she only speaks French!! The walk to the old city is not far at all, nor is the walk to the "new city", but as with most travel in Europe, if you have difficulty walking, the cobblestones and incline to the old city could prove to be challenging.

My only complaint would be the lack of wifi in our room, which was set off from the main part of the building. But I was able to sit in the outdoor courtyard during the day and in the guest living room in the evening and could access the internet there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Classic Double Room" which was charming and spacious. It could get a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Cote Cite last night. It was clean, comfortable and even though we don't speak French Simone made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely. Thank you Simone or a safe, comfy an fed very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Building looks nothing from the outside but like all Chambre d'hotes it opens up into a wonderful old building, very ornate and with bags of character. We stayed in a very large room which had its own entrance. Shower room was adequate but slightly small. Bed very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good but a bit haphazard. Had to ask for a yogurt or egg but owner very obliging and helpful even though her English was very poor and my French was limited. Great location only a few minutes from the old Carcassonne town and castle and only slightly further from the new town. Overall a very pleasant stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When we booked this lodging we thought we would have a view of the castle and that we would be closer to the old town instead of down near the bottom of the hill. We had some issue with our accommodation as the pictures on the website we used did not correspond to what we were given. We paid for an upgraded room and the owner wanted us in a more standard room. She did not speak any English and this was frustrating when you have a problem. Once we got everything settled it was fine. Our unit overlooked the couryard and was quiet. Parking is paid intside but free on the street. The breakfast was good and the lady was very friendly. The place was nice and quaint. The castle is just a hike up the street. New town in a distance away. I was told that the unit near the entrance where we were going to be was very noisey. I liked the place even though we had some confusion. Very nice owner.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room one away from the car entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripPlanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Be prepared the owner only speaks french however please remember you are in France so this is her home get with the programme and brush and brush up on your French. This is an excellent b&b we stayed in the suite and thought it was great. The hot water isn't indefinite but was explained ahead of our stay so as long as there isn't half a dozen trying to get through at one time it isn't a problem the rooms was decorated to perfection with attention to detail and she was even willing to take a dog. This was a perfect place for us. I specifically wanted to see the old walled city and this place was perfectly situated being about 5 mins walk up the hill. I would totally recommend this b&b and would definitely go back if ever in the area. Thankyou to Simone the proprietress

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tinatetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
804 reviews
2.0 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#7 of 53 in Carcassonne
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Cite

Address: 81 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $122 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cote Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing