We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coté Cité is tops in location, value and personal attention.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cote Cite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote Cite
Ranked #13 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Coté Cité is tops in location, value and personal attention.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Seven months before our departure I was so excited to have found accommodations (through Rick Steves' France 2012 guidebook) at Coté Cité (a French B & B or chambres d'hôte) in Carcassonne, France. The new owner (since 2010?) Madame Simone Mayer patiently responded to my fledgling efforts at written French.

We settled on two rooms, "Carpe Diem"and "Chambre des Fées" because one of our traveling companions had suffered an injury that made stairs difficult and both of these rooms are on the ground floor. The internet photos/descriptions of both of these charming rooms are authentic. The architectural features and decorative ceiling and wall paintings are charming. My ensuite bathroom (Chambre des Fées) was compact, very convenient and well appointed: toilet, shower, pedestal sink, mirrors. Plenty of hot water, no "plumbing ïssues."

Where Coté Cité really shines is in the warm and accommodating nature of the owner and proprietor, Simone Mayer. Upon our arrival, our rooms were ready and we were given a tour of the gorgeous Breakfast Room. It is a gorgeous architectural space which Simone has meticulously restored and enhanced with her own distinctive and appropriate accessories - many of them collectors' items of note. But Simone's emphasis is on making her guests feel at home. How water and a selection of teas are always available as are pieces of fresh fruit.

Breakfast is a leisurely self-service affair. You can linger over your meal and return later for a pick-me-up tea break. This is also the area where your can access the free WIFI network she offers. A typical breakfast might include a freshly baked loaf of brioche to slice and toast, croissants or baguette, butter, homemade orange marmalade, French press coffee, assorted teas, milk, yoghurt, cereal, and fresh fruit (one day we had delicious baked apples too.)

When we inquired about nearby restaurants for dinner, Simone was eager to suggest and describe various local options and once we had chosen, she called to reserve a table for us. When I commented that she was spoiling us with her kind attentions, she replied in French (Simone does not speak English), "If I did not enjoy doing this, I should seek another career." I found all of her suggestions and arrangements to be perfect for our needs (and as a former California caterer, I can be a critical judge.)

But that's not all! After three days at Coté Cité, it was time to provision and claim our "barge" to cruise the Canal du Midi for a week. Since it was a Sunday and most nearby stores were closed, Simone drove me to the only supermarché that was open on Sunday morning so I could purchase the supplies we needed. Then she orchestrated the two-taxi transfer to our departure base in Trèbes! WOW! What a hostess!

We treated her and her visiting friend to lunch at the nearby restaurant before our departure.

Any downsides? Only one. On one of the tree nights we stayed there, the adjacent room chose to party into the wee hours - a small inconvenience for all of the benefits and fond memories.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the street side may be noisier. Check the website for accurate photos and des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    54
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The location of the hotel, just a few minutes walk from the walled city of Carcassonne is terrific, and the private, secure parking is another big plus point. We were charmed by the bedrooms and the dining areas and found the hostess warm and helpful. The breakfast was slightly disappointing, but otherwise we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_and_Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We followed Rick Steves advice and showed up in Carcasonne in the afternoon at Cote Cite then walked in to the old city and castle for the evening. We had a great dinner at restaurant Adelaide and back to a lovely room. Madam Mayer provides a wonderful breakfast and nicely appointed rooms. be prepared to use your French or a translation book because she doesn't speak English but a lot of her clients do and can help. Parking is within the courtyard, your car and belongings are very safe and the walk in to the old city is less than 10 minutes. A great sunset photo of the castle can be had from the bridge right down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BellinghamThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Have just returned from 2 nights at Cote Cite. We loved it. A great location with a warm hostess.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at the Cote Cite. the rooms had great charm and we were made very welcome. A little tricky to find, but the private parking was a huge bonus, and one of the main reasons for booking. Fantastic location for walking up to the old town, and also for walking across the river to the new town. The breakfast was good, but not substantial.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Good location, excellent breakfast. As others have commented, a liitle austere-looking from the outside, but very charming once inside. Free private parking. Simone very helpful despite not speaking English, but I have a little knowledge of French.
We were a liitle disappointed with the cleanliness of our room. There were long dark hairs on the bedsheets and floor which didn't belong to my wife nor I, suggesting that the sheets had not been changed or floor swept since the previous occupant(s). This was the only negative factor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a wonderful chic B&B. Simone made us very welcome and her smile helped overcome our lack of good french. The location is terrific, being 5 min walk from the medieval city and 15 min walk from the Bastitde city. To be able to park in the courtyard was fantastic and a real plus for this property. The whole place was so delightful, wonderfully located and so......French !

Room Tip: Aim for a room facing the courtyard. It means you can have a window open during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Cite

Property: Cote Cite
Address: 81 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cote Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing