We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location better than hotel”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is not a bad hotel and if you can get a deal, worth visting and certainly better value than the hotels in the citadel. But it wasn't the most comfortable room and it felt rather dark and poky. The shower was great, but it was only hand held with no attachment to hang it on. But for location, you can't beat it, being about 2 minutes walk from the main gate into town.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a downstairs room - they seem to be rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 801 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We rounded off a weeks cruising on the Canal du Midi with three nights at this Hotel.
The staff were very attentive and very willing to help - they all seemed to speak good English and were helpful in correcting my attempts to use what French I have!
The rooms were great, very clean and modern with a comfortable bed. Air conditioning in the room was very effective and responsive. I only have two very slight criticisms - Firstly, the shower which, whilst being well appointed, was a little small and made it difficult to escape the fixed "rain fall" shower head (unless you used the separate hand shower) when washing your hair and, secondly there were no draws so we tended to live out of our suitcases.
The Hotel does not have a restaurant as such - but they served a very good "continental style" breakfast in the morning ( as we planned to eat out each night that was not a problem to us) however if you want a hotel with a full restaurant service........
The greatest asset the Hotel has is its position, just outside the Old Cité. Each night we walked slightly uphill into the Old Cité to eat at some wonderful restaurants and when we had finished it was a pleasant, slightly downhill walk back to the Hotel - just the way I like it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is well located looking straight at the castle-a beautiful site by night sitting back on the outdoor lounges with a drink in hand.
The rooms are quite basic, but very well priced. The bed was very comfortable.
The shower has to be one of the smallest shower recesses ever seen, thankfully we aren't big people.
For good value and good location I'd recommend this hotel, if you're after more luxury there are other options worth considering.

Room Tip: Book a suite for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our Japanese stye junior suite was nice enough with a comfortable bed and great air-con, but extremely small. As we only stayed one night, we did not unpack, and the only place we could actually leave the case open was in front of the bathroom which made access awkward! In short, I was disappointed as I'd booked this expensive room as a birthday treat for my husband. I found the room a little claustrophobic. The little terrace outside out room was dirty - particularly the seat cushions, and the thin foliage insufficient to provide privacy. The best aspect of the room was a double headed rain shower which was WONDERFUL.

The breakfast was nothing to write home about but an excessive 15 Euros each. Also, although I loved having the dog and cat around, it was a little much having the dog stare at me intensely wanting to share the food. I didn't cave in as he looked as if he certainly didn't need anymore food!

The Spa was fantastic. Although we were only permitted to use it for 30 minutes pre treatments, it meant we had it to ourself which was lovely and great fun.

The lowest point for us about this hotel was 3 course meal we had there pre returning to the airport. The menu sounded nice, but was a disgrace to microwave meals. Salty salty tomato soup, followed by soggy disgusting pasta. I had 3 mouth fulls of soup and 1 mouthful of pasta - inedible. I asked if the dessert would be of the same standard/make for if it was we'd cancel the order, and the waitress assured me the pineapple and chocolate mousse were fresh. However, out came 2 jars by the same company - both slightly warm, one preserved pineapple chunks in sweet syrup and one sugary tasteless slightly warm chocolate splodge of which I managed 3 small mouthfuls. When we complained they explained they didn't actually have a kitchen or a chef! How were we supposed to know that?! We offered to pay for one not both meals, and after some very active discussions the manager apologised and actually didn't charge us for either meal, nor the sparkling water which was nice of her. This was not only the worse food that I have ever had in France, but the worse food I've ever been served in any hotel worldwide. It was worse than I remember school dinners to be!

Overall this is a lovely hotel with beautiful views from the bar, and with a quite wonderful spa, but be prepared for small rooms (albeit with an incredible shower) and steer clear of the food. You'd probably get a better and cheaper breakfast in La Cite itself. Would we stay there again? No, but we would visit the spa again. After staying at Maison Laurent (which was AMAZING) this place was a let down.

Room Tip: The junior suite is not worth the money - lovely but small and claustrophobic. However the double r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosieJosieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneRives, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are very sorry and deeply touched that your stay in our house you have not been entirely satisfactory.
The room you occupied was an area of 40m2, which we believe to be quite suitable for a 4 stars hotel. The minimum required by French law is 12m2!
Actually this is a room that is not square but with corners and character is what makes the charm of our hotel ... It is just not designed to be non-open suitcases since 2 large wardrobes are available.
For our breakfasts, they consist of local products and we promoted the quality rather than quantity, sorry it did not give you seduced yet we receive congratulations every day.
Your biggest disappointment has been our priori map of "snacking" or "room service" as its name suggests is nothing but a restaurant troubleshooting and service for customers who want to stay at the hotel snack.
Meunier house with which we work, is a house known and recognized, voted "Best Innovation in upscale hotel in 2013"! and present in the prestigious chain of design hotels of the world.
When you pay an entry € 5 or € 5.5 a dessert that can not be with a chef on site! There is no marked that we are a restaurant and the tables of our breakfast room are topped!! How can you make such a confusion ...
In short we were delighted to offer your two meals and your drinks, and thank you very much for this beautiful note and beautiful place! know that our Priority is important to us and we try to do everything possible to satisfy our guests.
Stephane RIVES Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and four of our friends. The Hotel is in a fantastic situation and the staff are so wonderful. Going to return and bring my daughter here, as she will love the old city and the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovingthesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night break at this lovely little hotel with my daughter. I could not fault it. Excellent staff- friendly and helpful. Fabulous location- only a few minutes walk into la cite. Great breakfast, showcasing local produce. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabel2014630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Beautifully appointed rooms although a bit small. Great bathrooms with "rain" shower or steam shower. Friendly service and nice gardens. A parking lot in back of the hotel for 10 euro a day. Reasonably priced. All in all, a good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomLikesGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: $169 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing