We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel beside the cite”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely hotel right next to the old cite, which is literally a 5 minute walk away. Stylish rooms, great pool area and friendly staff. Loved the family feel of the hotel, with a boutique style and family pets taking center stage. Food and drink aren't cheap in the hotel, but the cite is so close you have lots of choice. Private parking on site, which at 10E a day seems expensive until you realise what a nightmare Carcassonne is to park in! Don't follow your sat nav in from the south as ou will get lost in the one way streets like we did!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 771 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Got taken here by my girlfriend for my birthday for 3 days,It's location is excellent, the rooms are stylish and clean the staff are helpfull and the 2 resident dogs are great, we almost had the lovely outside pool to ourselves which was great, and the staff were happy to bring bottles of wine to us at the poolside, we didn't try the spa as we were to busy site seeing around carcasonne, there is no restaurant in the hotel but there are so many places to eat in the cite that you would not want to eat in the hotel in the evening, but they do serve breakfast in the bar/lounge area, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but the staff were happy to bring us coffee to the room in the morning.
We had a fantastic 3 days there!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank spider96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful modern room. Extremely convenient to the walled city directly across the street. Good breakfast. The bonus for dog lovers is the adorable basset hound named Elliot who resides on the premises. He was very entertaining. Private parking lot was very secure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel du Chateau has nothing to do with castles. The room at street level had an street light directly outside and the traffic about 4 metres away and just a net curtain. For €190 a night one would have expected a curtain for the one small window. The air conditioner shut down during the night, which made it rather sweaty with the low cieling; it was re-started later. Sadly no room for a bedside table or even shelf.
The shower has been modified making it much less convenient. Staying at this hotel was supposed to be a treat on our anniversary, more a question of surviving the drawbacks !
The family pets were all charming.

Room Tip: Read the reviews carefully would be a start.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a unique little hotel situated immediately outside the main steps into Carcassonne’s Cite Walls.

We decided to stay another night but as they were so busy we could only upgrade so we can report on the classic and the superior room both of which were stylishly decorated to a high standard and very comfortable.

The superior room had a patio overlooking the swimming pool.

The staff are all very friendly and do everything they can to make your stay memorable. There is a lovely bar area with seating both inside and out, a good spa and a swimming pool.

Breakfast was relaxed and served at your table and consisted of locally produced breads, pastries and fruit - look out for the dogs, a Bassett and a Lab, both hungry!!! (but overweight)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

very convenient for the medieval city of carcassonne, two lovely dogs who are completely unfazed by guests and seem to just sleep, you cannot use the spa unless you have booked a treatment. would i stay there again and unfortunately no, the room we had was nice, but felt claustraphobic, very expensive and not worth the price, having just come from palaja

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cortintime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were lucky to find this little charm. The staff is super helpful, friendly, efficient and really seem to enjoy their guests. Breakfast is excellent and is served in a glassed in area overviewing the castle and the adjacent ancient cemetery. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I cannot imagine anyone not falling in love with this jewel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Los Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: $175 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing