We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel du Chateau in July for two nights on our travels through France into Spain. The location of this hotel is fantastic for visiting the old town of Carcassonne, being right outside the city walls. It is within walking distance (15 mins) of the new town, although there is quite a steep hill to climb on the return journey. Our room was on the small side, but large enough for a couple of nights, and spotlessly clean. We ate out at local restaurants (of which there are plenty) for both breakfast and evening meals on both days, so I can't comment on the food. The staff were courteous, but as in many hotels in France, the reception staff attend to you in their own time - you definitely get the impression that you are doing them a favour by staying at their hotel. Would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    213
    93
    33
    10
See reviews for
130
499
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were glad we stayed at this hotel, it was comfortable, close to the town, and had a secure car park. The rooms were very nicely appointed, with everything we needed. They do not have e restaurant, but serve breakfast in the bar.
They have two dogs (and a cat) who will join you at your table, but fear not, you will fall in love with them both!

Room Tip: Take a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EURODRIVER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stay at the hotel for 3 nights. The location was absolutely great - just opposite the steps to La Cite. The hotel has a secured carpark so it was great as we had a vehicle. Just note that you have to pay an additional charge for car parking during your stay. The room we stayed in was opposite the pool. It was very nicely decorated even though a bit small. The lighting we felt was inadequate as it was quite dark in the room during the day so you had to turn on the room lights all the time.
The pool was warm as it is a heated pool.
We had breakfast there every morning. It is very basic and expensive for what you pay for. There was a small tub of youghurt, tea or coffee, and some pastries.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar which is located at the reception overlooks La Cite, is a great meeting point.
I would recommend this to anyone to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkoktap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The location is first class with ready access to the excellent sights and numerous restaurants. The atmosphere in the bar and public areas is warm and friendly. Excellent wifi in the lobby where hotel pets reign. A very friendly tabby cat plus two elderly and lazy dogs. There are also attractive gardens and swimming pool. Our room was on the small side but both it and the bathroom were well appointed and comfortable. The pull out washing line above the bath was useful for drying the swimming costumes!

The English language TV channels are all news channels - including BBC World and Sky News. Replacing one of these with an entertainment channel would be an improvement. However if Premiership football is your thing, tune in to Canal + Sport. Breakfast is good but with limited choice - in particular no fresh fruit. However these are minor criticisms overall.

Room Tip: Size reflects cost but at modest end of spectrum very acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieLancsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location and views. It was a good choice. Very welcoming and helpful. Comfortable rooms although rather small. The grounds very pretty and enjoyable to sit in and look at the views. A useful car park. We were able to walk into the old and new town with ease. The breakfast was good but limited in choice.
I would be happy to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis_anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is situated in close proximity to La Cite, Carcassone. That in itself is a selling point. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms do vary in size and obviously cost so make sure you double check when booking in order to get a room that meets your needs. The hotel facilities are well laid out. Pleasant swimming pool area and there is car parking on site. There is also a small spa in the hotel for that soothing massage a steam room and water therapy pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This 3-4 star hotel enjoys an excellent location just two minutes stroll from the gates of the well preserved medieval city. The staff are universally pleasant and efficient and there is the added benefit of a nice pool to relax in after pounding the city streets.
Unfortunately a drawback is the size of the rooms and the beds. We opted for a "superior" which seemed to be built into an old wine vault - atmospheric but definitely on the small side but at least it was quiet.
The Hotel du Chateau should prove a good 1-2 night base whilst you explore the excellent old city but it would appear that its sister hotel the Montmorency (which shares the bar and reception with the du Chateau) offers rooms about half the price of the €280 we paid. It may well be the Montmorency offers you a better deal although I have no idea of room size!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing