We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location just outside the castle is its best selling point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Location just outside the castle is its best selling point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

While the castle and the old city is magnificent, I'm glad we didn't opt to stay in one of the hotels within the medieval city's walls (La Cite) - the old world Hotel de la Cite (as charming as the stately hotel is), or the more modest Best Western. After sundown when the tourists leave, the ancient city within the castle walls gets a little dark, quiet, and somewhat eerie I might add (there is also an old cemetary on the city grounds).

So we were very happy we had chosen to stay at the Hotel du Chateau, facing the castle and literally just outside the city walls. The boutique hotel is newish and stylish, and boasts a Carita spa on site (although we didn't manage to try out the spa facilities in the 2 nights we were there as the spa was fully booked).

The hotel rooms were comfortable but small (Classic 14 sq m room, but felt smaller because of the layout). Comfortable bed, good quality toiletries, but unfortanately not enough space for 2 people's luggage. There is also no mini-fridge or even a table area you can stash your drinks and snacks, let alone any coffee or tea-making facility.

If you are in Carcassone just to visit the castle however (apparently Carcassonne is the 3rd most visited place in France!), I would still recommend staying at the Hotel du Chateau.

We paid €162 per night. If you find this a little too much, you can opt to stay at the property's sister hotel just across the road, the Montmorency.

The hotel charges €10 a night for its private parking. Breakfast at €12 on the terrace looked nice, however you can also opt to eat in the restaurants within the castle. Many of them offer a breakfast set for less.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    193
    77
    30
    10
See reviews for
117
433
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you want to be outside the old city this hotel is the best location possible. From the terrace and bar you can sit and look at the old city walls just across the road. At night with the walls lit up it is a wonderful sight. The photo at hotel web site shows the night scene and it is exactly that in person. The hotel is nicely furnished and our room a good size. We had a superior double for our 2 night stay. Room was also nicely appointed, the bath modern and clean (separate tub and shower. Staff very helpful. Breakfast is served on the terrace or lounge area affording you a morning view of the city walls. There are 2 friendly dogs on premises that add character and charm to the place as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

For visiting Carcassonne the location is perfect, it's just across the road and you have an amazing view of the old city.

We had a junior suite and it was a little small, although well fitted out, clean and perfect for a few days stay, the bathroom and wet room were great! The outside space was private and quiet. The grounds and hotel are lovely. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient.

The car park is 10 euros per night, which seems a little off given the cost of the rooms, and that the large car park is attached to the hotel.

Breakfast was additional to the cost of the room and a bit pricey, but eating outside with the amazing view did make it worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
299 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We've just had a 2 night stay at this neat hotel. On arrival we were given a fabulous welcome by the receptionist and instructions on how best to access the old city of Carcassonne... and a friendly nudge by the hotel cat. The room was small but very cleverly set out. One small thing - although immaculate and clean there was a slight fusty smell which was difficult to get rid of. Maybe a consequence of being so close to the outdoor swimming pool?

The helpful and warm nature of the staff followed through during the remainder of our 48 hours. Drinks were well received (indoors as it was raining). Hotel dogs (2) came to say 'bonjour'. Reservations were made on our behalf.

We didn't want to leave and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs might be noisy at they seem to be over the bar. Suggest you aim for one that is away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel is situation directly across the road from the UNESCO World Heritage site of
A Cite. To sit on the terrace having breakfast looking at this is quite an unreal feeling. Though the rooms are a little small this is made up for by decor and the quality of everything in them. The staffers all very cheerful and helpful, the continental breakfast was good. Everything about this place is good. being so close to the walled city allows you to visit it in the morning or early evening when there are fewer tourists around. All in all this hotel made our trip to Carcassone a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel has the best location if you want to stay in Carcasonne. It is outside the walls, but perfect because it is less than a 1 minute walk to reach inside. Plus you have the excellent view of the castle, and city walls. All lit up at night. We enjoyed this every evening. The rooms were very well appointed. Even though they are small by American standards they have all the modern amenities. The bathroom and patio are were great. Having the patio was a real plus. If you book, request one. They are large and spacious. My only complaint is the pool and their rules. I booked the hotel on the condition I could use the pool everyday. What they don't mention is that the pool does not open until 10 are 11 am even though they say it's earlier. They keep a metal cover over it, so you cannot use it. They said the reasoning was they didn't want guests disturbed. As a guest who had a pool room, we were much more disturbed by our early neighbors, and foot/luggage traffic on our patio. This is a minor point, but if the pool is important stay elsewhere. Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We only stayed one night but wished we could of stayed longer,lovely hotel with excellent facilities Room 10 was decorated very nice with a good sized bathroom and separate toilet very efficient staff at check in and check out and a very good breakfast with the addition of ham and cheese to go with your baguette and croissant.Hotel was easy to find and parking although you pay 10 euros was great.would definitely return if in the area without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shooter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#4 of 44 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 44 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000, Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing