We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and place to stay for less money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location and place to stay for less money”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Of course, you do not reside here in a very charming hotel. Just if you are looking for an amazingly good budget accommodation you should not longer look for another place. Cheap, clean and a great location as it is next to the castle respectively ramparts. Staff was very friendly. You can find parking easily in the streets around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    310
    237
    106
    68
See reviews for
317
340
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked this as a place to stay near La Cite, and this is close.....Apart from the long walk up very very steep steeps, but that was fine, helps build up the appetite. The hotel was very cheap (£40!) so I cannot complain about the price. Parked right outside, and there is also a nice garden. Only grumbles, only 1 pillow each asked for more and was told they only had 1 spare...Bed was hard. But for the price I would stay again..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location is great... Short steep walk from the castle..

Checking in was fine... Walked into the room and was shocked to see that the ceiling was brown... Looked like they had a water leak and the room smelled of damp... We went back to reception and after showing them a picture of the damp they changed our room which was fine..

I don't understand why they would put people in this room... It needs a good paint and cleaning ect..

Apart from that it was fine... Slept really well after walking around all day and was very peaceful and relaxing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGPP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Perfect location just a short walk to the castle. On the other side of the property is a tributary of the Aude river and a park so it is quiet. It's in the residential area of the old city and very nice. An easy 20 minute walk to the "new" city, so a consideration if you want night life (which is not what I care about) and for Canal du Midi boat rides or the train station. The studios are nice for 2 and adequately stocked. There is a nice patio (common area) for sitting out and enjoying the local wine while watching the swallows. The reception is closed from noon to 15:00 so you can't check in early. Once checked in you get a code to enter the building via an alternative door for after-hours and when the reception desk is closed. They don't turn the AC on until it's consistently warm in the area. It was quite warm when we arrived but since there weren't many bugs we just kept our windows open at night. Make sure to get a room facing the inside of the compound.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside of the compound are quieter. If you like to leave your windows open ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not a bad place, useful as we have small kids and it's hard to find places with reasonably priced rooms for more than just the standard 2 adults...
The good parts are the spacious rooms and pleasant receptionists, although there are things they could do better... an example is that they had "no idea" what times the little tourist train up to the Cite goes past their front door - surely something basic that it would be useful to know, as a hotel catering to tourists?! Though I must concede that they were willing to try and find out for me, it wasn't as if they just shrugged and left it at that.
The rooms really are basic, but our one was clean. Slippery stone floor that our toddler fell on a few times, but that is a standard thing in Europe, not specific to this hotel! Air conditioning worked fine. I agree with other reviewers that the kitchen is basic. Also agree that the lack of shops nearby is disappointing - which is another thing the hotel could help with, if they had a better stocked snack vending machine perhaps.
You can see the beautiful Cite from the hotel but it is a steep and rocky walk up there. As I said the tourist train can apparently take you to save you the walk but we didn't try this out.
The river behind the hotel has a towpath with a "trim trail" and was good for the kids to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdonisPascal, Responsable relations clients at Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Google Translation
Ravi que votre séjour ce soit déroulé a votre convenance.
Que votre famille ai profité de la proximité de la citadelle, même si l’accès reste escarpé.
Mais pourquoi donc les remparts sont toujours inaccessibles ?
Les services et équipements restent basiques mais en phase avec le tarif appliqué.
Nous vous remercions de vos bons commentaires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location was handy for the backdoor of the walled Cite - just an uphill hike, but a 20 min walk to the "New Town". We had to wait a few minutes until they opened at 3.o pm & our studio room was nice and clean with ba living room/kitchen which contained a fold down bed to cater for 4. First time I have made tea in a coffee machine and the kitchen lacked a few basics such as soap & a tea towel. Corridors were a bit fusty owing to lack of ventilation. But on the whole a nice stay. Maid service only every other day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Pro's - large clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Good shower (although you have to hold it all the time, there is no pole for it), English speaking reception that are very friendly and helpful. Only a few minutes walk from La Cite and in nice quiet neighbourhood.

Cons - very basic kitchen, few utensils and nowhere to prepare anything. Very noisy both in the corridors and outside in main courtyard due to large groups of young people. A good 15 minute walk to town centre and although this is self catering there is no supermarket within a reasonable distance walk. There were also ants around the walls of the room during the day although they did disappear at night.

Overall if I was staying in Carcassonne again, i'm not sure I would stay here again, I think the large groups and all the noise from them and the cleaners scaping the chairs and tables along the floors when cleaning upstairs and in ajoining rooms early in the morning has put me off.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room but it didn't happen. Check with reception when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lentils65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane

Property: Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Address: 15 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane is pleased to welcome you in a green setting next to Carcassonne city classified as World Heritage Site by Unesco. You will discover a beautiful region with an extraordinary cultural richness. ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane welcomes you in one of its 70 air conditioned apartments, fully furnished and tastefully equipped to make your stay a real success. We put at your disposal: a pleasant dining room for your family breakfast, for your well-being you will have access to the area of fitness and jacuzzi, and for business meetings,an equipped meeting room is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis La Barbacane Hotel Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing