We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Chateau(Carcassonne Center)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon(Carcassonne Center)
$142
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$55
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Aragon(Carcassonne Center)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Pont Vieux(Carcassonne Center)
$103
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
$72
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Trois Couronnes(Carcassonne Center)
$126
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$331
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$156
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montmorency(Carcassonne Center)
$181
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,034 results
Traveler rating
163
396
278
119
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
396
278
119
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmedieval citykitchen areabasic accommodationsmall kitchenettethese apartmentscooking facilitiesbath and showerhand held showerold towncheap hotelcastle wallsminute walkon footnice stayapartment was cleanshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,034 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

What you have to know before reading this review is that I am a fairly light sleeper - if you sleep like the dead then ignore this - otherwise read on

I was very disappointed by our stay. The only positive aspect was the reception staff who were very polite and cheerful.

A minor problem was that the residence was extremely sparse. Our duplex came with a kitchen but almost no basic essentials. There were no cups so we had to drink out of soup bowls, there was no means of washing up dishes, no cleaners etc. The decor was Spartan and the bedroom only had a roof window to look at the sky. Outside the gardens were a mess of weeds that you would not want to sit in.

However, all of the above could be excused by the fact that the price was reasonable. The very major problem was that our bedroom was right next to the block air conditioner which made a loud humming noise all night. After an entirely sleepless night I complained to the reception and asked for the night to be refunded and to move to a different room. The staff were very polite and said that they would pass on our complaint to the management. The management refused to provide a refund – indeed their one gesture was to give back the 8 Euro per night car parking fee. This was wholly inadequate and insulting. Who would go on holiday and spend an entire night awake for 8 Euros?

We were very disappointed and left. Even though the management went on to charge us for the full three nights we originally booked for it was better to more elsewhere and sleep.

Rating: I am 50 years old and have travelled the world – this rivals a bug infested shack in Australasia as the worst deal ever: 0/5

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Clean room, free wi-fi. Nice walk to city. Staff not present after 10 pm so be sure to get a code to reenter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thrilled_2_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Situated in the foothills of La Cité, La Barbacane is an absolutely ideal place to stay if you want to wake up each morning with a great view of the imposing castle...
The apartment I stayed in would easily have accommodated 3-4 people and proved a real bargain. It was clean, light and airy, with all the amenities you could have hoped for.
The staff were very helpful indeed and very knowledgeable about the local area.
The hotel itself is in a great location as it is only a 10-minute walk via the old bridge to the city centre.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to visit the beautiful Carcassonne and especially those who want to be near La Cité...
Luke

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed in a one bedroomed apartment in the Adonis during a very cold winter weekend. After a warm welcome by the lovely lady at reception, we were shown to our toasty warm apartment which became a home from home. The Medieval Town and castle are close by, and the views from the Adonis spectacular. A couple of streets away you wlll find a small supermarket to buy the basics, but there are plenty of places to eat in La Cite. We walked across the bridge to the new/old town on Market Day and bought loads of local fresh produce, bread, cheese, veg, fruit, oil. That was quite an experience and we were able to rustle up a couple of nice meals on the 2 ring cooker and microwave...all you need on such a trip, and a nice addition, You are really getting an lovely clean, bright apartment for the price of a room. One thing I loved is that the venue is right on the edge of the small town, so you also have views right across to the beautiful countryside with small vineyards etc. Just across a very small road is a childrens playground next to a stream, perfect for families. I loved my stay at the Adonis and will certainly be back again..maybe when it's a little warmer!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a 1 bedroomed apartment - well worth it. The rooms on the castle side on the ground floor are a little exposed, so ask for a first floor, or inward facing room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieBeatleguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a condo style development offering modern construction and small kitchens.It has the appearance of a mid range residence inn in the US. It is a short walk to the cafes and shops below the western wall of the old city. You can take a steep hike up to the city entrance or walk around the walls and enter on the other side where there is a parking lot. Parking in Carcassone in September was intense. Therefore, the underground garage at the Adonis was very welcome. It was 8 euro a night, and we were allowed to leave our car while we toured the city the next day on foot. The ambiance is clean, sparse and modern. The price and location make this an attractive choice if you don't need old world charm.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews