We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecuries de Sainte-Croix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Ranked #20 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
San Mateo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ecuries de Sainte-Croix. Truly truly lovely, even in the unanticipated cold rain. The owners stayed later with us to assist us with some traveling issues we had, and she gave my father from Texas some of her homemade jam to take home with him. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxtravel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

During our cycling trip along the Canal du Midi, we stayed two nights in this lovely B&B.
The very charming owners give you a warm welcome and make you feel at home.
They speak little English, but are very helpful to give you information and tips for good restaurants.
The B&B itself lies in a beautiful scenary near to the Cite, rooms are spacious and nicely decorated.
Breakfast is very good, with homemade jams, fresh juices and fresh fruit (grapes from their own vignard), just as the photos show.
Price-quality rate is excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astrid v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Directions in a previous entry are very helpful as it is quite tricky to find. The medieval city is not really within walking distance as previously stated. It is, however, very close and parking is free after 7pm. The room was pleasant, clean and had separate toilet and shower rooms. There was a fridge, a kettle and a table too. The breakfasts were generous and varied. Although close to the motorway the traffic hum was only noticeable occasionally and did not bother us. Our room was well soundproofed and cool. If staying for several days it is worth asking the tourist office for the plan of 'hebergements' which shows how you can access the ring road quickly using the lanes - tricky but Mrs Huck can explain. She suggested several tours, including less well known places and vineyards where we could taste and buy reasonably priced wine. We would not have enjoyed our stay half as much without her local knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emerald1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is not a B&B. It is a home away from home. The location is ideal, the breakfasts second to none, the room is cosy and wondefrul; but most of all you are truly cared for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taymourq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ecuries de Sainte-Croix for three nights on our recent trip to Carcassonne. The premises is well located for anyone with a car who wants to visit Carcassonne or the surrounding areas (we particularly enjoyed Montsegur).

We stayed in the La Napolitaine room. You can rent this room separately to the adjoining La Chinoise room. We found the bed to be very comfortable and the room was quite spacious. The adjoining bathroom with bath and shower was immaculate. There is a separate toilet just off the main room, but still for your private use. Overall, the room was very clean, neat and tidy.

As noted in other reviews, the property can be hard to find, even with a GPS. We found that the directions given by the host were invaluable and we soon found our way around.

The property itself has a rustic charm. We enjoyed meeting their cats, dog and horse. The breakfast was a typical French breakfast, basic but nice.

I would note that the host's English was very basic, however she was very helpful and patient in explaining things to us in a mix of English and French. On the last day there, I was not well in the morning and our host was very accommodating - she was very concerned, attentive and helpful.

I would recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay in the Carcassonne area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunha
Level Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

This B & B has a great location to visit the Cité Médiévale. The breakfast is very good, and the owner, although she speaks little English is very helpful and gave us several tips. The path of the B & B to Cité is surrounded by vines, which guarantees great pictures. Two days are enough to meet the region.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Ecuries de Sainte-Croix and loved it. Rustic and rural and very easy to find once you have found the main gate to the old City. Finding the main gate however can be a bit of a challenge, but once you have it's a doddle.

We left the car at the B&B and had a lovely walk (about 2km max) to the old city through the vineyards. This also saved around 20 euros in daily parking charges in the car parks by the main gate. We only used the car to head back to Carcassone in the evening for for a meal.

Our room was of a good size, clean and perfectly adequate for our stay. Breakfast in Madame Huck's house was a hearty one of homemade jams and fresh croissants/bread, cereals, cold meats, cheeses and lovely fresh coffee.

We would disagree with the comments for a need to speak French. Madame Huck's English is better than my basic French and although neither of us were anywhere near fluent we were able to converse perfectly well enough. All part of the enjoyment and adventure. Madame Huck also gave us ideas of other places to visit and even lent us some of her own guide books during our stay. On leaving she recommended we visited Minerve on the next stage of our French tour. What a gem. Thankyou!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.7 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#6 of 58 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#5 of 58 in Carcassonne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Passage
Le Passage
#12 of 58 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Au Domisiladore
Au Domisiladore
#7 of 58 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Florentines
Les Florentines
#18 of 58 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.2 mi away
L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecuries de Sainte-Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecuries de Sainte-Croix

Property: Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Address: Chemin de Sainte Croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hill, at two kilometres above the "Cité de Carcassonne",amongst the vineyards Geneviève and Henri welcome you at renovated old farm. There is a parking lot and a WIFI free.Our B&B is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ecuries de Sainte-Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing