We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant find and great location for Carcassone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Ranked #23 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Ecuries de Sainte-Croix and loved it. Rustic and rural and very easy to find once you have found the main gate to the old City. Finding the main gate however can be a bit of a challenge, but once you have it's a doddle.

We left the car at the B&B and had a lovely walk (about 2km max) to the old city through the vineyards. This also saved around 20 euros in daily parking charges in the car parks by the main gate. We only used the car to head back to Carcassone in the evening for for a meal.

Our room was of a good size, clean and perfectly adequate for our stay. Breakfast in Madame Huck's house was a hearty one of homemade jams and fresh croissants/bread, cereals, cold meats, cheeses and lovely fresh coffee.

We would disagree with the comments for a need to speak French. Madame Huck's English is better than my basic French and although neither of us were anywhere near fluent we were able to converse perfectly well enough. All part of the enjoyment and adventure. Madame Huck also gave us ideas of other places to visit and even lent us some of her own guide books during our stay. On leaving she recommended we visited Minerve on the next stage of our French tour. What a gem. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B in the beautiful city of Carcassonne. Although our GPS had a slightly hard time finding it, there were signs and with a bit of luck we came across it and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was big, clean, cool and quiet. There was a little bit of a language barrier between us and the caretaker on duty when we arrived as we don't speak much french and no spanish. In the end everything was sorted out and we enjoyed our stay. The continental breakfast which was included in our room rate was delicious and the croissants were amazing. We were driving so it was easy to get from the B&B to the medievil city but I'm not sure how you would get there if you weren't driving. Definately recommend when in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0nzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The location was easy to find as it was only a 3 minute drive from the car park outside the Citadel in Carcassone. The farmhouse sits surrounded by vineyards with a panoramic view of Carcassonne and the surrounding area. We received a warm welcome from Genevieve on arrival and were very pleased with our 2 room accommodation. The swimming pool and hammock in the garden looked very inviting, although we didn't use them ourselves. The room in which breakfast was taken was much darker and more cluttered with furniture than the picture on their website suggests, but the quality of the typical French style breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of bread, croissants and preserves, and was able to be enjoyed at a leisurely pace. Genevieve was most helpful in giving us recommendations for places to visit in the area. Her suggestions turned out to be perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

A bit tricky and hard to find. GPS is not really helpful as the path is not marked well and has no access from the bigger road Rotunde Sud. The place itself is very nicely renovated with perfectly clean rooms. 2km from the Castle. Breakfast is traditional and full. The hosts are very kind and helpful, but speaking French is almost a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarIusVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This b&b is on the outskirts of Carcassonne, but an easy 3km drive to the old walled city. The b&b is on a farm, and is surrounded by grape vines along the road. The facilities are everything you could want, with good bathrooms, hot water and comfortable beds. Genevieve is a wonderful host and she was happy to help in making bookings for tourist attractions and restaurants. Her recommendations were excellent. The breakfasts are exceptional and guests eat in the family dining room, surrounded by artwork by Genevieve and her husband, Henri.
We accidently left behind a pair of expensive boots and Genevieve posted them back to Australia for us and refused payment for the postage.
We would highly recommend this b&b, in the beautiful surrounds of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCathyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Barcelona & Carcassonne. Ecuries de Sainte Croix was a definite highlight of our trip. Genevieve and Henri were fantastic hosts, and were extremely helpful in suggestions for touring the area and finding wonderful restaurants. I enjoyed running on the scenic country roads surrounding Ecuries de Sainte Croix, and the delicious breakfast waiting for me upon my return. I look forward to an opportunity to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed out on the farm for three nights and we were very happy with our accommodation. The room La Napolitaine was comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for luggage. I have to agree with other comments about locating the place as even with the GPS we could not find it. Eventually we asked a walker in the area and he pointed us to the entrance. I would suggest that a map with roads marked instead of written directions might solve the problem of finding the Bed and Breakfast . Once there and settled in we thought our room was delightful (Not 5 star, but extremely homely) Genevieve was a wonderful hostess and even with our language barrier went out of her way to help us with any query, including restaurants, car parking when in town etc. Breakfast was a typically, delightful, French meal with fresh breads, jams, fruit and tea or coffee. An excellent start to any day. Genevieve also did our laundry one day in order for us to enjoy the nearby sights. Thank you Genevieve for your A1 hospitality. It was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.2 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#6 of 53 in Carcassonne
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Maison Vieille B&B
Maison Vieille B&B
#27 of 53 in Carcassonne
93 reviews
1 mi away
Le Passage
Le Passage
#24 of 53 in Carcassonne
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison sur la Colline
La Maison sur la Colline
#31 of 53 in Carcassonne
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecuries de Sainte-Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecuries de Sainte-Croix

Address: Chemin de Sainte Croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $88 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hill, at two kilometres above the "Cité de Carcassonne",amongst the vineyards Geneviève and Henri welcome you at renovated old farm. There is a parking lot and a WIFI free.Our B&B is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ecuries de Sainte-Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing