We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing B&B within easy reach of Carcassonne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Ranked #24 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The location was easy to find as it was only a 3 minute drive from the car park outside the Citadel in Carcassone. The farmhouse sits surrounded by vineyards with a panoramic view of Carcassonne and the surrounding area. We received a warm welcome from Genevieve on arrival and were very pleased with our 2 room accommodation. The swimming pool and hammock in the garden looked very inviting, although we didn't use them ourselves. The room in which breakfast was taken was much darker and more cluttered with furniture than the picture on their website suggests, but the quality of the typical French style breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of bread, croissants and preserves, and was able to be enjoyed at a leisurely pace. Genevieve was most helpful in giving us recommendations for places to visit in the area. Her suggestions turned out to be perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

A bit tricky and hard to find. GPS is not really helpful as the path is not marked well and has no access from the bigger road Rotunde Sud. The place itself is very nicely renovated with perfectly clean rooms. 2km from the Castle. Breakfast is traditional and full. The hosts are very kind and helpful, but speaking French is almost a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarIusVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This b&b is on the outskirts of Carcassonne, but an easy 3km drive to the old walled city. The b&b is on a farm, and is surrounded by grape vines along the road. The facilities are everything you could want, with good bathrooms, hot water and comfortable beds. Genevieve is a wonderful host and she was happy to help in making bookings for tourist attractions and restaurants. Her recommendations were excellent. The breakfasts are exceptional and guests eat in the family dining room, surrounded by artwork by Genevieve and her husband, Henri.
We accidently left behind a pair of expensive boots and Genevieve posted them back to Australia for us and refused payment for the postage.
We would highly recommend this b&b, in the beautiful surrounds of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCathyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Barcelona & Carcassonne. Ecuries de Sainte Croix was a definite highlight of our trip. Genevieve and Henri were fantastic hosts, and were extremely helpful in suggestions for touring the area and finding wonderful restaurants. I enjoyed running on the scenic country roads surrounding Ecuries de Sainte Croix, and the delicious breakfast waiting for me upon my return. I look forward to an opportunity to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed out on the farm for three nights and we were very happy with our accommodation. The room La Napolitaine was comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for luggage. I have to agree with other comments about locating the place as even with the GPS we could not find it. Eventually we asked a walker in the area and he pointed us to the entrance. I would suggest that a map with roads marked instead of written directions might solve the problem of finding the Bed and Breakfast . Once there and settled in we thought our room was delightful (Not 5 star, but extremely homely) Genevieve was a wonderful hostess and even with our language barrier went out of her way to help us with any query, including restaurants, car parking when in town etc. Breakfast was a typically, delightful, French meal with fresh breads, jams, fruit and tea or coffee. An excellent start to any day. Genevieve also did our laundry one day in order for us to enjoy the nearby sights. Thank you Genevieve for your A1 hospitality. It was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

What a lovely b & b - close to the medieval city of Carcassonne but in a totally rural location, away from it all. Very friendly welcome and rooms were clean and spacious. Good shower. The breakfast was tasty and included homemade jams and fruit from their orchard. Good opportunity to meet the other guests at breakfast since we all shared the same table at breakfast.

Only niggle was trying to find the place! For anyone who has downloaded directions from Google maps, it is helpful to follow the directions stated and once you have found the Charlemagne roundabout (not specifically signed as such but the one with the A42 heading South, you will need to take turning into Carcassonne and then turn immediately right after reaching the Le Parc restaurant. Go up the hill and follow the road round to the left until you see the Medieval city walls (chemin des anglais). There is then a sharp right hand turn which you take and from there you should see handwritten signs for the Ecuries de Sainte Croix. Hope these are correct - it was a few weeks since we were there, but wouldnt want others to suffer a grumpy driver like I had to!!!!!

Really good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed three nights in the Celadon Room, one of several rooms in a building separate from the main house. There was easy and free parking for our rental car. The accommodation was large, clean and quiet. There was a small fridge and an electric kettle and tea bags and coffee. The shower and bath water were almost instantly hot and plentiful. The bed was comfortable. Towels were changed daily. There is much charm about the huge property which is surrounded by vineyards. And the fig trees on property provided fresh fruit and jam for the large breakfast buffet.

But the best part of our experience was the host Geneviève. She allowed us to use her personal computer to check email and make travel plans. We had to change our travel plans while in Carcassonne because of an unfortunate theft of passport (and computer) two days prior to our stay here and Geneviève went out of her way to find a room for us when we were unable to do so on our own. She made phone calls to tourist agencies. She called B&B's directly on our behalf until she secured a room for us within walking distance of the US Embassy. She and husband Henri will always be special to us. We only had a two day window to get a passport to return to the US and she sensed this urgency.

Geneviève also recommended places to park free near the walled city. She recommended restaurants not only nearby but at our next destination. She recommended Cathar castles to visit within easy driving distance and provided driving maps. We agree that a car is necessary if staying at Ecuries de Sainte-Croix although a taxi would probably not be unreasonable. We recommend this place strongly to anyone looking for peace and quiet in a country setting but within 5 minutes of the medieval city. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForagerHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.2 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#5 of 53 in Carcassonne
192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Au Domisiladore
Au Domisiladore
#11 of 53 in Carcassonne
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Balcons de Maragon
Les Balcons de Maragon
#10 of 53 in Carcassonne
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Les Florentines
Les Florentines
#18 of 53 in Carcassonne
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Dochavert
B&B Dochavert
#15 of 53 in Carcassonne
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Vieille B&B
Maison Vieille B&B
#25 of 53 in Carcassonne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecuries de Sainte-Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecuries de Sainte-Croix

Address: Chemin de Sainte Croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $88 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hill, at two kilometres above the "Cité de Carcassonne",amongst the vineyards Geneviève and Henri welcome you at renovated old farm. There is a parking lot and a WIFI free.Our B&B is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ecuries de Sainte-Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing