We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Carcassonne Medieval City
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$165.91*
and up
Medieval Cité of Carcassonne Guided Tour for 2 Hours
Kingscliff
Level Contributor
262 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We loved the Medieval City of Carcassonne. It was wonderful to be able to wander around the old fortress and try and imagine what life would have been like for those that had lived there and fought all the battles.
Entry is free, except to the museum. There are plenty of touristy shops in the little narrow streets and plenty of restaurants.
It is a great day out for all ages.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jane_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,217
    1,528
    389
    96
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing piece of living history!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We totally enjoyed our visit to the medieval city which was once the heart of the culture of southwestern France and Cathar life. I suggest entering through the Narbonne Gate at which point you can visit the tourist center and plan your visit. The chateau is worth a visit, as well. It is on the opposite end of the cité, but strolling through the narrow streets is well worth it! There are many "tourist" type shops but there are also some excellent restaurants and great regional cooking in several of these. May I suggest the cassoulet! The vista from the ramparts is also quite lovely. Yes, this is a must-see medieval city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ChantillyKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An interesting day out”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

A must visit if you are in the area. The city ramparts really take you back to a darker more evil time. Fantastic views over Carcassone and we experienced the best cassoulet we had ever tasted at one of the restaurants within.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my highlights of 6 weeks in Europe”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I took 170 photos walking around this magnificent landmark, and inside on the very reasonably-priced self-guided tour. We have 3 teenagers and they were equally enthralled with the size and construction. We were there for 5 hours, including a fabulous breakfast before we started our walking. Fortunately, we were there in January so relatively quiet.

In response to some of the other reviews... the shops were fine - there are going to be souvenir shops anywhere and as tourists, why would anyone be surprised about that? Considering REAL people live inside the walled city they have to earn a living somehow. Some of the shops were selling local produce and hand made beautiful arts and crafts.

I was at first hesitant to pay to go inside, but a family ticket made it feasible and I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the history of Carcassonne and walking along the ramparts. Well worth it. If you get all the way to Carcassonne and decide not to do the tour you may regret it later - have a little splurge!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must to visit but still a bit disappointed (2nd visit)”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

From a distance the old city looks better than anything Disney conjured up. (There is a good viewpoint at the rest area off the A61 autoroute.) Cose up, it immense. Inside, it is both a heavily visited tourist attraction and a place where people live and work. Although heavily restored it is easy to imagine life there in the past. You can walk round the town for nothing but it is worth paying for a tour Inside the château and along the upper ramparts. There are lots of places to eat but in you need to get a table early.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carcassonne Medieval City also viewed

 

Been to Carcassonne Medieval City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing