We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montségur”
Review of Cathar Castles

Cathar Castles
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.62*
and up
35 Minutes Cathar Castles Tour by Helicopter
Ranked #3 of 72 things to do in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Montségur”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is one of the most famous and notorious Cathar castles. It is said to have been the location of the last Cathar stand and the mystery surrounding it is very interesting. The story goes that the people of the castle were protecting the Holy Grail, which was then smuggled out before they surrendered and were burned. You will need a car to get here, as it's a very remote location in the foothills of the Pyrenees. The journey up to the foot of the castle's hill is stunning, and when you get to the castle remains themselves the views are breathtaking. To reach the top, you will have to climb a narrow and very steep path. If you are not in reasonable shape, it will be quite difficult. Make sure to wear sturdy shoes, such as hiking boots and bring something to drink. I recommend learning a little about the history of the place before going, as it will make the trip a lot more mystical. And make sure to bring a camera!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank lenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    167
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“This is why we went to Carcassonne”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The ruins were wonderful and the views outstanding. You could see forever. They are rather steep to get there but it is a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“If you are able to scramble to the top, a must do”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The castles of Montsegur and Roquefixade ,the latter free, are well worth the climb, not only for the magnificent views(of each other amongst the rest) but also of the insight into the lives of the Cathars who lived and died there so long ago. Having made the effort a number of times now we would consider these places essential stop offs in a tour of this region.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful castles in a great setting”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited Château de Quéribus and Château de Peyrepertuse during our trip - both very close to each other and perfectly doable in one day.

A long time lover of old castles and avid photographer, I was looking forward to the trip and wasn't disappointed. The scenery surrounding the castles are great, with beautiful rolling hills and jagged outcrops - and you can even see the sea on a clear day.

The castles themselves are obviously abandoned, but maintained. My only (very small) gripe would be that the maintenance is obvious in some cases.

On the way from the castles to our camp site in Carcassone, we also happened upon a small hamlet (2 houses and a church) called Auriac on the D212. Here we found what I had been hoping to see on the day trip - a totally abandoned old castle, overgrown and sans major maintenance. It was certainly off the main roads, so if you're interested in a windy drive through some lush scenery to see an abandoned castle, head to these coordinates: 42° 55.899', 2° 29.546'.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank etienne_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Castles everywhere!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Most are worth a visit , but if I had just one site after Carcassonne , I would recommend a vist to Lastours. The viewing point is set high over a valley in which you can actually see the remains of 5 castle , for those fit enough you can enough walk the steep pathways up to them.Close by at Salsigne you can also see the last working gold-mine in France. A good day out in spring and / or autumn, but might be a trifle hot for some folk if you go in the height of summer!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scousedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathar Castles also viewed

 

Been to Cathar Castles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing