We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Will be back!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of No. 28

Al fresco dining in the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden
Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Comfortable chic sun loungers and new garden furniture.
Downstairs, accessible, en-suite bedroom with double bed, French doors to courtyard.
First floor bedroom with castle view.
Top floor bedroom with castle view.
Outdoor dining area with large adjustable parasol.
Vintage cabinet in hallway.
Example of period staircases and features throughout property.
Example of stylish decoration and furnishings found throughout property.
Free-standing bath found in second-storey bedroom and bathroom.
Traditional (non-working) Carcassonne fireplace.
Original front door.
A view of the castle walls at night, taken from first-storey bedroom window.
Surrounding countryside, overlooking castle.
Courtyard for intimate drink or breakfast.
Nearby Lac de la Cavayere.
View of lounge from kitchen.
Lounge, with comfortable seating for 6, through to view of garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bree H
1 review
“Will be back!”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spent 3 wonderful days with my family in this beautiful home. The views and history are breathtaking and the home is perfectly equipped with anything you could need. Gail was so helpful and responsive to any questions I had from the moment we booked our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allybest
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had to go back”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My second visit to this property and every bit as nice as the first. Located at the foot of the Castle, with all amenities within walking distance. In my view the cleanliness of a property can make or break your experience. Rue Longue is spotless and the housekeeper Nicola is close by.
The house is Idyllic, with bedrooms set over 3 floors all ensuite insuring your privacy. The lounge, kitchen and dining area are ample if you are traveling in a group. Gail the owner, regularly visits the property herself and has thought of every tiny detail, to make sure you have everything you need.
A wonderful location, a beautiful house and a lovely helpful owner! Really is worth a visit.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubytour
Northampstonshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Let me say first of all I am quite fussy when it comes to holiday rentals and hard to please so for me to give this a 5 star rating says it all.
Great location, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, lovely kitchen and the outside space perfect with the Cite as a back drop is awesome.
Gail very good to deal with and was very helpful to us regarding Air Traffic Controllers proposed strikes. Thank you Gail. Thanks also to Nicola for taxi assistance!
If you do visit and love cooking stay here and try a days course at Cooking by the Canal Du Midi. fabulous day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnostr...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect holiday home in magical location”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay in 28 rue longue was an absolute delight! There is nothing really to add to the excellent reviews of this property except to thoroughly agree with all of them. We will be "spreading the word" around family and friends enabling them to experience the joys of Carcassone old and new. The pleasure of walking through a small front door into a spacious room with outstanding views of La Cite was the icing on the cake. Thanks Gail for the attention to detail in providing everything you could wish for to ensure a perfect holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyandr...
Nottingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful House - Amazing Location”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

28 Rue Longue is just a delightful place to stay. You can't believe that you go through quite a small looking front door into the hall which then seems to go on forever, finally opening up into a lovely kitchen and living area and then out through french doors to the patio area and up steps to a peaceful lounging area. The surprise is the old (dry) well in the living area - thankfully covered with a metal grid and glass and fitted with a light so you can see into the depths! The beds were very comfortable which is so important. When you climb the old narrow staircase to the first and second floor bedrooms the view of the citadel all lit up at night is just breathtaking. I don't really need to say anything else. Gail has thought of everything and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her lovely property and would happily stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richsmart...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for our stay in Carcassonne”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in Rue Longue for a week as our daughter was getting married in the Hotel de la Cite which is just over the wall behind the house. It was perfect for our needs and was very comfortable. Gail allowed us to rent it from a Wednesday to a Wednesday as the wedding was on the Saturday, which most rentals don't allow. The style and decor of the property is very nice indeed as are the facilities. A real home from home. We really hope to go back again as our week was manic with the wedding and we haven't had the chance to look around and enjoy Carcassonne. Parking is a nightmare though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall condition and decor.
Liked least: No air conditioning.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A House Full of Character.”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 3 nights before moving on to Barcelona. The house was easy to find and once we got through the front door, everything opened up. The living space was comfortable and spacious - although we spent the most of the first evening in the garden. The bedrooms where nicely furnished. As the house was so near to the Citadel we spent a couple of evenings just wandering around the ramparts and alleyways.
The owner supplied a lot of very useful information prior to our departure. Also provided was milk, coffee and very nice bottle of wine so we could at least have a drink before exploring Carcassonne.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing