We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, cozy house in a magnificent location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of No. 28

Al fresco dining in the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden
Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Comfortable chic sun loungers and new garden furniture.
Downstairs, accessible, en-suite bedroom with double bed, French doors to courtyard.
First floor bedroom with castle view.
Top floor bedroom with castle view.
Outdoor dining area with large adjustable parasol.
Vintage cabinet in hallway.
Example of period staircases and features throughout property.
Example of stylish decoration and furnishings found throughout property.
Free-standing bath found in second-storey bedroom and bathroom.
Traditional (non-working) Carcassonne fireplace.
Original front door.
A view of the castle walls at night, taken from first-storey bedroom window.
Surrounding countryside, overlooking castle.
Courtyard for intimate drink or breakfast.
Nearby Lac de la Cavayere.
View of lounge from kitchen.
Lounge, with comfortable seating for 6, through to view of garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JBfromVT
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cozy house in a magnificent location”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family of four had a wonderful time staying in this very comfortable house in Carcassone. The views from the windows looking toward the Carcassone Cité walls are spectacular! The house itself is spacious and includes everything one needs. Recently renovated, tastefully decorated, clean, and with lots of great information about things to do in the region. I'd recommend this house to anyone without mobility restrictions. Thank you, Gail, for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, cleanliness, throughtful amenities, views
Liked least: Stairs are a bit steep
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janes904
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had been enthusiastically recommended this property by a friend who had stayed there last year and were not disappointed at all. It was exceptionally clean and
regardless of the fact that it is about 300 years old (older than some countries amazingly) and undoubtedly had it's quirks, the owner had thoughtfully provided all 'mod cons' whilst also retaining the absolute and simple charm of the property that only comes with age.
We stayed here for a week with friends from Australia (there were 2 couples) and really enjoyed candlelit evenings in the garden with the illuminated cite as a most magnificent backdrop.
We were fortunate to have the same view from our bedroom on the first floor which had a queen (or large double) bed and wet room style ensuite.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owner. From original booking to changing dates at very short notice she was flexible and gracious.
Our only issue was that we wished in hindsight that rather than taking a week to travel home that we had stayed on at this lovely property. Thank you for sharing it Gail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shazz21
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My friend Jane booked this house for the 4 of us to stay in from 6 October to 12 October 2014. The location is just perfect with easy access to the old cite. The secret stair passage is a bit daunting but we managed it. Such a great base for exploring the region and being 4 of us we had plenty of room in the house. Everything is thoughtfully provided and a lot of care has been taken to ensure everything is provided. My only 3 criticisms was the staircase to the bedrooms, only providing double beds, not queen size beds and that the beds were very uncomfortable. Certainly the one I slept in downstairs was very hard. We enjoyed being able to catch up and share meals together. We came from Australia and my friend Jane and partner from the UK. Well done Gail your house is beautiful, thank you letting us rent it from you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Quality of and size of beds
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliet K
Westerhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

House was amazing. Well equipped and a view to die for! Location was perfect with a short Walk to La Cite and 20 min Walk to centre of Carcassonne. Great tapas bar in La Cite called L'Escargot. Cycled along Canal du Midi to Trebes would recommend doing this rather than Canal boat trip. Pezenas & Grissan are a must, just don't go on Monday's, pick the market days. Thanks Gail, we had a wonderful time.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne W
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property with fantastic view from the garden.”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having had numerous short visits to Carcassonne we booked this property for a special occasion. Gail was incredibly flexible when I first enquired, and allowed us to add an extra day after we had made our booking.
The property is on a lovely street at the foot of La Cite. If you fly and arrive with more than just hand luggage it is worth getting a taxi as it is quite a walk from the bus drop off point.
Opening the door, you enter a different world. Lovely cool building, with a long hallway leading into an open plan kitchen and living room. It is lovely, but our eyes were immediately drawn to the garden and the view of La Cite. Many an hour was passed sitting, wine in hand, just gazing at it. Very hot in the garden, but the huge umbrella means it is easy to find much needed shade.
Back inside, and all three bedrooms are a good size, it is quite difficult to choose which one to use as the master! At one point there was six of us staying, and there is plenty of space for everyone to go and do their own thing. Excellent fans were provided in every bedroom, along with good sized towels and comfy bedding.
We were welcomed with wine and milk in the fridge, and an extra treat for our Silver Wedding, totally appreciated.
We did have a problem with wifi, and whilst it couldn't be resolved whilst we were there, Nicola and David who look after the property did everything they could to help. It is also clear that Gail listens to guests feedback and adds things to the property when the are suggested.
Watch where you sit if hazelnuts are in season, but when they do fall they are totally delicious!
I can't thank Gail enough, it was one of the best rentals we have had, and I am sure we will be back sooner rather than later.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view,the location, everything
Liked least: Nothing, it was amazing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical and fabulous”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Details of how to get to the property and how to get in were clear and emailed well before our holiday. Property is lovely. Everything you need for a self catering holiday. Information book explained all that we needed to know. The property is wonderfully situated at the foot of Le Cite and close to the lower town. We arrived by train and it is an easy 20 minute walk to the station. The Carcassonne Festival was on during our stay and we could hear the bands really well! We liked the ease of getting around and the setting. There wasn't anything we liked the least.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allybest
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a fantastic 3 day break at Rue Longue, only down side was that I didn't stay longer. So much to see and do and all on your doorstep. The house is so beautiful and I found that as nice as the photos were it still didn't do it justice, Gail the owner has thought of every last thing that you could possibly need it really was a luxurious stay. Nicola who manages the property is fluent in English and French and it was a real comfort to know that she was on hand. The house is spotless, large, bright and airy, it really was one of the nicest places I have stayed in and hope to return to.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing