We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and very comfortable apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
A relaxing nights sleep awaits the weary explorer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A relaxing nights sleep awaits the weary explorer
The comfortable sofa can double as a bed A fully fitted kitchen complements the old beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
A relaxing nights sleep awaits the weary explorer
The comfortable sofa can double as a bed
A fully fitted kitchen complements the old beams
If you look up you think you could almost touch the castle ramparts
If you tire of eating out you can always eat in your own restaurant
The views are just as impressive from the castle.
Give your feet a rest, with a trip along the canal du Midi.
Carcassonne market, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.
Seeing a concert within the castle walls can be the highlight of a trip
Circulade villages were built around a castle, this one is close to Carcassonne
The Donjon or keep is at the centre of the castle walls
The autumn colours of the vines are spectacular
Puivert castle is one of many in the surrounding area
One of many festivals is Limoux carnival
Montsegur is a Cathar castle and well worth the climb, especially in winter
The firework display on Bastile day is world renowned
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location and very comfortable apartment”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had 4 nights here in November and would highly recommend this apartment. It has everything you need for your stay in Carcassonne. The location is amazing, right below the ramparts between the Citadel and the Bastide. You can walk to the Citadel up the ancient cobbled street to the Porte d'Aude in less than 10 minutes. Alternatively, there is a slightly longer but less steep walk to the Porte Narbonnaise. The Bastide is very easily accessible across the Vieux Pont. The apartment is in a very quiet street but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. You absolutely do not need to go into the town to eat at night (special mention to Le Passage, local, cheap, cheerful and excellent). We were in a car and found plenty of free parking nearby. The apartment has a very comfortable bed, excellent shower, well equipped modern kitchen and comfortable sitting room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thank you and I hope your wife's knee gets better soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carcassonne
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6Carol
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and friendly service”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in October and this apartment has an excellent location in a quiet little street with a 10 min walk to the Cite and a pleasant 15 min walk over the picturesque old bridge into the Bastide Town. Inga the owner picked us up from the airport and drove us back on our return, she is a friendly and very generous host with plenty of advice about the area.
The apartment is very well equipped with everything you need and is comfortable and clean. There are two handy small shops in the adjoining road to get the essentials like fresh bread and milk.
We ate out every night, alternating between restaurants in the Cite and the Town but if you don't feel like walking far there are some good cafes and restaurants in Rue Trivalle, just a short walk from the front door.
The area has plenty to keep you occupied - the Medieval Cite and the Canal du Midi for cycling, walking and boat trips. There are also some lovely walks along the river, all close to the apartment. The Bastide Town is very interesting too with a thrice weekly market which is well worth visiting. We also took the train to Narbonne for a day, another interesting town to visit.
Carcassonne is a great destination and the Renoir apartment is in the perfect location to make the best of the old and new towns.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V
Dover, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Renoir was inspiring!”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Renoir for the month of August. Waking up in the morning and seeing the Cite up above us was inspiring, and we enjoyed imagining what life there would have been like in the Middle Ages. No matter how many times we walked up to the Cite to explore the different pedestrian lanes we never tired of the beauty. Sitting in one of the Cite's squares enjoying a coffee or meal was relaxing. The Renoir's location is equidistant to the Cite or to the modern city going the other direction. The open market in Place Carnot three mornings a week is wonderful! The art museum is fabulous and free as well. Since we didn't have a car, we took trains occasionally and enjoyed nearby cities. Narbonne is stunning, and a boat ride on the canal is relaxing. Well, I could ramble on for a long time, but I should not take too much time. The highlight of our visit was the kind generosity of the owner Inga! She truly made us feel at home from the moment we arrived at the train station and even waited for our late train. Whisking us off to a supberb supermarket that we still dream about and then about town to orient us before arriving at the Renoir. The apt. was perfect: the bed very comfortable, the shower excellent, a nice sofa to relax on with excellent lighting should you like to read. We would not hesitate to highly recommend the Renoir and are looking forward to our return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2015
We love it when guests find the Cite and town of Carcassonne as wonderful as we do and we aim to make all our guests feel welcome from the moment they book till they leave and beyond. We strive to make our properties comfortable and provide all that our guests could want during their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Cai...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my teenage son for a short break (made shorter by French Air Traffic Controllers! We were welcomed at the airport and supported very well by Mick, the owner, who gave us great advice on places to visit. The apartment had everything we could have needed and was well maintained. The bed and bed settee were both comfortable and electrical equipment in excellent condition. Carcassonne was fantastic. The sun shone for us and we enjoyed frequent visits to the Cite, which is so close, we could go up for a coffee or glass of wine and take in the sights at different times of the day and night. The Bastide Town gives a real flavour of France and we also enjoyed a trip along the Canal. We have returned with great memories and fantastic photos to keep those memories going. Be warned though, the walk up to the Cite is fairly steep and along cobbled streets, which might be an issue if you have problems with independent mobility (all the more reason to stop frequently and take in the views!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This property was well appointed with everything we needed
Liked least: An outside area would have been a bonus, but there are plenty of bars and cafes close by
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah l
chester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed here for a week with my husband and baby daughter. Location could not be better; midway between the old city and the town centre (about 10-15 mins walk to each) and plenty of restaurants just round the corner. Friendly owner picked us up at the airport and made us feel very welcome. The apartment is well-equipped; we cooked dinner each evening and had everything we needed in the kitchen. The free WIFI worked well. If we return to Carcassonne we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing