We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal accommodation for exploring the Languedoc...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon F
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal accommodation for exploring the Languedoc region or enjoying a relaxed time by the pool”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was out third trip to La Maison Des Vignes in six years, which says it all really! This time we stayed in Gite Coquelicot, which provided perfect accommodation for four adults, two teenagers and a toddler. The Gite was well-presented, clean, spacious and well-equipped to cope with the range of ages. The veranda over looking the pool offered a perfect spot to enjoy meals in the pleasant evening sun as well. The location was an ideal starting-point to explore the local area, whether visiting the picturesque village of Minerve or experiencing the hustle and bustle of La Cité. Alternatively, there was plenty of space around the pool to soak up the sun and/or catch up on those unread books, while the pool itself was big enough to cope with plenty of bodies. Thus, we would highly recommend this as a place to enjoy a relaxing break by the pool or explore the local region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack_and...
North Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab gite-lovely area-everything we wanted”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our gite (La Lavande) was really lovely. It had everything we needed and some really good touches-the picnic set and use of bikes was really great. The pool was beautiful-and kept very nicely. The village was very sleepy-which was fine by us- but the surrounding area had a good selection of places to go and things to do-plus some good restaurants for a family traveling with teenagers. Overall a great place-and I would recommend La Maison Des Vignes to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and quality of gite contents
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine B
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Both location and gite exceeded expectations”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This holiday was just perfect... South West France, an area of France new to us was just an hour away by plane, but the difference couldn't have been greater - both in terms of climate and culture.

The weather was glorious and the village charming and rural giving us a glimpse of real French life.

A perfect base from which to explore some stunning sites - Carcassonne, although very touristy is a must, but also Minerve, the Caves and a relaxing trip down the Canal du Midi amongst many others.

Plenty for those that enjoy walking and cycling in the area and the Gite had bikes that could be used.

The Gite itself was perfectly laid out for a sociable stay and fully equipped so we wanted for nothing. The private courtyard of Gite Olivier was tranquil and beautiful and perfect for early evening relaxing before dinner. Also, with a separate entrance, we felt we were truly at home.

The owners were extremely helpful both prior to our visit with directions but also during our stay.

This area of France is beautiful and for those who love good wine and food a must!

It was a culture shock to find that the local garage (5 mins away in the car) had the best Butcher in the area and an excellent range of products including local wines, fruit and vegetables.

We have all fallen in love with this area of France and are already planning a return.

Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keister20...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An excellent gite to explore this great part of France from”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just come back from an excellent 2 weeks staying at LMDV. Jonathan and Suzanna were excellent hosts and gave lots of tips and suggestions to help make the most of our stay.

Highlights:
Easy local cycle routes (our 4 year old managed 2 from the gite, but older children could do more) through the local countryside & vines.
Canal du Midi (cycle/walk eat)
Swimming and rock pooling at the local river (not to be missed)
Golden beaches
Zip wire (a little further afield)
Great (heated) pool
Local wines
Generous hosts (my husband mentioned he'd not found a local red wine he liked and Jonathan popped one up to him!)

We would have loved to visit Narbonne Cathedral, local world heritage village (3K away), tasting at the vineyards, Carcassonne, but time ran away with us. We could have easily stayed for another week.

The only slight downside was the lack of air conditioning. There are no lack of fans though (the kids had 3 trained on them, we had 2), but after a heat wave and with some very high temperatures, the gite did get warm upstairs. Would that put me off going to stay there again? No (hence I still say LMDV is excellent). The area has so much to offer, the hot weather meant the kids were in and out of the pool without complaint, the gites were clean and well appointed and Jonathan and Suzanna made us so welcome that it was a small downside and everything else made up for it.

We travelled with another family and we had the Coquelicot gite & they had Lavande. These two gites are together in one area and were ideal for 2 families travelling together, but wanting their own space.

Gite Olivier is in its' own area separated by the pool and so we didn't feel that our early start with young children was impacting on anyone else staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Southern French relaxation par excellence!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a wonderful week in Gite Coquelicot, a very spacious, clean and well equipped gite, ideal for our family's needs. We really enjoyed our meals on the deck overlooking the swimming pool and spent many happy hours in and around the pool. It was also a great base for touring the local area around Narbonne and Carcassonne, as well as trips a little further afield, to places such as Montpellier and Setes. Jonathan and Suzanna are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and helpful with excellent local knowledge. We loved our stay and hope to return again soon! We would highly recommend La Maison des Vignes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation - tasteful, clean and well-equipped.
Liked least: The drive to the South!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
801nicola...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful delight”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for two weeks. The Gite was lovely in that it had its own courtyard and an annexe which was wonderful as our sons were able to be as messy as they liked. We enjoyed the peaceful setting and had many lovely family meals sitting outside in the evenings. The location was perfect for trips to Carcausanne, the lakes and beaches and the little village of a Homps nearby meant eating out in the evenings didn't mean we had to drive for miles. However the best thing about La maison Des Vignes was Jonathan and Suzannah who were truly lovely. We will miss our Sunday night drinks with them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnonG_12
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great gite”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here as a family of 4 with our 2 young boys. We were in Gite Coquelicot which had a fantastic raised terrace area over looking the pool. Stair gates were up which made it safe for our youngest, and Jonathan was very patient with the boys watching him service the pool each morning! It felt very private and it was a very quiet and restful place to be. The gite was in very good condition and we had all we needed - there was even plastic crockery (I think meant for picnics or poolside!) which was very useful for the children. The pool was heated and a lovely temperature for a dip and there was a great treasure trove in the shed of things to play with in the pool to help yourself to. We didn't use the bicycles but there were plenty of all sizes to borrow which would be great for older children. It was also nice being in the village as there was a shop open for breakfast croissants and it was a very quiet spot. The area of France is rich in culture, heritage and wine and we would definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool - v clean and great temperature for the children with a small stepped area ideal for babies to sit in.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing