We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Southern French relaxation par excellence!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tony S
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern French relaxation par excellence!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a wonderful week in Gite Coquelicot, a very spacious, clean and well equipped gite, ideal for our family's needs. We really enjoyed our meals on the deck overlooking the swimming pool and spent many happy hours in and around the pool. It was also a great base for touring the local area around Narbonne and Carcassonne, as well as trips a little further afield, to places such as Montpellier and Setes. Jonathan and Suzanna are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and helpful with excellent local knowledge. We loved our stay and hope to return again soon! We would highly recommend La Maison des Vignes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation - tasteful, clean and well-equipped.
Liked least: The drive to the South!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
801nicola...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful delight”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for two weeks. The Gite was lovely in that it had its own courtyard and an annexe which was wonderful as our sons were able to be as messy as they liked. We enjoyed the peaceful setting and had many lovely family meals sitting outside in the evenings. The location was perfect for trips to Carcausanne, the lakes and beaches and the little village of a Homps nearby meant eating out in the evenings didn't mean we had to drive for miles. However the best thing about La maison Des Vignes was Jonathan and Suzannah who were truly lovely. We will miss our Sunday night drinks with them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnonG_12
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great gite”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here as a family of 4 with our 2 young boys. We were in Gite Coquelicot which had a fantastic raised terrace area over looking the pool. Stair gates were up which made it safe for our youngest, and Jonathan was very patient with the boys watching him service the pool each morning! It felt very private and it was a very quiet and restful place to be. The gite was in very good condition and we had all we needed - there was even plastic crockery (I think meant for picnics or poolside!) which was very useful for the children. The pool was heated and a lovely temperature for a dip and there was a great treasure trove in the shed of things to play with in the pool to help yourself to. We didn't use the bicycles but there were plenty of all sizes to borrow which would be great for older children. It was also nice being in the village as there was a shop open for breakfast croissants and it was a very quiet spot. The area of France is rich in culture, heritage and wine and we would definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool - v clean and great temperature for the children with a small stepped area ideal for babies to sit in.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran L
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful gite, quiet location, authentic rural France”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family (2 adults, 3 children aged 9,8,4) had the pleasure of staying in Gite Lavande for one week in July. The gite was very clean, immaculately presented and contained everything that you could need. The kitchen had just been newly installed and everything worked perfectly. The pool was fabulous with a wonderful relaxation area and the pool house contained lots of items you could use e.g. bikes, buckets and spades for beach etc. From the gite we did various day trips: Carcassonne (World heritage site-40 mins away), Narbonne beach (45 mins) which was beautiful, river swimming like the locals do (recommended by Jonathan) which our boys absolutely loved and Minerve (local village, very quaint and beautiful). The local supermarket (5 mins drive) was well stocked with a great selection of fish, meat, cheese, wine etc. Jonathan and Suzanna were very helpful and hosted an informal welcome soiree where we got to taste local foods and wine. We would definitely recommend this gite for a relaxing family holiday or for extended families/groups booking several of the gites. The Lloyd family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate condition of gite including kicthen, bedding, bathrooms.
Liked least: No air conditioning and it was very hot. Fans were provided but were of little use.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegburg, Germany
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing to comment about
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nteeman
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setup - thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jonathan and Suzanna have a really lovely setup in a picture perfect small village. We stayed in the larger Gite Olivier. The gite was decorated to a high standard and the kitchen is equipped with everything you need to take advantage of the local produce and sit outside in the wonderful private courtyard.

A very relaxing holiday. We will be back....

Thank you

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustywind...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the region”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable gite in a small village in the heart of Languedoc-Roussilon. Perfect for access to the Narbonne and the beaches of the Mediterranean as well as the Canal Du Midi and the Cathar Castles.
Highlight of the property is the pool which is heated and kept spotlessly clean by the owner and his robot assistant.
The gite itself is simply but elegantly finished and immaculately clean. We made extensive use of the Weber gas barbecue to cook meat and fish from local markets.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing