We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and relaxing just perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
hannah059
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely and relaxing just perfect”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a week with three young children ranging from 9 years - 18 mths, the gite was well equipped, pool beautifully clean and warm, beds were amazingly comfortable, grounds well kept and the surrounding area was great for exploring. We had a great week, local wine in the village was spectacular. The Med only 45 minutes away by car, great cycling lovely family times. All in all great week.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millymigg...
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely gites in a wonderful part of France”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is the forth time we have stayed in these gites. From the moment you arrive you relax.Everything you need is here.The gites are spacious ,clean and well presented with a lovely pool and in a quiet village.Set in wonderful countryside you can explore other villages,or visit the larger historic towns.This part of France for us is magical.Jonathan and Susanna the owners are on hand if you need them,nothing is too much trouble.We absolutely love staying here,and can honestly say having stayed in several places in the surrounding area,some more expensive, these are far the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the whole stay is relaxing and totally hassle free
Liked least: nothing at all!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base in a beautiful part of France”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in Gite Olivier for two weeks in July and had a great holiday. The Gite was spacious and private with all mod cons given a restored farm building with plenty of character. There was lots to see, do and visit within an hours drive of the village and lots of opportunity to sample the laid back lifestyle in the south of France. The Gite owner managers jonathan and Suzanne were a great help with advice and recommendations but discreet too. We had a great evening at the local village fete starting with cocktails for the adults courtesy of jonathan and Suzanne! We enjoyed the company of the other families staying and our kids got on well together. That said we had the pool to ourselves on plenty of occasions - a real treat after a hot day out seeing the local sights. We would recommend this place for a family with kids who like a combination of time relaxing in the sun round the pool and getting out and exploring Southern France. There is also the added bonus of helpful Gite owners to get the most from your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Unseasonal thunderstorms!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars B
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gite, location and service, all was perfect”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our 3rd stop for 3 weeks in the south of france, and my whole family agrees this was the best place. We selected this place from the web, out of hundreds of possibilities, and it was a bullseye ;-) The Gite was spacious, clean, nice design, new kitchen with all we needed, an expresso machine (thats was so nice, after 2 weeks of filter coffee). It had a backpack picnic basket, which was so nice. The terrace and pool area, was so neat, and you really had a paradise, and forgot you were in the middle of the city. But being in the city and being able to walk to small shop in 2 minutes, buying croissants, milk and food was so nice. The bikes were in super condition, enabling us to bike quite far, with helmets for everybody.
The location, was perfect, only we found out one week was not enough, there were so many things to see and experience. By far the most interesting areas of our journey.
You have an welcome folder, which literally tells you everything, and that was very helpful.
We are normally not so social, and like to keep to ourselves, but Jonathan and Suzanne made an introduction evening on sunday, so we came to know the 2 other families in the other Gites. That was very nice and enable us to enjoy the others company the rest of the week. When we liked to be private, the terrace was perfect.
Jonathan was very friendly and gave us lots of help and inputs what to do. We were invited to the city festival on Bastille day, he gave us tips for fireworks in Carcassonne, restaurants, bike routes etc etc. He really mad our holiday so much better.
A big thanks from Denmark and we hope to come back again.
We would recommend this Gite to everybody, families, couples. It is so nice ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Gite and Jonathans recommendations
Liked least: we only had one week
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diiplo11
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting but Needs Some Attention”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I can imagine that a family with children would especially find that these “gites” fit the bill. The location is right in the center of town and near the soon-to-be-enlarged village store, there is a well maintained pool around which all the gites are centered, and the owner is amiable and available. For our purposes, however, we found the setup to be not quite private enough, as the deck was readily visible to other visitors, and the noise from the pool was sometimes quite loud. The architect did very good work in creating attractive spaces, except that our gite didn’t have even one window and had no air conditioning, so our only source of outside air at night derived from leaving our doors open. In addition, there were spider webs on the ceiling and in the corners, and a more thorough cleaning job would have been appreciated. The bathroom was modern with a huge tub and a wonderful spa shower. The kitchen was attractive and convenient, although we could have used a few more kinds of dishes and bowls. How nice it would have been, too, to have a mirror near the only bedroom outlet. A little more attention to detail would elevate this property to the special small village experience in a very comfortable setting that it has the potential to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueH56201...
Chandler's Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful............!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We have spent many a holiday in the South of France but this was, by far, the nicest location and the best accommodation we have stayed in. We researched many Gites and apartments prior to deciding on this one but we got the feeling as soon as we read the description of this Gite that we were onto a winner! The accommodation was first class - comfortable, clean and extremely well equipped. The constant hot water was a real bonus! The Gite had a folder which was crammed full of local knowledge and a well stocked book shelf. Although we did not watch the television much there were all the usual English channels and a DVD player.
The pool and the grounds were a delight and were very well maintained.
Jonathan and Suzanna were excellent hosts and we were invited to join them on two occasions when we were treated to local wine and produce - an opportunity to get to know each other in addition to the other guests. Their customer service was exemplary and all delivered with a sense of humour!
The location is ideal for walking and cycling and we were able to use the bikes from the Gite. The area is beautiful with many places to visit either for the day or just for a few hours before returning to the pool! An ideal location to chill out and slow the pace down.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would have no reservations in recommending this property to family and friends. We very much hope to return at some point in the future.
Sue, Nigel, Celia and Keith ( who loved the little yellow train!)

Date of Stay – 8 June 2013 for 2 weeks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TT I
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Experience real French village”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed in Gite Olivier in May with frIends, quaint peaceful French village, Jonathan was great very welcoming, extremely knowledgeable, we had great fun at the welcome evening, lots of local wines. Gite was great all the mod cons you could wish for. Must see: river cruise down canal du midi, old town of Carcasone, Minerve not to be missed, we also visited Collioure fabulous French seaside town and Montpellier. Overall would rate this very highly for a self catering holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside area very pretty
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing