We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happiness”
other travelers have booked this property
the view from the lounge window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the view from the lounge window
A comfortable nights sleep awaits after all your exploring The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
the view from the lounge window
A comfortable nights sleep awaits after all your exploring
The lounge
the kitchen
the lounge
The bathroom has a constant supply of hot water
Round the corner from the apartment and you feel like you have stepped back in time.
Colourful local markets are held in many nearby towns as well as Carcassonne (3 times a week)
The surrounding countryside is a painters paradise, or perhaps just somewhere for a leasurely walk.
Seeing a concert within the Castle can be a highlight of a trip
Circulade villages were built around a castle, this one is near Carcassonne
The Donjon or keep is at the centre of the Castle walls
Take a leisurly boat trip on the Canal du Midi
The autumn colours of the vines are a sight to see
One of the many festivals is Limoux carnival
The firework display on Bastille day is amazing, book early for this one.
At the local markets, the selection of produce can be overwhelming
Puivert castle is one of many in the surrounding area
Montsegur is a Cathar castle and well worth the climb, especially in winter
The medieval bridge links the Cite and the main town crossing the river Aude
Place Carnot becomes a skating rink and Christmas market in December
The river is just at the end of the road, why not dip your feet and relax
The park at the end of the road is between the river and the Cite walls
There are bars and restaurants for all tastes in the Cite
Place Carnot, in the main town, has a market on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays
The facade of the apartments as seen for the Cite
The apartments are just below the Cite walls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ruby707
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happiness”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this apartment for 5 nights in August and it was thoroughly enjoyable. It is a very cute apartment with a great kitchen and is very clean, organised and comfortable. It is located in a perfect spot -- so close to the citadel and also to the bastide. My son walked over the old bridge (Pont Vieux) every morning to attend his french language course and it could not have been more enchanting. Thanks to Inga for her warmth, availability and friendliness. Hope we can come back and stay next summer! Carcassonne is magnificent! And the view from the apartment simply spectacular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Maybe more space for putting away clothing (we were in four) .
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbasket
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Setting”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Carcassonne in October is lovely and we enjoyed staying in the Monet apartment for several days. We truly appreciated having a real, functional kitchen since we wanted to try food from the farmers' market and local shops and make our own breakfasts. There is that French fantasy about skipping around the corner for fresh bread or croissants every day. The washing machine worked!

Inga picked us up from the airport and after our visit took us to the train station. While driving, she gave us a good initial tour of the neighborhood. She is a very responsive inn keeper and helped in a variety of ways. We enjoyed the location of the apartment very much. The third story ( American ) flat was comfortable and roomy and QUIET. We did not have a car, so living on Rue de la Gaffe was perfect. We could be anywhere in 15 minutes.

The steps up were not a problem for us. If mobility or apartment size is a problem, Inge and her husband own the other two flats in the building, so just ask and find something that fits your needs.
The setting was wonderful. The Cite views are stunning and are even better at night. You can walk to the old town or new town in minutes. Restaurant 37 is a couple of blocks away.
There is a tiny shop around the corner for eggs and fresh croissants every morning, the proprietor is very kind about mangled French and hand signals.

A Da Vinci Code type of book was written about Carcassonne and the doomed Cathars- it is Labyrinth by Susan Mosse. Rue de la Gaffe is mentioned several times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, inn keeper
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Ayr
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic beauty”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Inga collected us from the airport and gave useful information on the way. Great service. Apartment was very well equipped, bed and pillows very comfortable. Location was ideal. Although we did not have any problems we felt that Inga would respond immediately. The old city was almost Disney like but be prepared to pay £15 + a head for meals, cheapest lager was 5.8 Euros. Carcassonne is a bit crumbly at the edges but to me that is what appeals. We would definately go back but cook more in the apartment, supermarket prices very good for wine etc, and then enjoy the town later over a drink. You would do very well to book the Monet Apartments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view at night to the castle
Liked least: Bit dearer than expected
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Our aim is to make sure our guests feel welcome and comfortable and enjoy their stay in Carcassonne. We like to meet our guests as much as possible and offer a more personal touch and help out where we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthieBet...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An incredible place to stay.”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The very best thing about this apartment is the fantastic location, right at the base of the cite and easy walking distance to the modern town as well. Feeling the chateau towering above you gives the holiday a special feel. Next best, inside the apartment, the bed and the shower are both really great, so the essentials are well covered. A lovely bottle of Blanquette de Limoux and chocolates waiting for us when we arrived were a sweet touch. After that, we found the apartment needed some TLC - maybe because it's the end of the season, but some things were a bit down at heel and annoying. The kitchen floor tiles urgently need relaying as they tilted when you walk on them and the grouting was popping out, which led to some hopping about when we stood on it. The shelf attached to the bathroom mirror was broken so everything had to be dumped on the floor or ferried through from the bedroom. There's no wardrobe, just some hooks, and only 5 coat hangers for both of us so we had to buy some more from the supermarket. Overall, the flat was clean but the dishwashing brush was yucky grey and grungy, it's the first time I've ever had to buy my own pan scrubber at a holiday home. There was no sign of an iron, and no response to my phone message asking about it. Unlike an earlier reviewer, we found the sofa uncomfortable, unless you lie right back on it you feel like you're sliding off as it sags at the front. For my husband, the worst thing was the sloping ceiling - I hadn't quite realised from the photos how low it was. He's 5' 10" and couldn't really walk beyond the beam across the middle of the living room without bending down, and he found it quite oppressive. I think this apartment is an excellent base, it couldn't be in a better position, and I don't mind somewhere that's basic as long as it gets the main things right, but it needs some attention to make it really comfortable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
We appreciate the feedback, particularly from returning guests, which is why we had left the blanquette and chocolates for them. The mirror shelf was broken during cleaning and has been replaced. The apartment has been running for 5 years since full refurbishment and maintenance is scheduled for this winter, after which we will post new photos.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineNomin...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Only a few minutes walk from the old city and local shops and restaurants, the perfect location for a visit to Carcassonne. Unbelievable view from the window, a quiet and friendly neighbourhood. Facilities good and a friendly and helpful owner.

Note (although we didn't have an issue with either of these facts), stairs are quite narrow and steep, could be difficult to access if your mobility is poor, satalite TV wasn't working and reception of Frenvh TV rather poor, the owner informed us there was a problem and offered a selection of DVDs if we wanted them. Decent broadband meant we could watch TV on an iPad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
We always strive to make sure our guests are happy with the accommodation and facilities we provide, however the reason why no UK tv is available at the moment is due to the fact that our dish cannot pick up the signal from the satelite in space. This is beyond our control. We offer our guests DVD's if they wish at any time during their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the Cite'”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned home after a wonderful two weeks in Carcasonne . We chose Monet apartment because of its location and facilities on offer ,we were also very much influenced by the good reviews of previous guests. Whilst I have to agree that the location is excellent and the views are wonderful from the lounge window, as has been mentioned previously it is necessary to get down to floor level to see them. The furnishings were comfortable enough and we had everything we needed. The bedroom is fairly small with no wardrobe, only hooks to hang clothes from., but the bed was comfortable. The apartment gets very warm on hot days but opening the windows and using the fans provided helped a lot. SATELLITE TV is advertised as a facility but is not available as stated. Apparently there is a general problem with the Satellite beyond the owners control and has not been able to be resolved for some time. However we do feel that we should have been advised of this when booking.Inga, the owner did bring us a selection od DVDs to compensate. All other places we have stayed have supplied a change of bedding and towels for the second week but not on this occasion. This was not a real problem as there is a washer/ dryer therefore we were able to do our own laundry. Other reviews indicate that most people don't stay that long. On a positive note, living in a bungalow as we do, we found climbing the 30 odd steps to the apartment several times a day got much easier by the end of our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenandJ...
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What can I say?? Perfection!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

On our arrival at Carcassone Airport Inga was waiting for us, she is amazing. She took us to our apartment for the week which was absolutely perfect. The view alone is worth the trip! Nothing was too much trouble. My sister had contacted Inga as it was mine and my husbands honeymoon, she asked Inga if she would be able to sort out a hamper as a gift and Inga did this which I think is above and beyond great customer service. There is everything you would need in the apartment and its location is fantastic! In 5 minutes you are either in the Medieval Cite or in the town centre!
We would definitely recommend this apartment and would like to stay again sometime in the future! Perfect for a romantic getaway or a place to escape to and loose yourself in the history.

Thank you for our perfect Honeymoon :)

Karen & Jim xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view!
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Whether a quick break or something special - we like to make our guests feel special and very happy to help make their trip to Carcassonne and their stay with us memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing