We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short scenic walk from the fortified city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping De La Cite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping De La Cite
Ostersund, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A short scenic walk from the fortified city”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My boyfriend convinced me to stay at this campground because of the nice walk you get, and it was well worth it. Took about 15 min to get to the fortified city and you got to see the caste in all it's glory the whole way there. Amenities are good, spacious spots for camping and the cleanliness alright. Bare in mind they don't supply toilet paper in the toilets. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    72
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
46
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at this camping in September. Well situated within easy walking distance of la cite which is a beautiful walled city well worth a visit. Supermarkets etc 5 mins away. Camping clean and good sized private pitches.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c
Level Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not a bad camping in general, but the most expensive I have ever stayed.
I suppose this is because there is no competition in the area, so they know they are riding on a sure bet.
The staff were not amazing either.
I have stayed in much better or much cheaper campsites in France.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seasonedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very good wash blocks. Tall, thick hedges between caravan pitches - if you like that sort of thing - we prefer a more informal open feel to a site.

We had polarity problems with the electric hook-up to the caravan - the red warning light came on. Reception and management not very helpful about this, but confirmed other UK caravans often have the same problem. We do not normally have this problem at French or UK sites.

We stayed in mid-Sept, but seemed to be paying high season prices even though the bus to the Cite was no loner running and some camp site facilities were only open in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RALPH1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our first stop while on our cycling trip and we thoroughly enjoyed it. In a great location so close to the old city and a short cycle from the train station. It seemed very well organised and we set out. We were sited down by the trees in the communal camping site. Lovely and quiet apart from the noisy swans and ducks on the adjoining canal. There was a new tall fence all around for security. With many sites in France the toilet block was open above so it being single sex made very little difference as all noise was transferred around with a mix of toilet/shower/vanity all in one area. It was clean and well maintained. Very impressed with the recycling area which was spotless and good to see individual bins for types of waste. We heard some evening entertainment which was very good quality and it ended around 11pm (excellent) There was a restaurant with bbq which smelt fantastic.

All in all an lovely basic site perfert for our short stay. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasingmytail2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Terrible campsite.

Filthy toilets and only 3 toilet, wash shower cubicles for hundreds of people per toilet block, you have to wait with dirty germs on your hands for another of only 3 cubicles which were always very busy and occupied to be able to wash your hands.

Very noisy campsite with the bar generating noisy karaoke outside until after midnight.

Swimming pool is tiny and would accommodate about 15 people at the most.

When we asked for a pitch without electricity it was added to the bill anyway. When we queried it the staff made up incomprehencible excuses as to why the bill had been manipulated to our benefit (we are still unable to work this one out).

Stayed all over France and this claims to be municipal though cost 40 euros for pitch when other municipal charge typically 15.

This site is the worst municipal campsite in France!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank niceperson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Camping La Cite is brilliantly located being just 15-20 mins stroll along the river from the ancient city of Carcossonne. The pitches are very spacious with plenty of shade. The shower/toilet blocks are immaculately clean. There's a good sized swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds which is situated right next to the bar/cafe that has a decent range of food & drinks at reasonable prices. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this campsite

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssomeinre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#16 of 39 in Carcassonne
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
381 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping De La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping De La Cite

Property: Camping De La Cite
Address: route de Saint Hilaire, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Camping De La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing