We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Montmorency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montmorency
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
leicetershire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Transferred here for two nights after previous hotel was too far out from the cite for me. You check in at the chateau hotel it's sister 4 star - montmorency is three. Check in efficient no assistance with suitcase down some steps and across the road. The hotel is accessed via a code and is just a building with accommodation although guests are able to use facilities at the chateau. The room size was adequate I paid for a larger room so would think standard would be very small. Decor hot pink mainly with some strange wallpaper. I had a terrace outside but very overlooked plus the weather was inclement. The bathroom was a good size I felt it was an adapted room because of position of washbasin and other modifications. The shower was good, and there were plenty of towels. My room was quiet considering its a stones throw from the cite. You cannot beat the hotel on location if you want to be in proximity to the cite and carcassonne which is easily walkable unless you have mobility problems. I did miss not having a restaurant and bar on site but that's personal preference.

Room Tip: Ask for larger than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitorLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    345
    104
    36
    12
See reviews for
142
458
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My daughters and I had a wonderful visit at this hotel. We had a room with a view of the old city. Our terrace opened onto a pretty little yard. We enjoyed the pool and were satisfied with the breakfast. The employees were very kind and helpful. My children loved the old dogs that hang out in the lobby and at breakfast! I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet the hotel was. The hot pink and black colors in the room was a bit out of place.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a view of the old city -- it was a great room. We essentially had two te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Did not feel separate from the main hotel, as we had access to all the facilities. Room was very comfortable, with its own patio at the back. Very clean and had everything we needed including pool towels. Breakfast was good, made with local produce. We used the bar in the evening on the terrace, and the local wine was extremely reasonably priced and good. The hotels resident dogs and cat joined guests whilst sitting out which was really nice.
Loved the pool and plenty of loungers. The only niggle I had was that the jacuzzi was used as a child's pool by the guests, which is OK if you have children, but not if you are staying as a couple. Not the hotels fault at all, but not everyone finds other peoples children endearing!
The location was at the foot of the walls of the mediaeval city, so perfect for sightseeing, and good size car park if you have a car.
Will definitely return in the near future. Thank you for an excellent stay and great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrymilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really liked the hotel. It was perfectly located for the cité, the staff were very friendly and we loved the breakfast, especially the emphasis on local products. We were two families and we fitted comfortably in the large apartment with beds to spare. It was missing a second bathroom ... and a fridge. Apart from that everything was perfect.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel was brilliantly located! The pool, although not that big, was great for the children to cool off in after doing some sight-seeing. We had the family villa which was over 2 floors - unfortunately the stairs had no handrail. Not ideal for young children, disabled, or older guests. There was also just one bathroom which is a bit restricting if more than one family stayed there - especially as the shower wall was made of glass bricks, which formed part of the hall corridor! We loved the space though, and the option of eating outside in a private area was also great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked family suite for 4, and were upgraded. The 'suite' we stayed in had 4 bedrooms, perfect for a large family or 2 families sharing. 3 of the rooms had king sized beds, one had 2 single beds. All rooms were lovely, the beds were extremely comfortable. Lovely bathroom, especially the shower. Large living room downstairs, with French Windows opening onto a deck with large table and chairs. Free wi-fi throughout.

Really nice breakfast at sister hotel, Hotel du Chateau.

The location is excellent. Right outside the city walls of the Cite. We were back and forth between hotel and Cite several times, it is that close.

We only stayed one night, we were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable hotel in an excellent location right near the main entrance to the medieval city. I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Carcassonne. We stayed in a suite with a king size bed and a single bed for our 14 yer old daughter with a nice out door deck and sitting area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cameron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmorency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmorency

Property: Hotel Montmorency
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmorency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montmorency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montmorency Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing