We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEAT BUT NOT GAUDY - VERY GOOD VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“NEAT BUT NOT GAUDY - VERY GOOD VALUE”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The availability of a cheap flight from Bournemouth brought us to Carcassonne for a 4 day visit and a quick look at the various hotel sites on the internet gave us this Etap hotel at a really good rate - (there is another Etap Hotel in Carcassonne but not really convenient for the sights). The hotel is, like most Etap hotels, modern, clean and functional; our reception was welcoming, friendly and organised. The rooms are fairly basic with en suite loo and shower, wash hand basin, double bed and flat screen TV with the BBC news channel amongst the various French TV channels. Breakfast is available at a reasonable cost and free secure parking is availbale if travelling by car. For those arriving by air there is an excellent bus service from the airport to various points in the town and the buses run approximately 30 minutes after the flight arrival times - a return timetable is available from the driver.

This hotel is approximately 2.5kms to the East of the main modern town and although it is an easy walk into town, there is a good bus service to and from "Centre Ville" just 100m from the hotel itself at a cost of 1 euro - bus routes 2 and 10. There is a large supermarket and cafe/restaurant approximately 200 m from the hotel which we found useful. We also found a very pleasant and reasonably priced restaurant - La Rotonde - close to the railway station and the canal lock, as well as an interesting art gallery and museum in Centre Ville itself.

La Cite - the medieval old town - is approximately 800 from the hotel and a pleasant walk. La Cite is well worth a visit but it does get very busy even out of season and there is an amazing amount of tourist rubbish being sold there. The Chateau is well worth a visit at 8.50 euros but we found the restaurants disappointing and overpriced.

All in all we had a very pleasant 4 days despite the rain, however, after 2 days we felt that we had seen most of what there is to see and that it would probably be worth hiring a car to visit other local areas of interest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    363
    280
    103
    56
See reviews for
267
443
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

First time I stayed in an ETAP. Undoubtedly they are all the same. I was on a budget so price was of the essence. For what I wanted - a good night sleep before a flight - this was absoloutely fine. If I was staying for more than one night I would pick somewhere else - less utilitarian.

The main negative is the rooms which feel remarkably like hospital rooms. Nevertheless, the service was good, the rooms were clean and the 5E breakfast did the job. I would use them again if in the same situation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed at Etap Hotels before for one nighters and this one proved to be similar. The friendly English speaking receptionists were helpful, courteous and friendly. We thought the 4.95€ for a minimalist continental style buffet breakfast – just toast, 2 types cereal and pre packed cheese, jam, spread. No croissants – what in France - just baguettes but good coffee rather pricey so we bought produce locally at the huge supermarket two minutes drive/10 minutes walk down the road. The hotel is situated on the main road and the ancient city of Carcassonne is only a ten minute stroll away and well worth the walk. The centre of Carcassonne though is 2KM.
The free wi-fi in the room is good and the television had English news which was a bonus. The bed, although a little creaky, was firm and comfortable and the lighting perfect for old eyes. The shower is amazing with a disco light effect from the shower head and it really brightened up our mornings and the towels, although on the small size, are perfect “drying towels”. The air conditioning is effective.
The odd negatives though – we stayed in room 318 - are only a small open wall bar for hanging clothes and no drawer space – no problem for overnight but for longer stays it is a bit of a problem – we used our suitcase for shirts, etc. and stored it under the bed. The modular plastic bathrooms and doors creaked slightly in use and the sink is placed far away on the other side of the room from the bathrooms which has no loo brush. The only small corner shelf is just about adequate for a laptop and nothing else although the rooms at the back of the hotel have a better view and the room lay-out differs.
As we said earlier, as a good night’s sleep hotel, it is situated perfectly for taking in the sights and attractions of the area but don’t expect anything other than basic. But it is clean and comfortable. Would we stay again? Definitely, but only for a couple of nights and we will continue to use Etap Hotels in other places.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor at the back - better views and not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The staff here were so welcoming and the hotel had everything you would expect - perfect for a relaxing little break in the middle of a long walk I was doing. Great location for the Cite but a slightly longer walk into Carcassonne itself. Near to supermarkets. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC73Jainty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is 10 minutes maximum walking distance from La Cite. It is quiet and the staff are superb. They are very friendly and helpful.
The new style rooms are so much better than the old. The duvets are really warm and cosy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helendc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I would like to specially thank two members of staff, namely Nathalie and Yamina for being exceptionally kind and helpful. They made all efforts to help my mother, my friend and I to have an excellent experience in Carcassonne. They are a real asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had chosen this hotel as it was near to the mediaeval city and it was an excellent location. - 20 mins walk along main road. Ample closed parking at rear of hotel.Very helpful staff. Room was standard layout for etap chain.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
3.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne Aeroport
0.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite

Property: Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Address: 211 avenue du General Leclerc, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing