We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for medieval city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aragon
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Dorchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great choice for medieval city”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Aragon is situated 5 minutes from the medieval city and just a walk across the old bridge to the main city. The rooms are beautifully co-ordinated and the walls are lined with fabric that matches the curtains, furniture is in keeping with the décor. There is a swimming pool to relax after exploring Carcassonne, very welcome. The staff could not have been more helpful and overall contributed to the enjoyment of the Carcassonne experience. Definitely recommended for a 3-4 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    166
    49
    20
    9
See reviews for
79
185
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would have given this a rating of three and a half if that had been possible. As it isn't, I've erred towards giving it a rating of 4 rather than 3. The price is reasonable and the hotel has a great location, as long as you want to be near the cité and not the shops in the main town, or to have easy access to the railway station. The public areas are freshly decorated in Provencal yellow and the bedroom seemed to have been refurbished quite recently although the white walls would benefit from a bit of a touch up. The main thing, though, is that it was very clean. The bathroom was new and the power shower in particular was excellent. Unusually, it seems there is no satellite tv as there are no English speaking news channels. This doesn't bother me as I understand French but it is a bit annoying for a non-French speaker like my partner. I don't know when I was last in a hotel that didn't have this. The weather was too bad to use the pool so I can't comment on that, but it looked nice. We didn't take breakfast because cafes in the cité serve it for 5 euros compared to the 9 euros charged by the hotel, or there are crêpe and sandwich stalls just inside the cité gate. In better weather you would be able to buy croissants etc from the mini supermarket nearby (turn right out of the hotel then right again onto the main road then left) and have a picnic. Reception staff were polite. Overall, a perfectly acceptable hotel especially taking into account the sometimes rather dubious standards in France. More like a decent 2 star though. Perhaps it's the swimming pool that elevated this to 3 star status. But you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAL-ENCIENNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Amazing location for the price and we had a view of the medieval cite (which as 5 mins walk away)
Staff were adequate as was the room. On the small side but with great view and fantastic power shower. Would recommend this hotel for short stays 2-3 nights any longer and you might prefer somewhere with a lounge area or seats in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at The Aragon, if you are just there for Carcassonne, possible a night or two too many.
On arrival they put us into a room that we did not book, after pointing this out, they found us the correct room.
The room (212) was very comfortable with a lovely view of the pool and the Castle. The bed was excellent and the shower very powerful and exhilarating.
Breakfast was 9 euros and whilst plentiful, very boring after 4 of them. Why on earth could they not do some boiled eggs or something to make it more interesting.
Spotlessly clean and very helpful staff.
Literally 5 minutes from the main gate to Le Cite, 25 minutes walk to the Railway Station and Canal. Airport Shuttle drops off 5 minutes from the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing too much trouble for the staff and it is in a great location. Couple of minor problems - room was a bit noisy and we could hear a baby crying next door and the drains ponged a bit. Would stay here again in spite of that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A lovely friendly little hotel very near the gates to the old city. The room had a wonderful view and was clean and well decorated. Best powered shower I have ever had. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful in numerous ways, I hopefully get to go back and would highly recommend this to travellers to Carcassonne

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Practicenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aragon

Property: Hotel Aragon
Address: 15 Montee Gaston Combeleran, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aragon Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing