We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Digusting, unuasble bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Digusting, unuasble bathroom”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent a month on a family vacation throughout France. We stayed at 5 different Ibis hotels. They were all fine except this one. we arrived very late and had 2 children that were asleep. the girl at the front we fast and polite. We check intop two rooms. Now my bad for not checking the entire room before we put the kids in bed. We did notice a smell in the room but it was not until we opened the bathroom door that we realy smelled it. The entire bathroom had black mold seeping out of every wall in very large patches. The toilet had remnants splattered on the bowl. Serious health hazard. We immediately shut the door and did not use this bathroom. My kids were already in bed asleep and the rest of the room was acceptable. My mother room was fine so we left our dor shut and only used her bathroom during the stay. In the morning we talked to the gentleman in charge and explain the situation and ask for at least half off the price of the since it was only half usable. He just kept repeating we should have changed rooms last night. Yes, our fault for that but we did not want to wake sleepy grumpy kids. I descibed the room and he just denied without looking that there was and poblem with the room. He was very smug and even arrogant, very off putting in his manner. The best he could offer was one free breakfast (this on a buffet ). This cost the hotel nothing. We left just appalled at the indifference and acceptance of the filthy condition. To make us even more justified I thought I had forgotten something in the room and when I went back he had two people scrubbing the walls and ceilings of the bathroom. the exact ones he had just denied had a problem!! I do like Ibis hotel for the most part but be advised check your room before you commit.

Room Tip: Avoid this Ibis and always check rooms before committing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllHallowsEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We ask you first of all to excuse us for the present tracks of humidity in the bathroom of your room. We did not know about these infiltrations which showed themselves after heavy rain and after the cleaning of your room by the maintenance staff. But we have never denied the presence of these tracks and as soon as you informed us about it, we cleaned everything of course.
Within the framework of the commitment contract 15 of our hotel which Accor imposes us to respect in a very precise way at the risk of penalties during the follow-up visits, you had to indicate this problem in the evening of your arrival or the following morning to your awakening, but not to your check out. If you declare this problem upon your arrival, our team proposes you then another room; if the hotel is complete, your room is offered to you. If you declare this problem the following morning, we suggest you using the bathroom of another room; if the hotel is complete, your room is also offered to you.
Besides, before settling your stay, you informed us that you were able to use normally the bathroom of your second room.
We also wanted to specify you that we nevertheless presented you with a commercial gesture by offering you 3 breakfasts, what you had moreover estimated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    203
    121
    35
    10
See reviews for
113
233
23
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked a room for 2 for a weekend trip to Carcassonne. Even though the location of the hotel isn't ideal, the hotel itself looks nice and with a bus stop nearby, the medieval and modern city centre are both within reach. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was quite good (medium range of options, fresh and good quality). On our first night, it was raining heavily and we decided to stay inside and have dinner at the hotel restaurant. We didn't expect much, but the food was well-prepared, came in big portions, and was served with very nice bread and sausage. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The next day, we had a nice chat with another employee there and the morning of our departure, another woman at the desk was very helpful as well. A great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor_Emonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
The geographical situation of the hotel in the shopping district of Pech Mary brings the following advantages:
- Closeness of the Castle of Carcassonne, the highway exit "Carcassonne Est ", a bus stop and the businesses
- Quiet environment
- Big free and secure private parking lot which can welcome bus
When the customer is within our hotel, the shopping district is not visible. Indeed, it is hidden and fast forgotten thanks to our natural raised park which includes an olive tree, pines, laurels, palm trees and mulberry trees, contain of plants and flowers, a garden of loose stones, the vineyard as well as elements of decoration.
The menu of our restaurant open 7d / 7 and also welcoming the groups proposes besides the standards Ibis the culinary specialities of our region as the cassoulet of Castelnaudary, the fricassee of Limoux. The hotel also proposes to the restaurant and to the bar wines of the producers of the Aude, famous sparkling wine Blanquette of Limoux and some apéritifs of the area as Banyuls, Maury or Muscat. All this in an environment reminding the wine-making spirit of the South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontenay le Comte
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

few days ago we received a mail from this hotel anticipating our arrival and saying we would be very welcome. A first for us.
Our room is one for handicapped visitors and the bathroom is excellent. Not only a wet room but plenty of bars to hold on to. The one next to the toilet wobbles a bit.
Large comfortable bed.

We wasted a lot of time looking for the hotel. We saw one small well hidden double sign for Ibis but no time to stop and read the directions. Do not have sat nav so we used our car compass. Suggest more and larger signs would be useful. Other hotels have large clear directions and we are tempted to go to one of them in future.
The menu is varied and we enjoyed fish and chips for the first time in ages.
We don't take breakfast when we have an evening meal.

I am puzzled why I cannot do revues on certain hotels. I was even told once that not only the restaurant didn't exist but neither did vaison la romaine.
I feel I am encouraged only to revue more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Handicapped people need have no fear here. The best facilities yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valinvendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
When you reach our hotel by the highway exit "Carcassonne Est " (advised exit because the closest, at 5mns), a big advertising hoarding "Ibis hotel " indicating the direction to be taken is situated by the roadside. We remind you that it is necessary to take the exit Pech Mary, at the 1st traffic circle direction Pech Mary, at the 2nd traffic circle direction Berriac.
The hotel which is close to the medieval castle is situated in a classified zone "Historic monuments", what means limitation of the advertising spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was easy to find then we used the SAT NAV easy to book in no fuss parking is secure 10 min walk from Carcassonne . we only had room stayed that day and overnight flight next day. double room on the side of the rom must have been an off room ! Window did not close well so quite noisy as on main road. Found bed really hard others may not find that a problem, if I had to say anything on the - the toilet could do with some air freshener may be it was a well used room so the facilities were a bit smelly. Staff were helpful you get what you pay for

Room Tip: not on the road side unless the window works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazz4662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
The smell is a smell of humidity. It was exceptionally caused by an infiltration of the strong rainwater by the roof, in succession repaired by the technician of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dompierre-les-Ormes, Bourgogne, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arrival was straightforward as hotel is not far from motorway and, although situated in an unprepossessing industrial centre, quick to find. initial impressions were good: safe parking, quiet, and clean together with a welcoming and efficient check-in. The room (for two and dog) was small but had TV (lots of channels), phone and free Wifi which worked without fuss.
The cite is about a five (max) minute drive and the hotel staff provided map, guidance as to car parks, etc. This is a good budget hotel to use as quick stay or a base to explore the area.
The only blot on (my) escutcheon was the relatively (9.50 euros) breakfast with (very) good coffee but nothing much that appealed to me: bread, pastries in abundance but....
In short, a good hotel made better by an unfailingly happy and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHCP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
#13 of 39 in Carcassonne
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Address: 11 rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant completely air-conditioned ideally situated in a quiet environment at feet of the medieval city, in 5 mns of the city center, the highway exit Carcassonne Est, of the station SNCF(FRENCH NATIONAL RAILWAY COMPANY), of the airport and the main centers of interests of Carcassonne. Welcome 24 hours a day, 7 days a week individual, family clienteles or group. 60 bedrooms simple or double with beds children, beds babies, communicating rooms, rooms with handicaped accesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing