We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alsatian food in Aude?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Als'Assiette

L'Als'Assiette
Ranked #85 of 329 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Petit restaurant proposant des specialites alsaciennes. Ferme le mardi et le mercredi.
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Alsatian food in Aude?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We loved the food in Carcassonne, so not quite sure why we ate at an Alsatian restaurant there. The local cuisine is excellent, cassoulet is the signature dish, and aligot is a great dish if you can find it.

Having tried this place, I could comment that Alsatian food, as sampled here, is interesting. The pork knuckle was ok, and the pasta wrapped in beef looked interesting, although Mrs. P wasn't overexcited. Nice homely feel to the place, and lovely service. Bit pricy.

But if I had my time here again I would have hunted out some Occitan cuisine instead. Fits the location, easy to find, and better food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    69
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very filling food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

A delightful family run restaurant, specialising in Alsace food. The husband and daughter were very friendly but the wife was only friendly towards people she knew. It was a very'meaty menu' but nevertheless an interesting choice. I had the Munster cheese and jacket potatoes with a small green salad. Felt as though I didn't need to eat for a week afterwards! my husband had the duck breast with plums which he said was delicious. As you would expect in a very traditional French restaurant you had long gaps between courses. Interesting Alsation wine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank City-Break-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“'Hearty' doesn't cover it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This tiny place in town, run by husband(chef and server)and wife(front of house/server) team serves up large portions of good Alsace food in a cafe-type atmosphere.

A salad with potatoes and a mound of strips of fried gammon is typical of the basic but generous fare.
Snails in garlic and parsley butter were perfectly cooked and a good option if you are watching your waistline.
The cassoulet was well-cooked and flavoured.The steak au poivre , cooked as ordered , was OK with good spiced potato wedges.An Alsace red at 22 euros was fine.House wine in pichets also available.
Overall a friendly cosy place serving generous hearty fare at a reasonable cost (72 euros).
Just don't eat lunch beforehand!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sauerkraut pizza--French/German combo was amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

White pizza with sauerkraut onion and sausage circles was terrific, and the leftovers made an outstanding breakfast. The owner's english cleared up any potential misunderstanings. Cute red checkered dive interior, so yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjudyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great traditional french bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Friendly and welcoming. The quality of the food was great. Traditional home cooking. I had the Munster cheese which was Yummy!!! The portion sizes are huge and very reasonably priced. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Als'Assiette also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to L'Als'Assiette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing