We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel - don't go there!!”
Review of Au Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Au Royal Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find another hotel - don't go there!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel was easy to find after the friendly airport shuttle bus driver directed us where to find the hotel. The receptionist at the hotel appeared to be pleased when we said we'd booked in for 2 nights. The room was a good size for two and was clean. However, we were disappointed with the quality of the air conditioning - it was a ceiling fan and not adequate for 30 + heat. The TV had a piece of gaffa tape across the bottom and didn't work and when I tried to adjust the bedside lamps, the bulbs fell out and both lamps didn't work.

After an evening out in Carcassone, we were shattered, we couldn't leave the fan on, as it was too noisy, it was unbearable trying to sleep in the heat. At 1.30 am, on both nights we stayed, we heard groups of people talking and returning to their rooms. This was accompanied with banging of doors for half an hour - we assumed they we working in the town.

We had booked to stay our final night in the hotel at the end of the work, but, due to our lack of sleep we decided to stay at another hotel. When we informed the receptionist of our change, she appeared annoyed and claimed she couldn't unbook us, because we'd booked via booking.com. She gave us a telephone number and told us if we didn't cancel the reservation, then we'd have to pay. We rang the number and it didn't ring out. Our next step was to trek to the other side of the town, hunting for an internet cafe to cancel the booking.

We did find another hotel, that was friendlier and a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    41
    41
    19
    21
See reviews for
13
87
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

When we arrived at this hotel I asked to see a room before checking in . The lady at the desk informed me I could not see a room until I had paid for one nights accomodation. She showed me some very faded photos. This was not acceptable so we went somewhere else. I wonder why she didnt want us to view the room. Interesting!!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JessieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

First impressions were not great, mainly due to the July heat and the lack of air conditioning. We couldn't wait to open up the shutters and windows when we first arrived. If you want aircon then you pay more, elsewhere. This was a clean and conveniently placed b&b, the two ladies running it were friendly and helpful, and the one on the desk spoke reasonable English so no problems there. The breakfasts were very good, plenty of fresh bread, croissants, cereals, cooked meats and cheese,the usual sort of thing. Excellent coffee machine too which ground the beans freshly each time. The room was cleaned properly each day, with fresh sheets and towels provided. Yes the place could be brightened up a bit and the lack of aircon is a turn-off but La Cite was only 20 minutes away, we were also well placed in the lower town, overall we were pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Room was clean{ WITH No BEDBUGS} , not very big and most importantly in July, not air- conditioned - just a ceiling fan - this would not be a problem in cooler months. Reception staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful with good English. The hotel is well positioned for both the "new" town and the old city[ about 15 minutes on foot] . Plenty of good restaurants nearby - would recommend ' Gils' and' Le Magnac' A canal trip on the Canal du Midi is worth doing particularly on a hot day after a lot of walking around the old city. We travelled via Toulouse - no problems with either the shuttle bus service or the trains which are both very good value for money but the Easyjet staff at Toulouse Airport departure gates were the worst organised bunch we have ever had to suffer - would avoid this route in future and fly direct to Carcassonne. Shame because we are big fans of Easyjet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfingersfishes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

this hotel is conveniently located between the railway station and castle of Carcassonne. We got a renovated room and it was clean, but the rug stunk so bad, we could not stay in there too long. To get some fresh air we had to open the windows at night and all of the noise was coming in from the outside. Other empty rooms were renovated as well. WiFi did not work either.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drungarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

A real "bijou" hotel. Small and friendly. Great location - walking distance from station old Cite and lower town. On main boulevard, but great double glazing so noise was not a problem. The room we had was small, but really lovely - nice furniture, all matching, and spotlessly clean. I was a bit thrown by the layout - the shower room is "open plan" as soon as you walk into the room, with only a curtain; but there is a door separating it from the bedroom, and you can use the area as a dressing area since the wardrobe is there. The lady at reception (the owner?) could not have been more helpful - she actually saved us a small fortune by printing out our boarding passes for our flight the next day!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We wanted an inexpensive room for a 5 day trip, somewhere to sleep and rest occasionally as we expected to spend most of our time out sightseeing. We were warmly welcomed, our room was spotless and linen was changed regularly and always felt fresh & comfortable. The joint proprietors and small staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent for all the main attractions with the railway station just a short walk away. Access to and from the Airport by Shuttle and/or taxi was easy. It was friendly and good value for money. Vic & Helen.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Audotel
Audotel
#13 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#33 of 39 in Carcassonne
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montsegur
Hotel Montsegur
#23 of 39 in Carcassonne
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Royal Hotel

Property: Au Royal Hotel
Address: 22 Boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Royal Hotel is located in the centre of Carcassonne, 600 m from the train station and a 20-minute walk from the medieval city. This family-run hotel offers good value accommodation. Guestrooms at Au Royal Hotel are comfortable and equipped with a TV and en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. A home-made buffet breakfast is served daily and the staff at Au Royal Hotel are happy to advise guests on local restaurants and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Royal Carcassonne
Hotel Au Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing