We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, breakfast horrible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Au Royal Hotel
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Tremelo, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, breakfast horrible!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice hotel, located very near the centre of the lower town (Bastide) and only 10 mins walk from the old town. The hotel is not very modern, there's no elevator. The room was large and neat, and so was the bathroom with shower and toilet. Our beds were made every day.

The staff was very friendly, but did not speak English.

We didn't know that the breakfast was not included in the price and had to pay about €8,00 per person for every day we wanted to have breakfast. For that price, we expected a large breakfast, but only received pre-baked croissant, a small baguette and a small coffeecake. There was NO cheese/ham, only jelly and butter. Every day the same small breakfast! It's better to have breakfast elsewhere in town, where you pay the same price but hopefully will get fresh breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteSteenhaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    37
    40
    19
    20
See reviews for
11
85
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

was surprised to find the room and especially the bathroom and shower so dirty with the front of the hotel having been newly painted.... proves you can never judge a hotel by the cover! It's the first time I have left a hotel with the fear of legionaires disease! really, using this bathroom was an awful experience.

Room Tip: hotel fronts onto noisy street, no aircon so with windows open in summer expect a very early alarm c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel was not clean, bedroom and bathroom were very dingy. Slept overtop of the bedsheets since they were old and ratty. Bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable. No wifi or tv. Hotel location is good for walking to the castle, but farther away from the main restaurants and train station. Main reception is only open a few hours per day. I would not recommend staying here (even though it is a good price).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theresa y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a family room (one room divided into two) it was dark dingy and very unappealing - the shower rooms were in a cupbard with sliding doors extremely small and covered in mold, The sheets were clean and the rooms had a ceiling fan, it was in a central position and these are the only plus's in my opinion for this hotel. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not pick the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumtoseland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights and i admit i was hesitant to book it at first but was pleasantly surprised once i got there.
The room was spacious and clean, the staff spoke good english and was helpful with directions ect.
The hotel is in a great location for the "walled city", you can walk from the hotel to the castle in a bout 10 - 15 minutes, and the newer part of carcasone is a short walk also.
Carcasone itself is a nice place but not like your typical holiday place(give it a few years though!)it is quite expensive to eat in the restaurants but plenty cheaper alternatives, its a place i will definitely visit again at some point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped one night here in September 2009, breaking up a train journey from Barcelona to Chateauroux. It was conveniently located for a visit to the old walled city, which is what we'd come for. The hotel itself was nothing flash but the staff were friendly and helpful, the weather was fine and after a decent breakfast we spent a great day touring the old city. It was very commercialised, as we'd read, but generally tastefully done and at least the historic structures were well preserved. A walk round the ramparts and outside base of the wall was spectacular. Finished the day with a fine dinner at Brasserie le Donjon. It was only a short stop in Carcassonne but a good one.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, which seemed OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#34 of 39 in Carcassonne
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Royal Hotel

Property: Au Royal Hotel
Address: 22 Boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Royal Hotel is located in the centre of Carcassonne, 600 m from the train station and a 20-minute walk from the medieval city. This family-run hotel offers good value accommodation. Guestrooms at Au Royal Hotel are comfortable and equipped with a TV and en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. A home-made buffet breakfast is served daily and the staff at Au Royal Hotel are happy to advise guests on local restaurants and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Au Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Royal Carcassonne
Hotel Au Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing