We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Bastide
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here by accident as our flight was cancelled and we were stuck for 3 extra nights 'Quelle domage'. The owner and his wife were extremely helpful - hot water for tea was never a problem. The rooms were a great size and the bed very comfortable. Not near to La Cite but the station is round the corner as is the Canal du Midi. Breakfast wasn't great but there are good options around the corner. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

great hotel, lift to high floor rooms, rooms spacious, the couple who run the hotel are lovely and helpful, situated in great place away from noise but close enough to walk to all the different places, we stayed here for 3 nights and only had the breakfast once as didnt think it was worth the money but everything else is great with this place and a great price, can walk to all places or buses, but on a sunday be aware not very much open in this area

Room Tip: try and get a room near the top as can be very noisy in the mornings people walking past your door w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smokey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights,more by luck than judgement. The couple who run the hotel are very charming and hard working...it seems to be just them.!! The hotel is conveniently situated for the Canal du Midi and buses to the old city and restaurants. The Ville Basse is a much nicer place to stay than the Chateau,which ,although beautiful & magical,is now a little like an up market Marbella,with all the shops and bars and tourists.
The lower part around the hotel is equally rewarding to wander round,as there are also kinds of little streets & architectural gems .

Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated.Very comfortable bed and pillows,so a good night's sleep was had. Breakfast was simple...yoghurts,cereal,bread (fresh) jam & butter..also croissants,but they may have come from a packet as opposed to the bakery.Good coffee.Good service.

The owners are extremely helpful. I would happily go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank SteffiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I suppose the title should tell you the most important part of this hotel. Most travellers come to Carcassonne to visit the majestic La Cite. However, this hotel is at least a 15 minute walk from the main entrance of La Cite. This is fine if you intend to visit the place just once, however, if you do it twice - like I did to watch the place under lights - then you must be ready for some serious leg exercise. There is no public transport from the hotel to La Cite too. The lane where the hotel is located also gets pretty dark and lonely at night. Choose wisely before booking this hotel since it is just another typical place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank priyanko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed two nightts at this friendly inn and found it quite agreeable. You get a safe, comfortable room, nice breakfast, good parking options, and most impirtantly for me, the ability to have my dog with me in my room. The owners have delightful senses of humor and are very knowledgeable avout the area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Miss_Molly_by_Golly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a really friendly hotel we were greeted very warmly on the front desk and nothing was too much trouble. It is so well located and everything is within easy waking distance. It takes 25 minutes to walk to the medieval city and there is an amazing choice of restaurants right on the doorstep. We had to park the car at a car park just up the road which was free, so no problems there at all. Yes the rooms area bit tired but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Family run with great personal touches! 5 minute walk from the station and all main bus stops, including the airport shuttle stop and the medieval cite bus stop. There is no restaurant but great recommendations from the owners of places to eat. The rooms are clean, big with exceptionally comfortable beds. It is in the Bastide St Louis, very close to all the main shops, markets and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank julidebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
1.9 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
423 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
817 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rou...
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bastide

Address: 81 rue de la Liberte, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: $60 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Bastide 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a family hotel located in the Bastide Saint Louis. Its location is ideal for visitors seeking to visit the city by foot. It's located 200 meters from the Canal du Midi and the train station, tourist train to the medieval city .. Moreover, our establishment is the only city to have an elevator and Wi-Fi connection free in all rooms . Easy parking with free public parking nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing