We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only used the restaurant and not impressed”
Review of La Rapiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rapiere
Ranked #20 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Some things were good - my wife had an excellent carbonara and if you like dogs the restaurant has a friendly retriever and a sha pei. I had a local dish and didn't like it, but have nothing to compare it to. Do not go here for a romantic meal as it will disappoint - it has seen better days, paper table cloths and the air of a public bar. The young waitress made us feel uncomfortable and lurked miserably behind the bar. Even with a language barrier, a smile costs nothing. One to give a miss,I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night and didn't eat in. Our welcome was a little odd, but very warm. We we asked to pay in advance because different people would be there the following day. The was a bit of misunderstanding because our French wasn't up to the job. We had paid a bit extra to have a room with a view of the old city. The room was clean if basic and indeed did have a wonderful view of the old city walls. Particularly spectacular when we woke up and saw the walls bathed in sunshine in the morning. The room was quiet and comfortable. The shower room only had thin curtains and, with the back light from the shower, no doubt providing entertainment for anyone enjoying a late drink at the bar. Breakfast was basic and adequate. The whole place feels as though it should be in Tahiti. Garden unkempt with some odd sculptures. Generally quite funky but good value considering the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city not the laundry (room 2 was good).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This place had mixed reviews, which we ignored... It was fine, good value for money, breakfast for 4 plus a large family room for 100 euros!! Right outside the old city walls. Great views of walls lit up at night, easy walking distance into old city for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The room is very basic, but clean, toilet separate from shower room and no curtain in the shower room just very thin net. . as regards the evening meal extremely disappointed no value for money, first course good, main course terrible roadrunner duck leg (very thin) filled out with beans, sweet no choice at all, a small portion of apple tart, including ourselves at 8.00pm three people in restaurant all three quests, no locals at all. Breakfast not worth having. only apple stayed longer than we did a complete disaster. Talking to other people on our flight much better value to be had never meet the manager to our knowledge. Carcassonne easy to walk from old city to new so trying to sell on location, you have a view of the city wall across a car park so at night the car lights come into the room The best thing we only stay 3 days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had the misfortune of staying here for two nights in May. The reviews are true, the exterior is very shabby and run down. I tried to over look this as I chose this place based on it's location - my only reason for giving it a star!

This is budget accommodation but they don't charge budget prices. There are many, far better hotels in Carcassonne in the same price range.

The entrance to our room was at the rear of the building and led straight out onto the car-park (turn right at the scrap car and the cement mixer). The room was clean but VERY basic and had no tea and coffee making facilities or English TV Channels.

We spent the rest of the day in La Cite and headed back to La Rapiere at about 10.15pm. We were disappointed to find that the place was closed and in total darkness. It was my birthday and we were hoping for a drink or two before bed.

On returning to our room we found it to be quite cold and we couldn't get the heating unit to work. The lock on the outside door was broken so we were unable to lock it - this was especially worrying as the door to our room led straight onto the car park so we stacked our cases at the back of the door (it wouldn't stop anyone getting in but at least we'd have heard them!).
THEN just as I was about to climb into bed, I pulled back the sheets and saw that THE BED WAS FILLED WITH HUNDREDS OF ANTS!!! They were inside the pillows and between every layer of the sheets! My husband quickly dressed and ran down to the reception area but it was deserted, he tried to call the hotel's number several times but no-one responded. It was now well after midnight and we really didn't know what to do. We decided that we didn't have any other choice but to stay in the room. So we spent a very uncomfortable night, laid across the bottom of the bed, fully clothed with our jeans tucked in our socks (very fashionable!) and with our coats wrapped around us for blankets!!

After only a few hours sleep we headed down to breakfast. The owner barely speaks any English but with my poor French I managed to tell her about the ants and after a brusque 'sorry' agreed to give us another room for our remaining night.

The breakfast was yet another let down. It was very basic (no croissants for us!) and everything was pre-packed and processed, the only thing that was fresh was the bread. This is primarily a restaurant so I wouldn't have thought that the supply of fresh food would have been too great a deal.

Our second room was across from the ant infested one. It was larger and although still very basic was of a slightly higher standard. BUT next to the pathway leading to it, is a huge drop of approximately 10-12ft!!! so please be careful if you are staying in this area of the building and you have children with you.

Apart from breakfast we didn't eat it at hotel and chose to have our meals in La Cite - which were all delicious and remarkably reasonable!

After another day exploring La Cite we returned to the hotel at about 10pm and again everything was in total darkness. To reach our new room, we had to walk past the first one and I was horrified to hear the cries of a baby coming from the room! Even I know that ants can't be eradicated within 12 hours!

Upon our return to the UK, I telephoned booking.com with whom I had made the booking. They were completely professional and handled my complaint impeccably. They telephoned La Rapiere and they refused to offer any sort of compensation! Booking.com however disagreed and compensated us fully for our first nights stay.

La Cite is beautiful and I would like to return one day but I would never stay at La Rapiere again!

Room Tip: If you want a good room - go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mistyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were willing to accept the shabbiness previously described as this is a great location second only to staying in the old city itself. But on arrival we were led round the back, past a concrete mixer and a pile of rusty old chairs down some stairs to the laundry, opposite which was our room, We couldn't quite believe what we were being offered. I asked if there was another room but was told they were full. We couldn't understand why, when we had booked 3 months in advance through a booking website, that we had ended up with this but then they already had our money........... So every time we went in or out of our room we were greeted by bare concrete walls, towels hanging on the washing lines and buzzing flies attracted by the old empty wine bottles which had been hung up, presumably as some kind of decoration. It was more like a backpackers' hostel in some developing country and yet the price was comparable with proper hotels in the area. The room itself was clean, modern and comfortable but what was outside the door really put a dampener on our visit and that is what is behind our 'value' grade. It's a shame as this place has great potential and it wouldn't cost that much to transform it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crabby061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

La Rapiere makes a bad first impression. From the outside it looks like it has seen its better days...many years ago. Pulling into the dirt driveway you may be tempted to turn around and find another hotel.

But that would be a mistake.

This B&B is a real find for those who are willing to look past the rough exterior. First of all, there's the location. You could not ask for better. You get a clear, unobstructed view of the Cite, so close that you almost feel like you are ready to lay siege to the fortress. From the door of your room to the drawbridge is about a five-minute walk.

In contrast to the outside of the building, inside the rooms are clean, modern, and extremely comfortable. The shower in our room was the most spacious we had in Europe. The AC worked very well, and we had no problems connecting to wi-fi. Breakfast is included in the price, and was not terribly thrilling...fresh croissants were the highlight. The only real complaint we had was that the outdoor stairs leading down to our room were a bit slippery and treacherous.

The warm and friendly staff speak no English, but unlike most places in France, they cheerfully worked through our communication barrier. Very, very nice people who run a great hotel. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay in Carcassone, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sangsterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Vieille B&B
Maison Vieille B&B
#24 of 53 in Carcassonne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#7 of 53 in Carcassonne
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Florentines
Les Florentines
#19 of 53 in Carcassonne
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carcas'Hotes
Carcas'Hotes
#8 of 53 in Carcassonne
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rapiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rapiere

Address: 9 Montee Gaston Combeleran, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $62 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Rapiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing