We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carcassonne with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely riverside hotel with underground car parking facilities. Rooms are small but well furnished and have a good en-suite.

It is worth paying the additional payment for a room with a view of the old town which is about 15 minutes walk accross the old bridge.

There is a couple of restaurants nearby where you can take breakfast and other meals if you do not wish to eat in the hotel.

The staff are very helpful and the hotels riverside restaurant provides meals of a high standard.

Try a short trip on the canal from the canal basin in the new town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broomhillbillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Trois Couronnes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 671 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel staff friendly,considerate and helpful,breakfast very good,wi-fi in room a bonus.Hotel well situated, if a little noisy,rooms clean & comfortable,if a little small.Dining room has great views of medieval city.

Room Tip: ask for a panoramic room to enjoy views of medieval city
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhillranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room was at the back of the hotel which was fine as it was very quiet. The walls between rooms are pretty solid so we didn't hear any noise from other guests. Although not exceptional, the large room was clean and comfortably furnished and had everthing we needed. The staff were helpful and friendly.
We didn't eat in the hotel - there are plenty of good places nearby in the New Town where breakfast can be had for a lot less than 11€.
The location is ideal for both the medieval Cite, a 10-15 minute walk, and the New Town shops and restaurants, a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a weekend in this hotel with friends. The location is absolutely perfect, right at the end of the old bridge which leads up towards the medieval city. It is about a ten minute walk to the city gate, uphill on the way there and downhill on the way back, perfect for walking off the gorgeous food which can't be avoided in carcasonne.
The hotel itself was ok. We had room 221 which is at the back, so no view but absolutely wonderfully quiet - a combination of this and the very comfortable bed led to some great sleep.
There is no character or atmosphere in the hotel so if you want that then go somewhere else. Also none of the staff stood out as being particularly amazing but difficult to decide exactly what was wrong.
On the first morning, a Saturday, we decided to have breakfast in the hotel (11 euros each so a level of expectation of a good breakfast) In soak up the amazing view of the city. What we found was chaos - it was all buffet style with the food being situated close to two tables the occupants on which were being crowded by the number of guests, tables were not cleared, coffee had run out in the second room which was being used for the overflow of people, one member of staff was rushed off her feet, queue for the coffee machine in the first room with lots of people not sure how to use it. We decided not to stay and went for a beautiful breakfast in the city, much nicer

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JanieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Already highly rated by other Trip Advisor reviewers, this hotel did not disappoint. The hotel’s central location beside the Pont Vieux bridge on the River Aude is only 10 minutes walk from the old medieval Cite and also 10 minutes in the other direction to Carcassonne town centre and the railway station and Canal du Midi. The hotel room was a good size with comfortable beds and a balcony with splendid views across the river to the old Cite. Buffet breakfast was ample and varied and will meet most tastes. Our room had a separate WC and shower and was air conditioned.
A visit to the old Cite is a must and involves a bit of an uphill climb but once there it is awesome with lots of cute specialty shops, cafes and restaurants. This a pleasant place to be day and night.
Carcassonne centre has a variety of shops and lovely squares to drink and dine in. Markets are there on Saturdays.
Nice walks may be had along the River Aude and the canal.
A visit to nearby Narbonne by train is also worthwhile. The trains are modern and efficient.
Use the Navette bus to get to and from the airport and Carcassonne for €5 single.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I work in tourism and this hotel and in my opnion this hotel is worth of 2 or 3 stars.
For the view it gets its 4 stars ( if you are lucky to get the panonramic view because we booked such a room and by arrival we had to stay in a room with view on a wall in decay)!!
Very very noisy, you can hear everything what is happening above you.
We informed the reception manager about this so they know.
The best to do, when you have complaints otherwise they don't know either!!

We do recommend to book a room with panoramic view if this hotel is your preference nr 1 despite all comments.

Room Tip: room with panoramic view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the hotel last week. Reception modern but not very helpful staff. On entering the room it looked good then realised no draws or storage apart from a wardrobe with a pull out clothes rail rather than a bar rail. (Hate those). Underwear was out in the bar rack!!! Lighting was terrible. 2 beds lights and a lamp on the desk/table. There was a Mini bar but no tea or coffee facilities. Complimentary bottle of water. Bathroom small, inadequate lighting and separate toilet across the hall. Room was clean and bedding very good. Hard beds. Couldn't get the heating to come on. Breakfast was continental only. No bar. Deliveries at the front of the hotel could be noisy if they left the engine running.

On the good side the view was fantastic over looking the river and the castle which when lit up at night is spectacular. There is a swimming pool but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Must be a room at the front of the hotel for the view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Trois Couronnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Address: 2 rue des 3 Couronnes, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: $109 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Trois Couronnes 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hôtel DES TROIS COURONNES*** is ideally located in front of The old City of Carcassonne, at 10 minutes walking from the remparts, and 5 minutes from the town centre.- 69 rooms and 1 suite, 45 with a balcony and a panoramic view of the old city.- Panoramic restaurant on the 4th floor opened all year long- Panoramic Terrasse restaurant on the banks of the river (from april to october)- Private garage and bus park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Trois Couronnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Couronnes Carcassonne
Des Trois Couronnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing