We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Espace Cite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Espace Cite
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Friends and I stayed for two nights in Jan 2009. We were very pleased, excellent value for money. Friendly, polite,helpful staff. Free parking. Rooms were small but very clean, comfortable and warm (very important at the beginning of Jan) plenty of storage for a short stay, small but efficient bathroom.

We had 'cite view' rooms with stunning views to the old cite.

Excellent location, very quiet and only two mins walk to the old cite and a ten minute stroll over the pedestrian bridge to the 'new' town.

There was a good selection at the buffet brreakfast which was very well presented. The breakfast room had great views over the old cite.

We would definately stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Liked — Location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubba226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    206
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
60
212
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for four nights and found it excellent for a budget hotel. Staff were very friendly, it was spotlessly clean, the shower worked a treat and the buffet breakfast was more than adequete.

Airport bus drops almost at the door and the magical Cite is just 5 minutes walk uphill. Walked everywhere, including along the Midi and the Aude.

Great city and great hotel (for the budget consious)!

  • Liked — Location, value for money, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KatArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

It's unusual to find pretty much unanimous agreement about a hotel on these pages, but there is on this one. I agree with everyone else. The rooms are small but very comfortable and the bathroom IS the shower, but it works well. The price is really good value. Be sure to ask for a view room facing the Cite unless $$ are really at a premium. It's well worth the small extra cost. The view is at night is unbelievable. ..but hard to photograph on a cheap camera!

Breakfast cost extra and we gave it a pass.

  • Liked — Location and view, friendly staff spoke English and made restaurant recommendations
  • Disliked — Really nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I recently stay at the Inter-Hotel Espace Cite with 2 other friends just for a weekend.

We arrived a few hours earlier than the check-in time but the man on the reception, who was very helpful and friendly, said that our room was ready and let us check in straight away.

Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street and had 3 single beds all pushed together in it. The was also a very small wardrobe area, some shelves, and a desk area, chair and a small TV. The decor is a bit dated and the room very basic, but clean, and considering the price and the other reviews that we had read we weren't expecting anything too fancy anyway.

There was an alright amount of space for the 3 of us to move about in without it feeling too squashy. I've had a lot less space in a 4* hotel in New York!

The bathroom was an alright size also and in the style of a wetroom with no separate cubicle for the shower. We had prepared ourselves for this from the reviews and it really wasn't as bad as we'd imagined. The shower was nice, hot and had good power to it so we were happy there.

When it was eventually time to sleep the beds were very comfortable. For the price we had not expected this going on similar priced hotels we had stayed in in the past. We also slept with the window slightly open and even with a room overlooking the street it was quiet and there were no loud noises to disturb us. And I must add that I'm not a heavy sleeper. Maybe we were lucky but all in all we had a very very good sleep!

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but instead walked up to the medieval city as it was so close.

Check out was very quick and painless with the man on reception being very helpful and friendly. We were able to leave our bags for them to look after in a room as we still had a whole day before getting our flight home. On return to the hotel the man on reception ordered us a taxi to bring us to the airport. We didn't have to wait very long for the taxi to arrive and it cost approx €20 from the hotel to the airport.

The only complaint I have about this hotel is there was no long mirror and the lighting was not very good in the room. Not very good for 3 females all trying to get ready!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No long mirror and bad lighting in room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank rhoders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 day break to Carcassonne and we stayed at the Espace.

To start from the beginning - we landed at the very tiny airport in Carcassonne (flying from East Midlands, just 1 hr 30 mins away) and meeting each and every flight is a local service bus called the Navette.

The excellent driver stops at any hotel that you ask for - and it is 5 euros per person. The ticket issued is valid for use on public buses during the stay in the city. The coach also stops at the station and in the 'new city'.

We were duly dropped off at the Espace and first impressions were excellent: a lovely reception area, clean & cheerful and friendly & helpful staff.
Rooms are available from 2pm and it was only 11am so we left the small amount of luggage (hand luggage only) with the desk and went off to explore.

The location of Hotel Espace is simply superb. Just minutes away from the entrance to the magnificent walled mediaeval city.
It is simply BREATHTAKING, like something from a fairy tale!

We walked around and had a good look - it's incredibly impressive - and later returned to the Espace around 2.45pm.

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little anxious about this 'tiny bathroom' - but whilst it *is* small, it functions perfectly well.
As a lady of shall we say, 'traditional build' - I had no problems at all in there. The glass screen swings back against the wall when the shower is not in use.
The shower itself has plentiful hot water & a strong jet. Yes, it drains into a hole in the floor but there is a bath mat - and a non-slip flooring - and it soon clears away.

There are dispensers of shower gel/soap in the bathroom along with an excellent hairdryer and adequate white fluffy towels.

There's plenty of space for toiletries and a good sized mirror.

Nothing wrong with the shower room at all!

The bedroom itself is small but spotlessly clean with lovely bed linen and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The wardrobe is microscopic! Room for 6 hangers absolute maximum but shelving and a desk & chair.

Our room was 113 on the ground floor - and we could just see the towers of the old city. The only slight problem was that everyone passing from the car park could see in - so perhaps net curtains should be considered?
It wasn't a problem really as we weren't in the room much.

The TV is very tiny too (it's like a dolls' bedroom!) and there are no facilities for making coffee (there would hardly be room!)

We liked it very much - and it got very warm at night so we opened the window.
We were surprised how quiet it was at night, we were never disturbed at all.

In reception are coffee/drink facilities - it costs 1 euro for a drink and there is also a small bar and a vending machine for soft drinks and snacks.

There is one computer with guest access in reception, 1 euro for 15 minutes.

Breakfast is taken on the first floor and costs 7.50 euros per person per day but it's a fairly good selection so we enjoyed that. The breakfast room terrace overlooks the old city which is a plus.

Everything is walking distance from this excellent little hotel (which is similar to an Ibis I would say) Pont Neuf is about a 8 minute walk as is the mediaeval city. The 'new city' (which is also very old and has buttress walls) is about a 15 minute walk and it's worth walking down Rue Trivalle across from the hotel and going via the Old Bridge (which is pedestrianised)

The new town is worth a visit and there are boat trips along the Canal du Midi and lots of nice shops (shoes & handbags to die for!)

The mediaeval city is breathtaking - and there are lots of shops selling soaps and pottery and lavender. Some may find it crass but I enjoyed looking round them!

The Cathedral of St Nazaire is also worth a visit and a walk around the ramparts is a must.

We ate in the mediaeval city outside (in late October!) and enjoyed the steaks, salmon etc that we had. They do seem to eat a lot of duck and pork there - not a massive choice for vegetarians.

The bus back to the airport (a bus for every flight) goes from the top of the street from the Espace, just outside the city gates. It's clearly signed and there's a bus shelter with 'Cite' on.

All in all we think Carcassonne is a magical place to visit for a short break. We think that Hotel Espace is perfectly adequate and its cleanliness and location are its biggest assets.

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation and we would urge anyone thinking about visiting Carcassonne to DO IT as it's a destination that makes it easy for tourists and caters for them well.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness & general ambience
  • Disliked — No coffee facilities in the bedrooms. The rooms are small but this really isn't a problem!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We booked the hotel by calling them directly for 3 people for a night. After reading the reviews here about the hotel, I did prepare myself not to expect too much. After all - the hotel is very affordable price wise but at the same time in a great location. Yes, the room was small but the beds were comfartable. The only mirror was in the bathroom and not a full lenght and the lighning was really bad - you could hardly see yourself in the room. But then again - you are only in the room for a sleep before you head to the Cite. The castle is 2min walk from the hotel and the new town 5 to 10 min walk. The room was clean and although the shower a bit weird, it was powerful and nice. Will definitely recommend this hotel for a nice and cheap stay in Carcassonne. The hotel is also about 10-15min drive from the airport and 20 euros in a taxi that we called from the hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bad lights in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank StefLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Foothills
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This a simple, basic, clean, well located hotel. Interesting "wet room" for the bath where the shower is all included in the bathroom. It worked for us. It took us 10 minutes to walk up the hill to the La Cite town which is the reason for your being there. Many good, reasonable restuarants to select from. The breakfast really good with cold cuts, juice, coffee, cheese, etc. This is a good clean place to stay. We would return to this.

  • Liked — Location, good breakfast and clean functional rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Going4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#17 of 39 in Carcassonne
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espace Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espace Cite

Property: Hotel Espace Cite
Address: 132 Rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Espace Cite 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Espace Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espace Cite Hotel Carcassonne
Inter Hotel Espace Cite
Inter Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing