We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty bad cookies and overpriced!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cure Gourmande

La Cure Gourmande
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Description: Amazing fresh candy shops offering the best of France.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty bad cookies and overpriced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stopped in the store while visiting the medevil city and they gave us a sample of a cookie. It was ok and we decided to buy a few. We bought 4 large cookies and 3 medium and we were surprised that the bill was almost 12 Euros. They were no better than pillsbury sugar cookies that come in a roll for u to bake. Don't waste your money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank traveladdict35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sinful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We were very well welcomed in this place and unfortunately for us made to sample some of their biscuits. ...we left with 3 large bags of tins, biscuits and homemade caramel! The service was excellent and the ladies serving very professional.

Helpful?
1 Thank sophie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A kid in a lolly shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

In Madrid, stumbled across this shop. Love it. Friendly staff, tastings in hand and such a choice! A must see!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxford4065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“all marketing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

i went to the one in mallorca. the shop looked nice and the display of cookies really attractive, and the staff were very friendly. but the shop is almost always empty. well, now i know why. i bought an assortment of cookies, the chocolate chip, 2 types of almond, the cinnamon, plain with a chocolate filling, etc.

i am very disappointed in the quality of the cookies.Tough, tasteless, suspicion that its pork fat and not butter. I suppose if you store cookies in a large stack in the open (under a plastic cover) it has to be pretty tough.

conclusion, its a lot of charming retro marketing and candy for the eye, a tourist trap and thats it.what a waste of money and calories!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“unexpected find in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

it was an unexpected find for us! we were strolling around the Opera Metro station and saw this really cute shop and went in stragithaway and found a gourmet heaven!

We were overwhelmed with the stacked-up cookies, chocolates and candies! It's really a treat for both our tongues and eyes. The packagings were just adorable!

the sales personnels were a little cool initially until my chatty friend started her conversation with them. I guessed that having an oriental / Asian / Chinese face is definitely an disadvantage - the Parisian thought we couldn't speak English/French so they shy away from us. After we've initiated conversation, usually all barriers will be removed and they start to warm up to us. They were very proud of their products and told us that everything's good!

We had a hard time deciding what to buy - as our luggages were quite full but we couldn't resist all the cute packaging they have! In the end, we've got some olive chocolates ( I thought there were real olives in it as they ereally looked like olives but it's nuts coated with chocolate), orange chocolates, nougat, cookies etc. I really enjoyed my olives chocolate and the orange chocolate. If anyone's going to Paris, I'll definitely beg them to buy me some!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank satoyuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cure Gourmande also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to La Cure Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing