We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French food at its best”
Review of La Table Ronde

La Table Ronde
Ranked #37 of 332 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hythe Kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“French food at its best”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Two fabulous meals here accompanied by excellent wine.
Service was very good but it was the food which made this restaurant exceptional
I have enjoyed salads all over the world (except the UK) but here they were perfect.
Fresh figs and almonds were in good supply, the salad leaves as if they had just been picked and the garnish superb.
The second evening I had a salad once again but with a Fillet steak, which I believe could not be bettered.
A wonderful experience and surely the finest restaurant in Carcassonne

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    138
    30
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding of its sort”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Carcassonne in mid September was cold and crowded, and we had difficulty finding an indoors table for lunch. So we had very little in the way of expectations from the Table Ronde. We were wrong: excellent fish soup with all the trimmings, good Toulouse sausage with outstanding sliced fried potatoes and rich chocolate mousse, all for €12. Excellent service too. Probably the most memorable meal in terms of high quality at an exceptional price in a two week trip around France.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleby in westmorland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Table Rhond”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good food good service and different up a side street fom the main square a lucky find but glad we did

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find in a City of Restaurants”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Carcassonne is just full of restaurants so picking one to eat at is more or less a case of pot luck. My wife and I looked at a number of restaurants, examined their (very similar) menus and moved on until we stumbled on La Table Ronde. My wife liked the look of it as it had a shaded courtyard where we would be able to eat outdoors, so that was the one!

And what a choice. Instead of opting for one of the set menus at a range of different prices we both chose meals off the a la carte menu and felt that we had made the right choice. I had chicken escalope which came with potatoes and an excellent salad accompanied by a small bunch of grapes. My wife had cassoulet which contained two large pieces of duck together with some sausages. Needless to say, hers was too large and I had to help finish it.

As there are so many restaurants in Carcassonne it is likely that the standard of the meals is comparable because if any one did not come up to scratch it would simply fall by the wayside. That said, we looked at other menus after we had left La Table Ronde and it seemed that ours was perhaps a little cheaper than some of the others . We therefore feel that we can thoroughly recommend La Table Ronde and would have no hesitation in going straight back there on any future visit to Carcassonne.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Welsh_Travel_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Interesting Food Combinations”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

La Table Ronde is quite a large restaurant just off the main square in the Cite and whilst we have stopped to look at the menu in the past this was the first time we had eaten there.

The restaurant was quite busy and, in the area that we sat, it felt a little cramped between tables; nevertheless, the service was prompt, friendly and efficient.

We were both in the mood for a steak and opted for a single course, selecting the Assiette Tournedos de Roi. The waitress said that we may have a long wait for our food but it was served inside 15 minutes or so which was fine.

The food itself was really enjoyable but some of the combinations, all on the same plate remember, were “interesting”. The plate consisted of a nicely cooked steak, a separate, cold slice of foie gras, several slices of cold smoked duck, ratatouille, roasted onions, sliced fried potatoes, a salad of lettuce in a vinaigrette, nuts and gizzards and, to finish off the plate, a slice of melon.

Individually, each component on the plate was well presented and tasty but it was unusual to find melon, fillet steak, smoked duck and gizzards on the same plate; I would also have preferred to have had my steak cooked alongside the foie gras, but that’s just a personal choice I guess.

Overall, we enjoyed this restaurant; the feel of the place was pleasant, the service was good and the meal enjoyable. We will have no hesitation in eating here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnaithviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table Ronde also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to La Table Ronde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing